We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbourview Grille

The Harbourview Grille
Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AG, Scotland
+44 (0)1586 810033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Campbeltown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $97
Cuisines: American, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant provided many specials so there is plenty of choice. The Haggis nachos were fantastic and I had a Cajun prawn risotto which was delicious. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this restaurant and will return on my next visit to the area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fabulous food and giant portions; you won't be disappointed. Good selection and restaurant staff very helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The best mocha in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place at The Royal is open for breakfast early and is open until end of licensing hours, serving breakfast until 10am and as far as I can tell lunches and snacks throughout the afternoon.

The service was brisk and efficient, the staff friendly. What really impressed me was the napery - yes, real linen napkins and solid cutlery.

I had a beef and horseradish pannini - could have done with a bit more beef but was tasty. Excellent mocha, so good I went and sat outside the bar opposite the harbour to write postcards and had another one. Not as good as the one from the Grill but came a very close second!

The place always had people in it and friendly, welcoming staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good service and reasonable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came over on the shuttle bus from the Ugadale hotel and had the "World famous Mach Dunes Haggis Nachos" between us as a starter. They were excellent, but easily big enough to share (we didn't eat them all and neither did other couples we saw sharing them as a starter. My salmon was overcooked, but my wife's main dish was fine. I mentioned about my salmon to the waitress and the chef let us have our desserts free to make up. That's what I call service / customer care.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mussels and steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very good mussels and steak. Other food also excellent and dietary needs met in full. Attentive, efficient staff and a very good chef. What more can you ask for?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbourview Grille also viewed

Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute
 
Machrihanish, Argyll and Bute
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Harbourview Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbourview Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.