We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but busy - excellent value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shore Street, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
GreenLeadersGold level
turnberry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but busy - excellent value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a short break via an internet deal - room,b&b and dinner - and the value of this could not be better - look out for crerar deals. Good points were excellent food in the main(see below) ,excellent service ,use of spa facilities ,good location ,comfortable rooms. However the hotel was much bigger than we had thought from the front appearance ,with rooms and conference rooms going someway back. This meant the hotel was a lot busier than anticipated with the retaurants very full etc. Also the modern additions somewhat detracted from the character of the old part of the building. The spa was 'intimate' and also open to the public. With one of our breakfasts the smoked fish was still raw in the center - it would have been replaced but by that time the meal was spoilt. Otherwise the food was excellent and the service very efficient. Inveraray is a good base for many places in that area and is a very attractive wee town. The room was average to good but there was a large gap in the sliding windows which let in cold air ,especially in windy conditions. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would go back if a similar deal came up ,but did not find it good enough that we would pay the standard price.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel has more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    487
    171
    107
    43
See reviews for
204
944
25
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a two night break at Hotel in March which was excellent. The food was superb and staff extremely friendly.Having breakfast served in the lounge with wonderful views was fantastic. The leisure facilities and hot tub were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Generally a very good hotel in a superb location, but could be made better without too much additional effort.
The good points - the food was of good quality both in the evening and at breakfast, with plenty of choice, the spa centre provided a very good massage, the location, the size of the room.
The not so good points - the room smelled of cigarettes even though it is a non-smoking establishment (in fairness, we were offered assistance with an air spray, although this situation should not have arisen in the first place), the wardrobe door was hanging off, and the waiting service in the restaurant a little random (later arrivals served in advance of ourselves at both meals). Thats not to say the staff weren't good, just a slight lack of coordination somewhere along the line.
Had the taster menu in the evening, which whilst being very good, i thought the scallop and choritzo dish was a bit lacking, being served on effectively a small spoon, and we later recalled that the venison and black pudding lacked the black pudding!
Would stay there again if in the area, all in all we had a good deal with the spa session and dinner included. Just feel that with a little more effort the hotel could be even better

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arras
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My third visit over the past 2 years and I wasn't disappointed. I asked for a quiet room as I usually do and was allocated room 321 at the very end of the back of the hotel. It was indeed quiet, warm and enough space and comfort for two people. I was really delighted to have a side loch view from the relatively small window in the room. I could sit and relax in the arm chair and just see the loch. As I like to see water I was delighted with this as I had not expected to be able to see the loch from a 'quiet room'.
As usual the food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service from the staff. The restaurant staff should be complimented for the manner in which they responded to some strange questions about their menu from a table close to where we sat!
The table d'hôtel menu which is included in the DBB rate does have what some might consider 'minimal choice', but this was not a problem for us. We ate very happily off this menu for the two nights we were there, the only extra we opted for being a cheese plate instead of dessert for my husband. There was a £4.50 supplement for this which is not unusual in our experience, and my husband considered it well worth it as he particularly likes cheese and does not appreciate dessert.
We also enjoyed the swimming pool and jacuzzi on this occasion, being able to swim and relax. The view over the loch from the pool is quite spectacular.
We will return again and would like to thank all the staff at the Loch Fyne!

Room Tip: Room 321, on second floor at the back of the hotel, quiet and a side lock view. Rooms away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

1st visit 2 loch fyne and it was lovely our room was in the new wing pretty basic had booked chocolate strawberrys nd fruit platter 4 room both were very lovely, shower is amazing :)
spa- hot tob, jaccuzi and suana were amazing. our package included body scrub massage nd facial all of which were amazing but my fav had 2 b massage !!
food and service both at bar and restaurant were very quick and efficiant, some reviews ive read people have felt rushed perhaps a little but as im a slow nd small eatter they soon learnt 2 leave me longer :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed three nights through easy breaks got a great deal !!! when we arrived we were very impressed with the location , the check-in quick and easy , Our room had a lovely view of the loch on a morning the low cloud across the loch was so picturesque. The hotel was a great base for days out. the spa was super used it every morning & evening .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

3 nights. 3 x 6 course taster menu. 3 x excellent breakfasts. Room & en suite in prefect condition. Cleanliness throughout hotel. Pool & hot tub etc also well kept. Staff without exception were polite, friendly & helpful.

Bar prices were reasonable.

The dinners... Pheasant, venison, lamb, very good cheese. Amazing value for all of this. The breakfasts... have one of the egg dishes on offer - lovely.

The village is a bit tired - but the forest walk starting from the hotel car park was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Address: Shore Street, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Royal Burgh of Inveraray overlooking Loch Fyne, the Loch Fyne Hotel has 80 bedrooms and leisure suite with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. There is a comfortable lounge bar and an excellent restaurant. The town of Inveraray is a short stroll away and the hotel is situated 55 miles from Glasgow, making the hotel the perfect touring base for Oban, and Glencoe. Inveraray Jail and Inveraray Castle are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Fyne Hotel And Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel Inveraray
Loch Fyne Inveraray
Fyne Hotel Loch
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.