We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad food....boak” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel

Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel
Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
01586554242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Campbeltown
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, International, Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bad food....boak”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

we went here for dinner and it was the worst dinner we have ever had...i had the brie for starters,it was off.. the smell was really bad ,i told the waitress ,she came back to say the chief was sorry..(but still charged me for this)..the stake pie..was to die for ..IF YOU DID NOT WANT TO LIVE...it had a ton of salt in it the puff pastry had no puff left...pheewww..and nor did i when i finished..well i say finnished i hot footed it out of there...go me...will never return sorry......

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Owner at Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your meal on this occasion. This is a most unusual occurrence, as we receive lots of compliments for our food. Unfortunately, I was not told that you had mentioned the Brie was ripe. Although Brie is generally believed to be improved by ripeness, obviously not everyone shares this view. I am sorry that you did not mention your dissatisfaction at the time, as it would have given me an opportunity to offer some recompense. Perhaps if you call to book another meal we can improve the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Oh Bother!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I searched for restaurants in Cambeltown and this one did not come up, perhaps because I had no idea the place had a separate name from the hotel, it is only the hotel dining room really, so my review has been posted on the main Hotel listing on Tripadvisor – not going to repeat myself so check it out there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Character and style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely meal at this beautifully renovated hotel. Well worth a visit.

C. Burrows

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Owner at Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Many thanks indeed for your very kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed the style and ambience of the hotel and restaurant - and that the food was to your taste. We offer a varied a la carte menu, and daily changing specials highlighting the wonderful local seafood and produce to be found in Kintyre. We very much hope to welcome you again, next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant in cute hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This house restaurant has a extensive menu and very good food! The service was great and caring. Also, there is a adorable dog at the hotel that will make your night.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Many thanks for this very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal at Craigard. We believe our extensive menu offers something for everyone, with a great choice of seafood, meat, produce and game from the local area. We also offer a range of dishes for Vegetarians, and as all food is prepared to order, we can ensure that most, if not all, dietary needs can be catered for. We offer dinner from 6.30-9pm, but this can be earlier or later, by arrangement. Lunches for 8 or more can be arranged with advance notice. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alva
2 reviews
“Evening Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Excellent menu, lots of choices available especially if you have a passion for local seafood dishes! Excellent service!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. The Lochside Restaurant offers wonderful views across Campbeltown Loch and the a la carte and daily specials menu offers local delicacies such as locally landed Turbot, Monkfish, Gigha Halibut etc; Ifferdale Lamb, Campbeltown 'Old Smokehouse' Smoked and Roast Salmon etc, Loch Fyne Langoustines, Mussels and Scallops etc, Inverloch Cheeses (flavoured with Springbank Malt Whisky, Claret, Chutney, Chives and much more) and the famous Mull of Kintyre Cheddar Cheese - not to mention bread made daily and the delightful home made desserts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel also viewed

Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute
 
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochside Restaurant, Craigard House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.