We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudha-Na-Craige

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rudha-Na-Craige
Save
You added Rudha-Na-Craige to your Saves list
The Avenue, Inveraray PA32 8YX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 16 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our room was spectacular! Howard and Susan were wonderful hosts. Howard directed us to our dinner and cocktail destination. The highlight was Howard's cooked to order breakfast. He makes his own bread and cooked our eggs to perfection. When we were leaving Howard gave us 'insider' information for our travels. He is an invaluable asset to the establishment!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
133
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

FIrst off, it's pronounced "Roo-na-Craig", as our genial host, Howard Spicer told us. He and his wife Susan made us feel right at home, and were very helpful with directions and with choosing a restaurant. The building was quite the grandest B&B we have ever stayed in, with high ceilings and large rooms, and our view over Loch Fyne was spectacular. Top marks, although a little pricey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed in Inverary a few times, normally at the George or the Bankhouse and decided to splash out and on reading the reviews for this place thought is sounded perfect. We booked the Shira room at £95.00 per night and upon arrival were very dissapointed. The room is right at the top of the stairs, you pass the pram and bedding stored behind a screen to get to it. It looked to us like this part of the house was not for guests but as a storage area. The bedroom walls badly needed a coat of emulsion and there is a big crack down one wall. The bathroom ceiling was slanted and my 6ft boyfriend had to bend his knees to use the toilet. Very poky. On the plus side the owners were great, the house is beautiful and the free entry into the Lochfyne Spa Hotel is a bonus. This may be a four star bed and breakfast but the Shira is not a four star room. Nice place - dissapointing room.

Room Tip: Dont choose the Shira Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This B&B is not located in the centre of Inveraray, but on the road that goes along the lake.
Anyway, access to the town centre is very easy on foot (15 mins) or by car: there is plenty of parking available in the town centre.
The B&B is very nice, clean, comfortable and staff is great and very helpful.
If you sleep here, you can also have access to the spa of the nearby hotel where there is a pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam bath.
I think this is the ideal place to stay if you get to Inveraray are you have a car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just spent the one night at this lovely 4*+ B&B. From the minute we pulled into the drive we felt at home. A beautiful historic house that has been lovingly and very professionally modernised to accommodate guests. Howard greeted us despite us arriving a lot earlier than we planned, but this was not a problem for him or his wonderful staff. Shown to our room which was the Cairngorms suite overlooking Loch Fyne. A beautiful large room with direct views of the Loch and then he opened our en-suite door, another wow!. Everything you need very tastefully decorated, imaculately clean and lovely fluffy white towels. Must mention the shower, allow yourself plenty of time to enjoy fully this powerful refreshing facility, the soft water and luxurious toiletries. Howard was full of helpful local knowledge, nothing was too much trouble for him. After a wonderful nights sleep the breakfast again was top quality. Fresh kippers, continental or whatever you wanted, cooked to order. Please, if visiting Inverary, consider this wonderful B&B, you will not be disappointed and I guarantee you'll thoroughly enjoy the experience. Thank you for a great stay all be it too short.

Room Tip: The Cairngorms has beautiful views overlooking the Loch from the front and side windows. Plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose this B&B based on Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. Our room was well appointed and extremely comfortable, and couldn't have been more spotless. The views from our windows were stunning, and we enjoyed the proximity to the center of Inveraray. It was unfortunate that because of time, we couldn't take advantage of all the amenities that were available to us through the B&B, including discounted tickets to the castle, and access to a neighboring hotel health club. We spent ten days exploring Scotland, and the hosts were some of our absolute favorites of all the guest houses we visited.

Our breakfast was outstanding, and it is clear that our hosts enjoy their guests. The house is furnished in a way that it is very welcoming, and Howard and Susan made us feel very much at home.

We would love to come back!

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the loch, it is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B with all the facilities you would expect at a top class hotel! The room was beautifully decorated with a view across the loch! Lovely ensuite facilities and the breakfast was delicious! (you even get a choice of milk!) By far the most lovely part of this B&B were the hosts! Very friendly and helpful! I would definitely recommend this place! Only down side was the spa which you get access to was not the best. Very small changing facilities, but there are plenty of other things to see in Inverary anyway so not so important!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rudha-Na-Craige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudha-Na-Craige

Address: The Avenue, Inveraray PA32 8YX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lochside luxury at an inspirational location. 4 STAR GOLD. Susan & Howard welcome you to our beautiful, historical home, where the ancestors of the Duke of Argyll once lived. A tranquil setting near Inveraray's centre and the town's nine-hole golf course. King size bedrooms with fabulous en-suites and superb loch views. Dining room overlooks Loch Fyne and guests may play our baby grand piano. Seasonal wood burning stove in sitting room. Free wireless internet connection. Free access to local spa in nearby hotel. Civil Marriage license held for weddings at Rudha-Na-Craige. Alcohol License. Off Road Parking. Major Cards accepted. Small meeting facility available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rudha-Na-Craige Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudha-Na-Craige, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.