We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The George on Loch Fynne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George Hotel
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The George on Loch Fynne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

we spent one night at The George, travelling to Inveraray for business.
The hotel is quirky with rooms in the main building and several rooms at the rear overlooking Loch Fynne.
Reception was effient, with Julie explaing that due to the terrible weather there had been power cuts, and that all should be OK, but we were issued a torch just in case!
Our room was in The First House at the top of a spiral staircase which was fine for us.
The rooms are pleasant and the bed very comfortable.
It is a very old building so the floors are a bit off and the soft close loo seat didnt stay up, which if you are male, can be a bit tricky.
We had drinks in the busy bar, having a large, (35mm standard measures I was pleased to see. 25mm measure should be illegal in Scotalnd!) 10 year old Bruichladdich with a half pint of West Breweries lager and a Botanical Gin again from Islay.
The barman was very efficient and friendly, offering advice and showing me an interestuing article about drink dispensers in a trade magazine.
I only found out later that he was Chris, and the owners son and manager!
We had dinner in the conservatory which was very pleasant.
Langoustines and queen scallops for starters, then home made burger with salad, and collops of venison with chocolate & whiskey sauce for mains.
All fabulous and great value. Washed down with a bottle acceptable NZ sauvignon and a bottle of tap water. (Scottish tap water is better than most expensive bottled examples)
There was a band on in the bar later in the evening but as we had been and up and working since 06:00, we hit the hay after a couple of large cognacs and asleep by 9:30PM!
Breakfast is the usual fare and acceptable.
All the staff were efficient and friendly and all in all the George is great value, and we will definately return.

Room Tip: if you wish a view over the loch, request a room at the back of the hotel, specifying a loch view. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    200
    64
    41
    30
See reviews for
76
397
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice friendly place with roaring fires, exposed beams etc. I did not stay here just had a meal. The starters were fantastic (pate), however 2 of our mains (both gammon) were dry and tough I suspect too much time under the dreaded heat lamp due to having gotten the timings wrong.
Service was very efficient, so on the whole quite good but needs a bit more care.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Returned to the george after having a great time a couple of years ago, meals and room cleanliness have fallen dramatically from my last visit also hotel entertainment very poor. Snug still very welcoming and drink prices/choice very, breakfast also very good. Hotel will need to up their game or they will lose return customers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Get along to this fab hotel in the heart of Inverary. Fantastic food in the restaurant, great beers in the bar! The entertainment was great with atmosphere of, well just laid back, Ideally situated for anything you want to do on a wee , or long break. Staff are open, warm and welcoming.
We stayed in the annex to the hotel, best of both worlds, come and go as you please, but all the hotel amenities on tap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Rooms, food & service outstanding only small annoyance was every time we ordered the same two drinks at the bar in the evening it's came to a different price depending who was serving you??? Overall great weekend & very nice reception staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took a random tour and booked in to the George on a friends recommendation. Very glad we did, this is a cracking small hotel with warm, clean, comfortable rooms, a first rate pub and restaurant food that will blow your mind, especially the seafood. The staff were most welcoming and helpful and the evening entertainment was tremendous. Very much looking forward to going back another time, and certainly would have no hesitation in recommending to others who enjoy a craik.

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger rooms, they just ooze character
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were in Inveraray for a random short break and were just looking for some simple pub grub, not thinking there would be anything more available. Walked into the George expecting just such a pub and were pleasantly surprised to find a lovely lovely restaurant. The decor was beautiful and the food was of a very high standard. The scallops in particular were delicious. Quite expensive but we will definitely go back if we go for another trip to stunning Inveraray.

Room Tip: Sorry just went in for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.