We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shore Street, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
GreenLeadersGold level
Carluke
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Recently stayed (twice!) at Loch Fyne Hotel and had thoroughly pleasant stays. Clean warm comfortable rooms, good spa- with fab views. Staff are young, polte and helpful. Food good and lots of it. I personally enjoyed the breakfast. Certainly recommend it and will probably return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    490
    171
    107
    43
See reviews for
207
944
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Had booked dinner bed and breakfast on a 5pm deal.

Had read lots if reviews about dated rooms but I presume ours had been decorated recently as it was lovely. Small but comfortable double bed and very warm and cosy quiet room overlooking the back car park. Only a few negatives were in the bathroom, tiles were a bit grubby, grout was mouldy, didn't like the mixer taps as you can't get only cold water to brush your teeth and the water pressure for the shower was awful (couldn't get the shampoo out my hair).

Dinner was great as was the service. 6 course taster menu was lovely but I do think the supplements to upgrade the courses were too expensive (£8.50 for an alternative chicken dish) but considering the value of the deal can't complain.

Breakfast was beautifully cooked with a great choice of cooked breakfasts and a variety of fruit, juices, cereal etc.

Will certainly look out for the deal again and rush back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a lovely time at Loch Fyne Hotel and Spa! The view across the Loch to the snow covered hills was just beautiful! The room was comfortable, clean and well-equipped. We made full use of the spa facilities and even ventured (outside in the cold!) to the hot tub! The 6 course taster meal was deliciously different and with a bottle of wine included it proved great value for money. The staff were excellent especially the girl with pony tail and glasses (no name badges otherwise I would have mentioned her personally) We enjoyed (bit pricey!) after-dinner drinks in the cosy lounge area. Breakfast was partly self-serve whereby you helped yourself to juice, cereal etc and then the hot breakfast plate (selected from a varied menu) was waiter-served at your table. Inveraray is a short walk from the hotel where you'll find a selection of shops and a few (cheaper priced!) pubs. Great 5pm deal and I'll look forward to another stay sometime in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for an overnight at the Loch Fyne Hotel and Spa.
Its an impressive looking building with beautiful views but the room we stayed, in which I presume was their standard room, was like my old grans spare bedroom in the 1970's!
Large cobwebs hanging from the woodchipped ceiling!
All that was missing was a damp patch with an odd shape to complete the nostalgia for me!
It was supposed to be a double but it was really a single room with a small double bed crammed in. The furniture was charity shop chic and there was barely any room to swing the proverbial cat!
With the room too depressing to linger in we used the spa which was good fun. The outdoor hot tub was nice and the pool and areas were clean. The changing rooms are tiny and no room for any modesty in there.
We opted for the taster menu for our dinner and the food was lovely, the drinks were really expensive though.
After a kind of "blah" nights sleep in the depressing room with the flat pillows and the cheap duvet
we had breakfast which was tasty if not abundant.

In short nice food shame about the room and the general lack of any real interest in a hotel which could be really special! Wouldn't return or recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade or go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-LochFyneHotel, General Manager at Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Little Mai, Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. guest feedback is vital to help us achieve and exceed our guest expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that the relevant guidence and retraining has been given where required. Thank you for your comments about the food here at Loch Fyne, and I do hope that you will allow me the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Marc Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Visited as a group of fourteen on Friday 31/1/2014 to Saturday 1/2/2014, leaving on Sunday, found the hotel staff to be kind and considerate, eager to ensure their guests had a pleasant time.

All of our party without exception, enjoyed the food and the comfort of the hotel with no complaints.

This was my 4th visit to the hotel over fifteen years and in my opinion has improved every time.

Can I recommend the hotel Yes, will I return Yes

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Loch Fyne Hotel. From the start all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel had a lovely atmosphere and our room was very comfortable and clean. The view from the bar over the Loch was stunning. All the food was excellent, mostly we ate from the 6 course taster menu but did sample the A La Carte menu for a small supplement. The waiting staff in the restaurant were very friendly and professional.We made use of the leisure facilities on a few occasions, pool, sauna etc - very relaxing and a lovely view over the Loch. I had a couple of Spa treatments - again the staff were helpful and friendly and the treatments were first class.

All in all 10 out of 10 for this hotel. We will certainly be back and would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at the Loch Fyne hotel for a second time within the last year and were very pleased to say that the overall standards of accomodation, food and service were as good as our previous stay. We booked a mid-week two day stay with Dinner, B & B and as part of the package had three spa treatments for my wife and myself. Meals were a 6 course taster menu but we did sample for a small supplement courses from the main menu. All food was exceptionally good and service excellent. Room was standard but quite comfortable apart from the herd of marauding elephants above us ( next time we stay we will ask for a room on the top floor ). Spa treatments were done by two ladies and wife and I were massaged and pampered side by side. Full marks to the Spa staff, massage was really good (Laura, I think) found knots in my back which I did not know were there. Sauna, turkish and pool were lovely and we sat in the hot tub outside while the rain battered down, magic! The hotel was busy due to the 5pm deals which were available but I booked direct with the hotel and got a good deal on the Couples Rejuvenating package. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Address: Shore Street, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Royal Burgh of Inveraray overlooking Loch Fyne, the Loch Fyne Hotel has 80 bedrooms and leisure suite with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. There is a comfortable lounge bar and an excellent restaurant. The town of Inveraray is a short stroll away and the hotel is situated 55 miles from Glasgow, making the hotel the perfect touring base for Oban, and Glencoe. Inveraray Jail and Inveraray Castle are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Fyne Hotel And Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel Inveraray
Loch Fyne Inveraray
Fyne Hotel Loch
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.