We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Putechan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Putechan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Putechan Hotel
Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at this newly refurbished hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

From check in to check out the staff were more that helpful. On arrival we were upgraded to the principle room. It has the biggest bath I've seen with amazing views across to Islay and Jura. This room (and a few others up the stairs) had a balcony that would be perfect on a summer night to watch the sunset. It was a little too windy for us to sit and enjoy this time.

The bed was huge and the room was of a high standard, both in cleanliness and decor.

Our breakfast was included and was of normal standard, good selection of items available. Our first sitting there had been a lack of chef so we though the more self service approach was normal but on our second morning normal service was resumed and this was in more keeping with the high standard of the hotel.

We dined one night and the food was lovely, the service was great. The only let down is the minimalist menu but we do appreciate that this is probably a logical approach as it becomes more established and busier.

There is an function room that we didn't see but can only imagine that this would be a great venue for a special occasion.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
25
101
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, on arrival it was a beautiful warm evening so we were very fortunate. We had booked the economy room but were given an upgrade on arrival which was super, even being able to choose between two rooms. The decor of the hotel is really lovely, the art around the place is stunning. We had a drink outside before going into dinner. Dinner was lovely, and the views were to die for, however the only thing that lets this little gem down is the staff, whilst they were very pleasant they were just not quite as polished as would have befitted the Putechan. They were a little inattentive and a little unknowlegable about the food and drink. This was also the problem at breakfast next morning. The food was lovely and very good quality at both meals. The little private beach is to die for and after dinner we went and hauled ourselves up onto the rock and watched the sunset, heaven ! The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. So I really cannot drop a star even for the staffing issues as this really is a beautiful place and we will definitely return . Many thanks

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erskine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from a superb 2 night 5pm deal. Staff excellent, food fabulous. Made very very welcome with Jake our dog, great room location which suited us. Weather wasn't great but that did not stop us having a fab time. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glsagow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and had an excellent stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We had a master room that had a fabulously comfy bed and plenty of space. The views were fantastic from the room and the restaurant. My husband really liked the Stargazer guide in the room. The food was really good and had a great breakfast selection. During our stay we went over to Gigha and hired bikes. We got the ferry from Tayinloan where you can leave the car all day for free. The island is only 6 miles long so you can get around it all in a day. There are 2 places for food - the Hotel and the Boathouse. If you get a chance you should visit the Achamore Gardens. We found a great sun trap in the walled garden. A trip to remember and we hope to be back to The Putechan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

spent 2 nights my Husband a I on a 5PM break great value even if we had to pay the full price it would still be worth it would have gave them 5 out of 5 but we could not get breakfast on our first morning in there book in the room it stated breakfast from 8.00 but when we went down at 8.00
(we had to catch the Ferry at 9.45) there was no one there we went out for a walk and could not get back in door locked we did see the funny side of it our fault for not reading the notice the young girl did come down later and let us in but breakfast does not start till 9.00 at weekends we did not know that so we had to leave to catch the ferry.
we did have a good time the hotel is in a perfect spot it is worth paying the extra for a balcony room what a view it was great going to sleep with the sound of the waves had the door open all night .
the food is just great my husband had the biggest steak yet and it tasted good I had the chicken and it was just as good the breakfast was just as good did wait a bit long but it was worth it
my only worry was the shower it was hot could not turn it down if you went right under it it could give you a burn you might want to look at that.
if you want great views good service and peace&quiet stay here will be back
the trip to Islay was just great

Room Tip: get a room with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Couldn't fault it,staff are friendly and very helpful, the room was perfect with glorious sea views from the spacious balcony, the dinner was delicious and the evening cabaret was top class, slept peacefully in very comfortable bed, then excellent choice of beautifully cooked breakfast in the morning. Will definitely look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Moira,

Thank you so much for the review,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you enjoyed the show, A great set up by the guys and girls, we hope we will have them back some time in the future,

many thanks again and see you soon,

David Lapsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a stunning location! First time visit to The Putechan and I was not disappointed, highly recommend!!!!

All in all it was a very relaxing and enjoyable two days spent and look forward to escaping to this little gem very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, General Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for such a kind review and are delighted you had such a nice stay,

Hope to see you back very soon,

David Lapsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Putechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Putechan Hotel

Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Putechan Hotel is a former Duke of Argyll’s hunting lodge dating from 1872. It lies on the western edge of Kintyre facing the dramatic Atlantic Ocean with stunning views of the Isles of Islay, Jura and Gigha, together with incredible sunsets. It is surrounded by rugged grounds with an amazing pebble beach, strewn with giant rocks for our customers to enjoy. Take a walk along the beach or perhaps a BBQ while looking out for the dolphins and minke whales. The hotel, now under new ownership, has been extensively refurbished and extended, and can now offer a variety of bedrooms to suit different tastes and pockets; from the bridal suite with roll-top window bath looking out to Jura and Islay and balcony facing the ocean, our 1st floor premier rooms with balconies, ground floor doubles with sea views and a linked disabled room. We can also offer more budget accommodation in our rear facing rooms and ‘bunk rooms’. We also have a fully refurbished and extended Venue catering for a variety of events from weddings (up to 120 seated). Attached to the south wing is the sensational ‘Rock Room’ with one whole wall formed by a massive rock with French doors to the rear and front with stunning views over the ocean. The room seats around twenty and could be used for meetings, smaller intimate weddings, yoga/fitness work-outs, business meetings, or an exhibition hall for local artists. Tell us what event you want to run and we will make sure it is one to remember. The south-facing courtyard is a natural sun-trap and looks over onto the private beach. With practically no light pollution, and clever outdoor lighting systems the Putechan enjoys fantastic stargazing on a cloudless night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Putechan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Putechan Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Putechan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.