We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George

The George
Main Street East | The George Hotel, Inveraray, Scotland
01499 302111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Go for the Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The George on a Saturday night in Inveraray is the place to be. Live music, dim lighting and local banter make it a night and expeerience to remember.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    247
    69
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyll
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Everyone is watching money these days - what great value and super meal! Local fresh fish - good choice for my vegetarian friends and special accommodation by chef! Thank you

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Bad food and unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had high expectations after reading some of the reviews here, but the food was absolutely awful and the service was terrible, almost insulting. We have had such great dining experiences all over Scotland, and the service is usually warm and friendly. Inveraray is a fun place to visit and I would recommend stopping in Thee George pub for a drink - it's very atmospheric - but eat somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food but unfriendly staff took the shine off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I ate here with a group of friends we had phoned previously to find out if we needed to book and told no, but on arriving without a reservation the waiter who appeared flustered let a large sigh.
Really not a good welcome made to feel like we were getting in the way, not ideal when your about to spend money.
The food was good and the value for money in a touristy location was good, service by the waitresses was much better at least they managed a smile.
We had been told by locals the other places in town didn't have good food- had this not been the case we would have eaten somewhere else.
We left after our food and went drinking elsewhere.
Probably best to book

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A lovely Friday night drinks then a great Saturday afternoon meal. The food was excellent and the staff attentive and welcoming. Would return to Inverary simply for The George. Be prepared to wait for a table because of its popularity but worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.