We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pays your money and takes your chance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Craigard House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Craigard House Hotel to your Saves list
Craigard House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Oswestry
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“You pays your money and takes your chance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This review is just for the food, NOT the hotel itself,

We were staying just outside Campbelltown and this place was recommended as the best place to eat in the area. If this is the best I would hate to see the worst. To be fair two of us ate, one had no complaints the other thought it was pretty mediocre at best. To be honest I thought it was terrible.

This place is in the heart of Kintyre and Scotland has a lot of water so why do they need to buy theirs in from a major national catering wholesaler who has it bottled in Shropshire? Particularly as their menu bangs on about their use of the wonderful local produce. This of course begs the question, what else do they buy in from this same catering wholesaler?

I had a crab salad with a very peculiar taste, quite cheesy, overpowering the flavour of the crab and bitter and quite unpleasant. I asked if the dish had cheese in it and on the third time of asking was told no but the chef added a ‘secret ingredient’ which he was not prepared to divulge! I don’t think the hotel owner was too pleased when I suggested it be taken out as it ruined the dish. Anyway, how did the chef know I was not allergic to this ‘secret ingredient’? He would have looked a bit stupid if I’d foamed at the mouth and died of apoplectic shock. Would he have told the inquest the ingredient was a secret and he would not tell what it was?

The surf and turf looked a good menu choice, rump steak with langoustines and scallops, yummy. Regrettably my shoes were quite new so did not need to be re-soled or I could have made use of the steak. I manfully chewed my way through as much as I could before the muscles of my jaw cried for mercy so I gave the wife a chunk; she had three or four chews and gave up, it landed back on my plate in much the same state that it left it. The langoustines were over cooked and rubbery in contrast to those I had at The Douglas Hotel on Arran the night before, which were cooked to perfection and were soft and almost creamy and to die for. The scallops were OK, nothing to write home about but were at least not ruined.

The hotel boasts three stars from the Scottish Tourist people so should have guessed the food would be only three star at best, I can only assume they eat out when they visit or they don’t rate the food as part of the overall star system.

In contrast and in the interests of balance, my wife had scallops with bacon to start and the sea-food medley as a main and had no complaints at all, an achievement with her as she is a frustrated chef.

It looks as though this place is a case of ‘you pays your money and you takes your chance’.

By the way, be careful on the driveway, the potholes are deep enough to break a cars suspension.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Well I am sorry we could not please you on this occasion, but we are happy your wife enjoyed her food. I am as sorry as you are that you did not enjoy your starter and, as you will remember, I reduced the cost of your meal - but I am surprised you did not mention at that time that you had not enjoyed your main course either. Incidentally, you can be assured that if there was a spring water bottling plant in Kintyre, we would be buying from there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
20
62
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel is a converted mansion with lots of old world charm but some minor issues. Room was huge and clean for the most part, except for stains on ceiling in one area. Mattresses and bed linens were a worn and could stand to be upgraded/replaced. Room was also very cold compared to public areas of hotel but the bathroom was warm, large, and very well maintained. DId not have dinner but breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Also appreciated the free wifi. Not a bad place to stay but not as nice as expected for the money.

Room Tip: Nice view of Campbeltown Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, but will strive to improve. The maintenance issues you mentioned have now been resolved and new linens purchased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Travelling with my mum and we stayed here for 2 nights in the Sanda room, which had excellent views over the loch and gardens. Very good as it has both a bath and a standalone shower cubicle, which my mum prefers.Also a double and single bed. Food excellent, mum wanted a prawn cocktail starter which was not on the menu and the staff could not have been more helpful in ensuring her needs were met. The langoustines were to die for. Lounge was most comfortable with a good range of reading materials including local guide books. The only slight downside was the driveway to the hotel had some potholes. Will certainly return if I am ever in this area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
This is the third time I have responded to this review - but for some reason the system has not picked up the response. Many thanks indeed for this very kind review. We are delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your trip to Campbeltown. The Sanda room has wonderful views over Campbeltown Loch. It is a spacious, superior room with a grand bathroom. Regarding the Prawn Cocktail - we are delighted at any time to amend our menus to please our guests. If anyone has a special favourite, or would prefer a different sauce or accompaniment to a dish, then - if we have the ingredients - we will happily change the advertised dish for the guest's preferred choice. We feel that this is the natural thing to do - as the guest is the important one in the equation! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you again. Many thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a lovely overnight at Craigard on the 21st July. Our evening meal was delicious, really nice seafood. Breakfast was great in the morning, plenty of selection. We'd definately recommend it and hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed your brief stay at Craigard and that the food was appealing to your taste. Being right beside the sea, we specialise in local seafood and shellfish, and other local produce such as meat, cheese and game. This keeps the food miles down, and promotes the wonderful delicacies on our doorstep here in Kintyre. We hope to welcome you once again, next time you are in the area. Many thanks for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

First impressions were fantastic, the hotel is raised above the walkway and looks magnificent, we were in the Sanda room and that was more a suite, massive bedroom facing Campbeltown loch, with side window facing towards the old pier/shipyard, en-suite bathroom had both bath and shower in (shower tray slightly mouldy and cracked but did not detract too much !). Whilst my other half went out fishing, I sat out on the tables in front reading and taking photographs of the loch. The walk into Campbeltown was approx 10 minutes along the loch. The food was enjoyable with a good selection to please nearly everybody, the hosts Roger and Lori were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for them. Beanie the dog was adorable. All in all, a fantastic place, have already recommended it to several people and would certainly return here.

Room Tip: The Sanda Room is more a suite than a room - choose that - its well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and much appreciate your kind words about the hotel and the food in the Lochside Restaurant. We and Beanie also enjoyed your company. Craigard is a fine 1882 Italianate house with an interesting and varied history. It sits on a promontory overlooking Campbeltown Loch, and from its elevated position there are many fine views to be had to South, East and West. The Sanda Room is one of the major rooms of the old house. We very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you once more to Craigard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent two nights on August 10 &11. Our only regret was that we ate dinner somewhere else the first night. The dinner here on our second night was as good as any we have ever had anywhere. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Service was awesome. Having a drink outside looking over the harbor is as good as it gets. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and are delighted you thought so highly of the food and service! We too enjoyed your company and very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you again. Many thanks indeed for such a kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Craigard House Hotel. It was a total escape from our usual very busy life - quiet and relaxed! The food was very enjoyable with a wide enough range for even the fussiest of eaters. Service was superb and friendly. We would definitely visit again. Beannie deserves lots of fussing - makes you smile - you can't help but smile as he demands his attention.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We are very grateful for your positive review. We try to offer a wide range of choices for dinner - from local Seafood and Shellfish, through succulent local meats, cheese and game, to a selection of at least six options for vegetarians. Breakfast also has plenty of choice from fresh fruits to locally Smoked Salmon, via the humungous Full Scottish! Beanie thanks you for the cuddles! She is getting plenty of walks lately - as you know, she offers a Free Guest Walking Service! Hope to see you another time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Address: Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigard House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.