We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful rooms & pleasant stay, but a fruitless breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newton Hall Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newton Hall Guest House
Save
You added Newton Hall Guest House to your Saves list
Shore Road, Inveraray PA32 8UH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“beautiful rooms & pleasant stay, but a fruitless breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at Newton Hall in the Iona Suite. It's a lovely old church building and the room we stayed in had stunning views across Loch Fyne. The room itself is beautiful & the bathroom is very spacious and tastefully decorated. There is a fair amount of parking at the back of the building, out of the way from traffic & public - very handy.

The only thing I can fault Newton Hall on is the lack of choice of cereals and fruit at breakfast. Unfortunately there really wasn't any apart from some dried fruit, which I suspect were prunes. However you do get a much wider variety menu for cooked breakfast, my partner & I had the Full Scottish which was delicious.

Our stay at Newton Hall was enjoyable. I just wish that for the prices that we paid, there would have been a bit more for breakfast.

Room Tip: Iona has a beautiful view over Loch Fyne & the bathroom is spacious with a large bath & sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
126
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Newton Hall Guest house in June. Our kind and charming host Bill could not have been more helpful and welcoming to us. Our rooms were lovely, spotless, comfortable beds, beautiful views from the windows, superior bathrooms, just an ideal stay. Bill also showed us the larger rooms which had huge bathrooms and bountiful windows. The location was great, on a quiet road overlooking the loch and just a few minutes walk to town. It’s an ideal home base to stay and explore the many gardens in the area. Our breakfasts were delicious! Thank you Bill!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Newton Hall Guest House is an absolute gem. It is in a stunning location, within walking distance of a small town , with enough to do to occupy a full day.
We were made to feel so welcome from the minute we arrived by the lovely owners.The bedrooms are all exceptional, beautifully decorated & furnished & spotlessly clean. We have stayed in 5 star hotels that have not been this good ! The dining room has amazing views of the loch & breakfast is first class.
A credit to the hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a very pleasant 1 night stay at Newton Hall on 30 May. We received a warm welcome from the owner and helped us get settled into the smallish, but very clean and comfortable Tiree room, which has a lovely view across Loch Fyne. Breakfast was a delight with Bill cooking a fresh kipper for me. Inveraray is a nice small town and well worth visiting. We had a good dinner at the George Hotel, bought an Arran Port Finish Single Malt Whisk from Loch Fyne Whiskies store (a must visit whisky shop) and toured Inveraray Castle. We can highly recommend Newton Hall as a convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just returned form our Scottish holiday and we spent one very pleasant night at this lovely B&B. Very comfortable and very clean. Bill, the host, can't do enough for you. The breakfast and the breakfast room was lovely.
An old converted church, our room (Tiree) was amazing with a superb view of the loch opposite and a small but beautifully decorated en suite. This room has three windows, a double and a single, with window seats in which, after returning from wining and dining, we spent the evening in watching the loch and the hills opposite. We would highly recommend the this room as it overlooks the loch, and also the larger Iona room on the upper floor (even nicer view but no window seats) but, as far as we know, the remaining rooms all face the garden at the back.
The main road is immediately outside but the ground floor slightly above the road level so you don't see any traffic. And it's fairly quiet by about 9pm onwards so we were not disturbed at all.
We would certainly stay there again if visiting that part of Scotland.
We ate in the George hotel, in the centre of Inverary, a lovely pub and superb restaurant.

Room Tip: Only two rooms (I think) face the front and therefore overlook the loch so, if important, just be ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent two days at Newton Hall as part of an 8 day trip around Scotland recently. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Bill is the perfect host and served up an excellent breakfast. We had stunning views from the Lismore Suite which was a beautiful room. Bill suggested a few places for us to eat but the food was so good at The George, that we went there both nights. The next time we go back to that area of Scotland we will certainly be staying at the Newton Hall.

Room Tip: Stay at the front to get stunning views across the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights at the start of our 2 week tour of Scotland - very much enjoyed our stay. The owner Bill welcomed us at the front door as we arrived - he was very friendly throughout. Our room was Tiree at the front of the property - I think I would say 'small but perfectly formed'. Absolutely immaculate, very nicely decorated, fabulous views through arched windows over Loch Fyne. The bathroom was beautiful - with a very good shower - always a bonus! Lovely breakfast.
The location is extremely convenient - just a short stroll into lovely Inveraray. We ate at the George on both nights, and were certainly not disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have fabulous views, though there is a road going past, but this didn't troub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newton Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hall Guest House

Address: Shore Road, Inveraray PA32 8UH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style seven bedroom guest house which has been recently refurbished to a standard rarely found in the industry. We are overlooking Loch Fyne with fabulous views. There is a private car park at the rear of the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newton Hall Bed And Breakfast
Newton Hall Hotel Inveraray
Newton Hall Guest House Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton Hall Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.