We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed 2 wonderful dinners here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craigard House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Craigard House Hotel to your Saves list
Craigard House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
ri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed 2 wonderful dinners here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed at a local B&B and had 2 dinners at the Craigard House. The setting is very nice. The food and service were very good. We especially enjoyed ordering our meals while sitting comfortably in the lounge and then proceeding to the dining room when our meals where ready. The one knock is that the dining room is rather small, so tables are very close together. Thus, sitting in the lounge until the meal is ready is almost a necessity.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
20
62
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Having read some of the other reviews i find it hard to understand how anyone could have a bad word to say about Roger and Lori, I have stayed here on numerous occasions and they have been nothing but warm and a pleasant, how anyone could have a issue with beanie the dog i will never know, she is so cute and affectionate, i can only assume that such reviews are written by people who do not have canine friends of their own and are of the sort that they have their heads firmly stuck up their own backsides. I have met so many interesting people on my stays here and had some great conversations after hours in the lounge. The food is fantastic, and it would be my first choice of places to stay in and around this area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We had dinner here as a family. Very disappointing. Vegetables cool and some of us had to leave badly cooked meat course. We did not stay for dessert and got out a.s.a.p. Stunning location, though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We spent two nights here. Felt I had to visit as I was born here when it was a Nursing Home. Whilst Roger and Lori were very friendly I have to say we were surprised at the welcome. Just given key and directions to room. Lovely room with superb views but a long way through winding corridors from the reception area and no way to communicate with anyone in case of an emergency. The cistern and exterior of the toilet bowl were far from clean also the low shelf to the rear - dusty and sticky!! No fuffy robes as advertised. Bath great but shower useless. Bedroom door did not lock from inside. Food in restaurant, breakfast and dinner was superb - pity the waitresses had not been trained in the art of service and getting requests correct.
We enjoyed our visit and both Roger and Lori were easy talk with but had all the other things been spot on it would have been superb.
Hope when they extend the capacity of the hotel they get everything right . We wish them all the luck in the world.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

The Craigard house is the only place to stay in Campbeltown. Views of the town, the bay and hills provide a restful retreat in this out of the way corner of Scotland. The on-site restaurant is devine providing an upscale experience even the locals frequent. Before we even arrived, Roger and Lori emailed us about events happening during our visit and arranged for concert tickets to the Mull of Kintyre music festival for us. Room 7 provided a large room with en-suite near the top of the house with great views.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

The hotel itself was alright but it could have done with a good clean. The food was nothing to shout about but I couldn't believe how rude the owners Lori and Roger were. She was never pleasant and very abrupt her service skills were useless. He made us feel like intruders in his home. I like dogs but their dog jumping up on the couch behind me was not something I thought should be happening. The table service was rubbish, we had to ask for more drinks and our starter plates were not cleared away when our main course was being served and the same with dessert. I won't be back here in a hurry!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

what a fantastic hotel everything about this hotel was great we came to campbeltown as my husband was born there and his mothers family came from the town we had a great time there the room we had was called" jura" roger and lori very friendly and the food was great and the veiws across loch to die for and beanie is lovely we will be back and would not hesitate to stay there again many thanks to you both

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Address: Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigard House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.