We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craigard House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Craigard House Hotel to your Saves list
Craigard House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Northants
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Small, Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My two sisters and I booked in at the hotel when we went home to Campbeltown to visit family this month and we all enjoyed our stay. The owners, Roger and Lori are friendly and attentive and responded positively to any request we made. Food is good and the staff helpful. It is a 3* hotel and that's reflected in the furnishings and fittings, however the stunning views over the loch and the retention of building's original features give it that something extra. My room was a bit dusty, but the bed was comfortable, the linen and towels spotlessly clean and to be fair I didn't complain about the cobwebs and the couple of spiders I found. I'm sure if I had, the owners would have responded positively and quickly to ensure my issues were dealt with without delay.

Overall, we had a good experience staying at the Craigard and as it used to be the local maternity hospital, one of my sisters found it really novel that the room she was sleeping in was the same one where years previously she had given birth to her children!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    17
    8
    11
See reviews for
19
60
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had 5 nights at Craigard House and had an excellent time. Extremely friendly owners who were very attentive and happy to advise on local facilities and make arrangements, where requested.

Breakfast and evening meals were all superb - as was the wine and drinks menu.

This is a family-owned establishment and all the better for it, in my opinion. We had an excellent room, overlooking the loch and whilst some of the furniture was a little old and 'creaky', that did not cause us any problem. Equally not all of the outdoor area is manicured lawn but there was still more than enough to sit out in the evening and enjoy the stunning views across the loch (weather permitting).

Definitely a special place and somewhere we would very much like to re-visit in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Probobly not much better to choose from in this area. Breakfast was very good. Freshly cooked and not greasy. Served by a very busy but very friendly waitress. Room was rather shabby. Typical of an old hotel which has become a money pit. Grounds and hotel could do with some major updating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in the room with the bay window looking out over the lock and were pleased to have glorious sunshine to be able to appreciate it! Wonderful!

The staff (and owners) are friendly and helpful. The food is of a good standard.

The room we had, although lovely at first glance, was a little tired and could do with a spruce up (worn out arms on the sofa etc)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

An old mansion built by an owner of a whiskey distillery more than a century ago in a show-off with his brother about who had the nicest house. Splendid setting. Good food nice people. We had a pleasant couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Three couples stayed here from the 5th June for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay, what luck to find such comfort and quality food in Campeltown, which, quite frankly, is pretty shabby overall. My wife felt the lady of the house had thought of everything and I thought Craigard House was first rate. We were on a golf trip and enjoyed three rounds, firstly at Dunaferty for nice holiday golf, ideal for the ladies who went back there on day three, on day two we all played Machrihanish, a great traditional links in first rate condition with a well stocked pro shop, unusually good for ladies. Day three saw the men tackle Machrihanish Dunes a brilliant design with poor greens, given a few years it should rival any links.

Room Tip: All three couples happy with their rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

On turning into the sweeping drive I knew we were in for a major disappointment. First impressions are lasting and this will be the case when I remember Craigard but not a good impression. My email communication was great so I was really looking forward to stay as Lori was very helpful and honoured my requests for specific rooms for single occupancy. As we drove up the wheelie bins were still at the foot of the drive and the rockery was overgrown. When we approached the front door I was unclear whether I was at the correct part of the hotel as the storm door was closed, one of the brass door knobs was missing and blue sticking plaster covered the lock. On entering the foyer before the second door were some half dead flowers and a mop stuck behind a plant pot. We received a half hearted greeting from Lori and I asked if I should sign the register before being given the keys without any directions. On entering room 4 we were initially impressed but that was to be short lived. The views are stunning. The four poster bed is amazing and there it stops . The room was dirty and the furniture tatty. The small dining room table top was not secu to the base and landed on the floor as we placed some magazines on it. The curtains were lovely but were hung from the cheapest of cheap rods. The bay window was single glazed and let in a lot of cold air. The room had 5 small portable radiators as well as 3 obsolete wall mounted radiators. There were cables for appliances everywhere and I felt these were unsafe. The ceiling was amazing and a real feature. The bathroom was clean and well tiled. Room 7 was dark and the lock didnt work from inside. The room was dusty and windows drafty. The common parts were tired and jaded. The dining room had amazing views and it seemed odd that the tables at the back were set for breakfast and the ones by the window not set up. The staff friendly but not very competent. On departure we paid our bill and were not asked if we enjoyed our stay or if we had a pleasant stay. This hotel could be stunning rather than mediocre if The Management pulled their socks up. The location is the best in Campbeltown but the hotel and service do not match - Jamie McLean - 01-06-2011

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Address: Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigard House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.