We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food and beautifully presented” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel

Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel
Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
01586554242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Campbeltown
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“fantastic food and beautifully presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

The most magnificent setting especially window tables overlooking loch. The lights across bay lovely at night. Service excellent and top marks to chef for taste and presentation.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Very good food, good selection and plenty of it - in fact too much for me - thoroughly enjoyable. Lovely views from the restaurant and happy, friendly staff.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scrumptious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Excellent food served with a smile and a lovely wine menu. Tried a few wines and they were all tasty.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited craigard hotel reataraunt for a family meal. Had seafood platter, it was terrible and at £23, I can only say.. What a waste of money. My husband had a starter of scallops with chorizo, it was swimming with oil and inedible. He then plumped for the roast dinner, it was worse than a school dinner. The service was dreadful. I could go on but I won't. I would not recommend to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Scottish Fayre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed with friends who have a house along the road from Craigard House Hotel and wanted to treat them to dinner. Have been to this hotel before and stayed overnight when we were invited to our friends' daughter's wedding a few years ago.
We were shown into a comfortable lounge area to peruse the menu and enjoy a pre-dinner drink.
The restaurant is small with about 6 or 8 or tables and has beautiful views overlooking Campbeltown Loch. Varied menu with 2 or 3 fish choices including Halibut, Cod and Sea Bass. Plenty of potatoes and vegetables are included in the mains price, which was excellent value for money.
Two young girls serving that evening were very friendly and courteous. The owner, Roger, was also on hand to ensure that we were all being looked after. We will certainly return when we next visit Campbeltown.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel also viewed

Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute
 
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.