We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auchindrain Highland Farm Township

Auchindrain Highland Farm Township
Auchindrain | Furnace, Inveraray PA32 8XN, Scotland
01499 500235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 things to do in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Auchindrain/Achadh an Droighinn is a very special place - the only surviving example of a Highland Farm Township that was not either abandoned or modernised. The 21 acre site, set in the dramatic Argyll landscape, gives visitors a fascinating insight into life and work in the old Highlands. Wander through the township, learn about its people, and explore the longhouses where they lived with their cattle and horses under one roof.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A Good Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Went here and enjoyed it although it would have been better if there had been some people to explain what the buildings were for and how the people lived in them at the time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuchindrainTownship, Manager at Auchindrain Highland Farm Township, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Auchindrain.

A few times a year we are able to hold a special day when people bring the place to life. For the rest of the time, however, we have to ask visitors to use their imagination and to read what's in the free guidebook. This is essentially a result of our relatively out-of-the-way location: not enough people live close by to form a pool from which we could draw volunteers willing to act as guides and explainers as you describe, whilst we would need many times more visitors than we receive (and can actually accommodate) to be able to afford to pay people to do this as a job,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Auchindrain Highland Farm Township”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Achindrain Township open day and Big Lunch. A very special, unique place and people, where the narrative of past times is captured in the walls and songs of a bygone lifestyle, re-enacted by custodians for the past for those of the future. Priceless
This is a must-see and there is no place like it. Fantastic staff very friendly. Magical place - a guided tour highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We visited with our two children and felt it was far too expensive for visit it was almost £17 for the four of us. Should of been more like half that and they may get more visitors. On the upside the staff were helpful and there is a great walk you can do nearby that was free and better that the township for the kids.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuchindrainTownship, Manager at Auchindrain Highland Farm Township, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are sad to hear that your visit to Auchindrain was spoiled because you felt our admission prices were too expensive.

Auchindrain is owned and managed by a Scottish Charity. The museum is not a commercial business, and every penny that visitors pay helps towards the not inconsiderable costs involved in caring for a physically large and complex historic site. The rest of the funding required comes to us in the form of grants from public agencies and other charities, and as a condition of their support we are expected to earn as much as we can ourselves.

Our admission prices are set in comparison to other comparable places elsewhere in Scotland and the UK, and particularly in relation to the prices of other attractions in the immediate area. We are on a level with some, but are generally a bit cheaper than most. We constantly seek feedback from our visitors (you should have been given a survey form to complete), and know from this that the overwhelming majority of our visitors feel they have received good value for money - comments such as yours in relation to our prices are extremely unusual. Many things affect our capacity to attract large numbers of visitors and we have a sound understanding of the various issues - many of which we cannot change, such as our out-of-the-way location. We are afraid to say, however, that there is no evidence whatsoever that our admission prices are a significant factor. In general, people seem to understand what the whole place is about and to be gladly willing to pay what we ask.

Please contact us direct at info@auchindrain.org.uk, and we will arrange to provide you with a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely visit to a fascinating and historic place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Visited a couple of weeks ago on a nice day - it wouldn't be too good in the rain as most of your time is spent outside. Lots of old authentic houses, sheds, tools, ruins, a great gift shop and tea room. Took us about 90 minutes to tour the buildings and grounds - had to catch a bus so we didn't have time for the tea room - but on average, a couple of hours would probably be enough for everything. The people are very helpful, we met one gentleman who knew everything about the place, and had lots of stories to tell. Some sheep grazing and hens running around, even a couple of small ponies. Most of the displays had good info, a handy free brochure is also helpful - and it was easy to imagine how life must have been in this area. Definitely recommend!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went here recently loved seeing the old houses and how people lived. Good day for everyone including tearoom

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auchindrain Highland Farm Township also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Auchindrain Highland Farm Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auchindrain Highland Farm Township, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.