We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ban-diuc

Ban-diuc
Quay Close, Inveraray, Scotland
01499-30-21-42
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Formally 'The Coffee House' current owner also runs The Royal Burgh Cafe in the same town.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Working in inverary took my wife and loved it we are from Glasgow tried a good few Indian restaurants as it am a chef this place hit all the ryt buttons thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    51
    21
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Went for a lunch here whilst my girlfriend and I were staying in a nearby hotel .
The decor inside is very nice indeed & the restaurant is spotless and clean.
The meal was very nice , we just ordered off the lunch menu which was good value .
The staff were very nice and very attentive .
I would defo recommend a visit to here if in Inveraray.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We arrived today and chose the 3 course lunchtime special at £7.99 each. It was empty when we arrived about 12.30 and as we were ordering another couple sat besides us. There were about 5 starters to choose from and we both chose chicken pakoras. We were asked if we wanted poppadoms and agreed to a couple. We were brought 4 poppadoms and pickle tray. Then the starters arrived, just 2 small pakoras each on a plate no side salad. The lady sat besides us ordered samosa starter and it was just one very tiny triangle! My main course was chicken tika masalla which was just 4 small pieces of chicken in what looked like a bowl of tomato soup and was just as bland. The hubby ordered chicken dopiaza which he said was okay but only 4 pieces of chicken. These were served with chips and pilau rice. I didn't want the ice cream dessert but it was nothing special. We were shocked when the bill arrived that it was £28.30! We drank just a pint of lager and bottle of coke which were overpriced but were charged a total of £5.50 for 4 poppadoms and pickle tray. Needless to say that for a tiny portioned untasty meal we didn't leave a tip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

An unexpected pleasure in this pretty - but rather tartan 'n' shortbread - Argyll town. Good Indian food (and I'm told the non Indian rates too). All the expected dishes and some interesting specials. More on the 'nouvelle' style - in style, portions and prices - rather than local curry shop - that's a plus in my book. Attentive and helpful staff and a fantastic setting - must be the best exterior view of any Indian restaurant, and a very nicely done interior too no flock wallpaper in sight!. We live well out in the sticks so pretty much always have to travel to 'dine out' - but we think this place is well worth the 40 mile when we're in the mood for good Indian food

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We came to this restaurant about two weeks ago while on a family holiday and absolutely loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we all loved our meals! The great thing about this place is it serves fried chicken, chips and vegetables as well as Indian food, which is perfect if you are with someone who doesn't like Indian food. The naan bread was the best we think we've all ever tasted and overall a perfect end to the holiday! We would definitely return here again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban-diuc also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Ban-diuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban-diuc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.