We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Weekender” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shore Street, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Winter Weekender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Originally booked through a discount club as a romantic anniversary getaway, I hadn't read the small print but staff (for a small fee) upgraded to Family room on nights to suit both our diary & room availability.

We received a warm reception at check in with plenty of information on facilities. Been in Inverary numerous times over past 20 plus years & dined in the Loch Fyne on our wedding night but this was first stay at hotel. Due to severe weather & road closures we were a little late in checking in but still had time to make use of pool, etc. We tip-toed over outside decking through snow to outside hot-tub - fantastic & later snowball fight with dad & kids.

Roms were clean, warm with view & comfortable. Bath / shower facilities all in good order. Our room had door so adjoining rooms were available & I know that mini-suites can also be booked.

Restaurant was accomodating with kids needs & items not on menu were rustled up on request. The quality of the food on set menu was excellent & mum selected steak from a la carte option (an extra few quid but in her opinion, worth it). Chef provided extra tasters from menu (Oyster Rockafellar was delicious) and both quality and service from Paul & team was great.

Bar area & reception available & hotel in quiet spot but centre of town with shops & facilities 2 minute walk away.

Plenty of parking in grounds and free use of computer on ground floor area available with wi-fi access. Plenty to do locally during tourist season but we had a trip & drove along side the canal to Crinan. Plenty great local places to visit.

Second night was just as good & can't find fault with overall facilities, quality & service bang on the mark. Thanks for great hospitality

Room Tip: Ask for room in original part of hotel or to front as views over to Cairndow are breath-taking (espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    488
    171
    107
    43
See reviews for
205
944
25
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Many thanks to all the people at the Loch Fyne Hotel. You made our family gathering a good and pleasant stay ( dispite the weather)

Nothing like being in a warm outside hot tube with the wind howling.

Special thanks to Marc for his attention to detail & friendly attitude .

Over the 3 days the Food & service were excellent & the spa facilities were good.

Will return in 2012.

See you then Marc.

Thanks

Trevor

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Nice break after long journey. Very helpful staff and no moaning at any request. Helpful when booking via email. Food was varied and good quality. Nice clean bedroom overlooking the Loch. Entertainment was fine and helpful due to awful weather (hey its Scotland!). Mixed age range and all were friendly. Management are top class. Hope to return.
Could suggest a slightly later breakfast time due to festivities from night before but understand they need to clear for next meal.

Room Tip: The room used as a picture from the brochure is Glen Ord. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Loch Fyne for 2 nights at the start of December 2011. This was over the period when Scotland experienced severe storms and the hotel had a power cut from 4pm on Thursday, which lasted until late afternoon on the Friday.

I would like to express my thanks to the staff at the Loch Fyne, in particular Pablo, Dawn and Joanna at front of house who could not do enough for us, particularly as we had our 5month old son with us - it is not easy to find nappies, babygros, hot water for bottles etc in the dark and with no electricity!!

I would also like to express my thanks to the kitchen staff who amazingly still managed to produce a delicious hot 4-course meal in the evening and a hot breakfast the next day. The waiting staff in the restaurant also did an amazing job under very difficult circumstances.

We visit the Loch Fyne at least twice a year and cannot find fault with the hotel and the staff are always professional and friendly - we look forward to our trip every time.

We will be visiting again very soon

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Just back from a twixmas stay-3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast with afternoon tea on the 1st day and lunch on the 3rd day all for £340, really good value for money. The food is of a very high standard and there is a good choice each night, the staff are all really pleasant and very attentive, the service at breakfast and dinner is fast and efficent (one night my wife wasn't feelling very well and every member of the service staff asked how she was and offered us room service). Our room was of a good size and very clean, the spa is also very good. All in all a very good hotel and is less than a hour's drive from Glasgow, we have already booked to go back for another 2 nights next month.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had a lovely restful break at the Loch Fyne Hotel. Staff were excellent, food was 1st class, varied imaginative menus. Comfortable, warm, clean bedroom & swimming pool was excellent. Entertainment was really enjoyable - race night, bingo and Generation Game. Management and staff very friendly and appeared very happy in their work.
Only complaint - no reading lights in room, but lounges were available all day for reading.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Returned today from a three day trip. The whole experience was superb. The staff were all very nice, confident, friendly and helpful. Nothing too much bother. The food - well - it was all lovely, breakfast, lunch and dinner all offered at a time to suit you. Excellent choices to be had reflecting local cuisine. A big star for the chefs. The little extras were all well accepted as was the evenings' entertainment. The spa and pool were clearly popular. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. A very inexpensive experience in a setting well placed for those who enjoy the outdoors or simply chilling out. Only complaint; no potato scones at breakfast and dogs barking in the late evening!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa

Address: Shore Street, Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Royal Burgh of Inveraray overlooking Loch Fyne, the Loch Fyne Hotel has 80 bedrooms and leisure suite with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. There is a comfortable lounge bar and an excellent restaurant. The town of Inveraray is a short stroll away and the hotel is situated 55 miles from Glasgow, making the hotel the perfect touring base for Oban, and Glencoe. Inveraray Jail and Inveraray Castle are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Fyne Hotel And Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel Inveraray
Loch Fyne Inveraray
Fyne Hotel Loch
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.