We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning on outside ( not so inside"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Argyll Hotel to your Saves list
Argyll Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning on outside ( not so inside"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Booked it last minute on booking dot com , while driving to Scotland we called to confirm however when the call was received form the receptionist the response was to say the least flat and uninviting which left us wondering what was going on , after many long hours driving we finally arrived at the the hotel and the response we got in person was even less friendly but just abrupt and matter of fact ,once we were told where our room would be which was only on the 2nd floor but there would be no lift access which was not available even on the hotels website we were stunned to find that the stairs were like walking up inside a castle fortress which went completely around in a spiral and they were uneven in places , we did mention it to the receptionist but just got a vague response and not much help to follow , if it was not for the lengthy driving we had done to get there we would have sort other accommodation just on the receptionists attitude alone , we felt it was a shame being the scenery and place was spectacular .

Room Tip: Make sure you request lower floor if you have difficulty with stairs .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    138
    105
    67
    44
See reviews for
58
226
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maybole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We booked a 1 night dinner, b & b, and we thought the hotel offered real value for money. We had a room overlooking the loch, and we enjoyed very sunny weather which added to our experience. whilst the hotel does need a little "tlc" the food was fantastic. We had a 3 course table d'hote, and the choice and quality was 1st class. The traditional scottish breakfast was excellent, and little things such as warm plates and linen table covers added to the enjoyment. The staff were very attentive, and helpful, and were always helpful and gave an impression of being there to assist you.

Room Tip: Front view over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Absolutely beautiful view outside from the hotel dining room.
Friendly staff, helpful and courteous.
Lovely breakfast.
Great atmosphere in the bar which was open really late.
Good value for money.
Great location,very central to the castle and also to the main street and the jail.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic position, overlooking the loch, it's a shame the interior didn't meet up to standards! The rooms are small and dingy, the corridors need some decorating. We booked this as it was supposed to be dog friendly, which is was but only by two of the staff! The young lady that checked us in and set up breakfast for us in the "conservatory " ( the windows at the front) was very pleasant and helpful! The girl who checked us out was not! The actual dining room is lovely. The wifi although free was pretty useless.

Room Tip: Just choose one overlooking the loch for splendid views on waking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My route into town approached the hotel from the rear. I prayed that this wasn't the Argyll, but it was!.
The reception, bar and dining room are all in good shape. From the first stair things go downhill. This place is very tired and shabby. I don't care how busy staff are there is no excuse for dirty laundry on the landing in the early evening. Our room was poor and looked out over a muddy and weed strewn yard. There was a hole in the bathroom window frame (rot) and this had been stuffed with toilet paper.
The meal was not bad. I suspect my chicken liver pate had very little chicken in it as it tasty very porky, which I hate. A man on the next table felt to need to eat in a baseball cap.
This place need a lot of money spent on it otherwise I fear the worst.
The situation on the front is excellent and the town a popular tourist visiting spot.
Must do better.
I like to give good reviews but this was poor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I really hate writing negative reviews, but this place just doesn't deserve better than a 2 out of 5. The whole experience in a word: shabby. The reception, meaning how we were received, the manner of our reception was just so unwelcoming. There was clearly some confusion with the two rooms we booked, but we just sat there in silence while it was being sorted. She kept going up and down the stairs, not saying a word. Other staff would pass by the desk and very unheartfeltly (that may not be a word!) asked if everything was okay. A couple male staffers behind the desk were wearing athletic shorts and trainers, which just added to the very unprofessional welcome we received. We finally got our rooms, and it was fine, but the rooms were kind of not very nice. Generally the hotel is very run down. Lots of bits falling apart here and there (pieces of wall coming off in several places). Really worn out furnishings. Kind of crusty bathrooms. Bad lighting. Wimpy window coverings. Broken window fittings. The breakfast was also not very good. The buffet area really smelled bad, like the underarms of a sweaty person. Very unappetising. This hotel needs a major overhaul in every possible way. We kept noting how this hotel would be the perfect candidate for the "Hotel Inspector." Staff friendliness training, professional appearance training, major renovations, menu overhaul, sorry the list goes on. I can imagine that in its heyday this place might have been a stunner, but it's just not right now so I could not recommend it. It's never a good thing when you are anxious to check out of your room and move on and that's how we felt in this hotel. I give it 2 out of 5 instead of 1, because I have seen worse!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We are just back from this hotel, we stayed 2 nights DBB, first impression from outside was disappointing as it looked rather drab. We arrived an hour early and asked if we could check in.Vanetta who was on reception was very unhelpful and unwelcoming and really should not be greeting guests as her manner is terrible! There was a mix up with our booking as central reservations had not passed on our full details, we spoke to the duty manager, Alvares Cortes who was so helpful! His manner and friendliness makes your stay even better. The quality of the food is excellent and the dining room and bar staff are so helpful, all in all, yes the hotel is in need of some tlc but I would recommend a stay here and don't be put off by reception!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Argyll Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed and built in the 18th Century. The Argyll Hotel is one of the finest and most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland, located in the Royal Burgh Inveraray. The hotel offers traditional quality accommodation with 36 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you will witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. With welcoming friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food, the Argyll Hotel poses as your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argyll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.