We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with good bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardshiel Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardshiel Hotel
Save
You added Ardshiel Hotel to your Saves list
Kilkerran Road, Campbeltown PA28 6JL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with good bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Nice hotel with a great bar and wholseome food in the restaurant. Staff were very helpful and friendly. But if you get a room on the top floor, it's a steep climb with heavy suitcases and, as so often in scotland, there's no lift.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    31
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
32
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here in January 2011 to play golf at Machrihanish, and we were lucky to have picked one of the better hotels as far as Campbeltown was concerned. The town appears very run down and desperately in need of re-generation, can I also say that I can make that comment to some of the other hotels in the area, especially on the high street (White Hart & Argyll!). The proprieters Flora And Marion were very helpful and made us very welcome, the newly refurbished bar had an impressive selection of over 300 malt whiskeys. When we went down for a drink we were told that the restaurant was fully booked for a Saturday night by mainly local clients which in my opinion spoke volumes about the standard of food. They mananged to fit us in for a meal and the food was first class and very reasonable. The room was spotless and had a newly refurbished en-suite (room 6) bathroom with stunning views across Campbetown Loch. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was pretty had to fault also. There are no 5 star hotels in Campbeltown so if you want to stay over can I suggest that you will not go far wrong with the Ardshiel Hotel, it definately is one of the better hotels in the town, ideally located just off the main street.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

What a gem! This is the perfect place to stay in this town. We were a group of 6 (3 brothers and the wives) and Springbank Distillery was a must on our itinerary.The hotel's location allowed us to walk everywhere in town (the distillery, the bars, and a run along the Loch). The hotel has a lot of character with whisky cabinets welcoming your arrival. Our room on the 3rd floor overlooked Campbeltown Loch and Davaar Island and was spacious and clean with an updated bathroom. The bar was a classic locals bar with an amazing 450 bottle collection of single malt scotch. We felt welcomed and shared many stories. The food at the hotel's restaurant is really wonderful and the only place to eat in town, as advised by all the locals. We especially liked the smoked salmon, Gruyere cheese pie and the scallops in onion/bacon/ cream sauce (worth every calorie). The staff were so helpful with travel tips and willingly helped with our laundry; they returned our running clothes clean and folded! If you venture down the long and winding road, this is a great place to spend the night. Would also recommend the Burnside Bar (local after-work watering hole) and a trip to the Mull of Kintyre (the drive alone is worth it).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Great little hotel. Nice people, very freindly. We had a room right at the top of the hotel which was very large for the four of us. Nearly had a serious mishap in the bathroom with a non-slip bathmat when taking a shower that is not non-slip and it took a while to figure out how to make the water not scalding hot. The food was very good. I was suspicious when our host tried to entice us to use the hotel for dinner as soon as we arrived "Tables at a premium, etc.". Anyway, having asked at the Tourist Info Office without announcing where we were staying as to where a good place for dinner was, the Ardshiel came up as the second name. We were not dissapointed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Campbeltown. Again, best WiFi reception was in the Dining Room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Ardshiel Hotel offers a great opportunity to recover from touring activities and allows you to rest in comfort, relax in the cosy surroundings, walk to nearby township shops or just sit in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrewshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Had a very enjoyable drive to Campbeltown with breathtaking scenery on route. First time we had stayed at this hotel and the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome. Flora, Marion and Staff come across as a very happy team and this is evident in the way they look after their guests.
We ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfast and dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the good quality food we had. They also have a well stocked bar which has just won a very well deserved award for their selection of malt whiskies.
Our room was huge and spotlessly clean and our ensuite bathroom looked brand new and was beautifully fitted out.
Although our stay was only two nights we certainly enjoyed it and we would hope to go back and maybe stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
499 helpful votes 499 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Although Campbeltown is not a large town our sat nav had us doing several circuits of the centre before we found our way to the hotel which is located on a street behind the main promenade - check a town map prior to arrival to save any problems.

There is some parking on site and unrestricted street parking in the area.

The hotel is an attractive sandstone building in the style of a townhouse. The reception is no more than the size of a cupboard, opposite the main entrance and we found it easier to attract attention at the bar, just off the entrance hall. Upon our arrival and during our stay the bar, lounge and a couple of dining areas were busy and it appears that the hotel has a good local reputation for food.

Not unexpectedly for a place this size there is no lift in the hotel. Our room (#6) was on the first floor overlooking the front of the building, above the bar and at the time of our stay was £90 B&B per night. We were surprised about the size of this double room - it was enormous - and consequently it looked barely furnished. Whether it was the way the furnishings were arranged or the scale, they seemed lost in the space. There was only one armchair by the feature fireplace (decorative) when there was lots of space - and a need - for two chairs; the television seemed too small for the size of the room and the place could easily accommodate a king-size bed instead of the double. That said the bed was reasonably comfortable.

The ensuite was accessed up on a raised floor within the room where a dressing table was also sited. Presumably this raised area had a function prior to converting the room to a bedroom - it now seemed out of place. The bathroom was nicely fitted out with a very good shower over the bath and was reasonably spacious. However with the overall dimensions of room it would have been possible to have extended the bathroom and had a separate shower and bath.

Although it is an older building we realised the walls of the room were fairly thin when we awoke on our first morning to the noise of our neighbour’s mobile telephone ringing. Were it not for the fact that he was talking in a foreign language we could have easily joined the conversation from our bed! Incidently, despite the location above the bar we did not experience too much noise in the evening presumably because it is not the type of place where raucous gatherings are normally held.

The bar and lounge were welcoming and we had pre-dinner drinks there in a busy but relaxed atmosphere. The bar was well stocked with whisky and for those looking to drink it, if not the loch, dry you might have a challenge. The meals were served here too or could be taken through to an extension which overlooked the garden, although this latter area lacked the warmth of the lounge - atmospherically and literally. There also appeared to be a small private function room which was used for celebrations.

We had several meals during our stay and the food was reasonably good without being memorable. The staff certainly were very attentive, good-natured and friendly (e.g. taking drinks through to the dining room, etc) and overall we found the experience was decent value.

There is not a huge choice of places to stay in the Kintyre area in our experience although we found it had its attractions and we will probably return to explore more on another occasion. We'd recommend the hotel on the basis that it's pleasant and there are not a large number of options to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardshiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardshiel Hotel

Address: Kilkerran Road, Campbeltown PA28 6JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ardshiel Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardshiel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.