We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hannah's @Appin Holiday Homes - Fab Place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appin Holiday Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Appin Holiday Homes
Save
You added Appin Holiday Homes to your Saves list
Appin, Appin PA38 4BQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Hannah's @Appin Holiday Homes - Fab Place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Appin Holiday homes is a Fabulous little hideway just a stone throw from Oban and on the road North to Fort William. It's an ideal location to make your base if exploring the North West Coast of Scotland. There is something for everyone here. It's a family run business who take greatcare and pride in ensuring you have a great stay whislt there. I can pesonally recommend any of the accomdation having stayed in them all, the best is Porters Cottage, it's like Home from Home. There's also Station Cottage which is equally as good. There's loads for kids to do and even a games room. My 3 just loved tramping about the hillside, swimming on the Tree swing, and exploring the Burns and skimming stones across the Loch. Great cycles paths and plenty within easy reach, Sea Life Centre etc. Even the local Pub(Creagan Inn) is only a 10 minute walk from the site, well worth a visit of an evening to take in a wee libation or 4, the Foods is fabulous too and you can watch the sun dip down over the horizion. Some nights they even have a Ceilidh band in to get you Hook'n and Chook'n. So if you're in the area you should stay , you will want to come back !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
33
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our first visit to the site. Our lodge on the upper level was ready on our arrival and was spotlessly clean and fully equipped save for towels which we hired at a small additional cost. View from the front over the loch was even better than we had imagined. Main road passed below the lodges but was not a problem and traffic died down overnight to virtually nothing. Being away from home for 2 weeks, we needed to use the laundry (situated in an outhouse to the restored station) and the industrial washer / drier coped with our load, but a supply of £1 coins was needed to get the items really dry (outside hanger supplied for each lodge but weather was a bit problematic). 30 minute drive to Oban and 45 minutes to Fort William, so handy for both locations. We particularly enjoyed the evening Calmac cruise & high tea from Oban, a walk round Kerrera island (also from Oban), the Jacobite steam train trip from Fort William (book in advance), the open top bus tour from Fort William to the Commando Memorial and Glen Nevis, and the local loch cruise in Fort William. We had an evening meal at the Creagan Inn and can recommend the haggis, staff were helpful and the 10-15 minute walk back to the lodge along the cycleway was welcome after a hearty meal! A great holiday, and we hope it won't be the last at this location, thanks Jim!

Room Tip: Upper lodges seemed slightly further away from the main road than the lower lodges but probably not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Owner at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review on your first visit to Appin Holiday Homes. We are delighted to read your fab comments and are very pleased you feel we have a better view than you had anticipated! I will pass on to the cleaners your comments about the lodge being spotlessly clean we have had the same cleaners for years and they are fab. It is also nice to see that you made the most of our location and went exploring the area the evening Calmac Cruise and high tea is lovely. We will hope to see you again someday in the not too distant future. Kind regards Jim and Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My first impression of this place was that the brochure and website does not do it justice. The grounds are larger than I expected and have a beautiful disused railway station. The kids could roam around the grounds to discover old fashioned fun – streams, tunnels, dens and a rope swing. There's also a games room, giant chess and a small playground.

Our log cabin was not 5 star luxury, but that's not what we were there for. It was very good value for money and was well equipped, clean, warm and comfortable with an awesome view of Loch Creran. The location is great, between Oban and Glencoe and further north, Fort William

The owner, Jim, provides bike hire, and the cycle path on the disused railway line which runs directly through his grounds, towards Port Appin and Castle Stalker is absolutely stunning.

Oh, and The Creagan Inn, just a few minutes stroll along the shores of the Loch, is fab too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Owner at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our site to be better than expected. We are pleased you found the view over Loch Creran "awesome" we love it too! The cycle path is proving very popular so we are glad you took a trip along it. Hope to see you again sometime in the future. Kind regards Jim and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Clean and well appointed chalets for your stay. The site is very well maintained and provides many outdoor play areas for young children. Along with an indoor games room which has a lot of games and toys and a comfy sofa for the mums and dads! Great location if you intend to take trips to oban and the ferry to the isles, Mull is only 45 mins on the ferry and then you can go on to Iona from here. Also 45 min journey to Fort William should you wish to take the steam train to Mallaig. All in all Appin holiday homes are excellent value for money. I have already recommended this site to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Owner at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and for recommending us to friends and family which is much appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and found our park well maintained (it is all looked after by ourselves and our youngest son of 15). Hopefully you will come and visit us again sometime. Kind regards Julie & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break in caravan J. The setting of this small site is fantastic for exploring the local area. The view from the caravan is simply stunning. The site is really clean and Jim and Julie were the perfect hosts. This is the ideal get away for people who want to relax for a while (although there are plenty of activities in the local area if you want something of a faster paced trip). The Creagan Inn is also fantastic and very reasonably priced.
Only downside was having to leave!! We hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Owner at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks for your great review we are delighted you both enjoyed the caravan so much. The caravans are always very popular being so close to the waters edge. The Creagan Inn is also very handy for our guests so we are glad you enjoyed it also. We hope you will indeed come and visit us again soon. Best wishes Julie & Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have just returned from a week in the 'Cherry Tree' lodge here and were very impressed. Jim and Julie were very helpful providing useful information about the site and the surrounding area. The holiday park grounds are on the site of a disused railway station and so the platform, small bridges, rope swings and tunnels make the perfect adventure playground for kids to play 'tig' and 'hide and seek'. We have two boys aged 5 and 11 who were out every evening playing with friends they had made from other lodges, stopping in briefly to have dinner with us! This is the way I remember growing up before parents (like us!) became scared to let their kids go out the front door!
The lodge itself was in very good condition, was comfortable and had everything we needed provided. We were a little concerned at the rate we were using electricity on the first day (this has been a freakishly cold Easter even by Scotland's standards!) but in the end we were just under £30 for a week of regular showers, baths, kettle use and heating which was fine.
We hired bikes from Jim, who was again very understanding and helpful with advise on a bike and trip that would suit our five year old who has just learned to cycle. We (he) managed an 8 mile return trip down the most perfect of off-road cycle paths that runs just behind the holiday park and was proud as punch.....and tired!
As has been mentioned in other reviews there is plenty for families in the area, including the Sea Life Centre, Oban, Isle of Lismore, and a nice restaurant/inn that you can walk to from the site which meant a family meal where both my wife and I could have a drink (rare for us!).
Thank you guys and I suspect we'll be back...

Room Tip: We were in the lodges furthest from the water which are on the right side of the road for direct acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Owner at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your very kind review on your stay at Cherry Tree. It is fantastic that the kids enjoyed roaming around the grounds and playing hide and seek something our own children loved when they were younger! The cycle track is being well used by our guests and it is as you say pretty perfect. We hope you will indeed return someday with the kids. Best wishes Julie & Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

just had our 3rd stay at the holiday park ,as usual the welcome from jim @ julie was very welcoming.the weather was fantastic ,our 2 spaniel,s love the area as much as we do ,load,s of space to run free ,our chalet was first rate as usual ,nice and warm on arrival ,view,s over the loch amazing in the almost constant sunshine ,gentle walk,s to pub which is also dog friendly ,had a great time ,already trying to figure out when we can return ,thank,s again to jim @ julie for making our stay so good ,see you again soon

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Owner at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are so glad you and your 2 dogs enjoyed your stay with us again. We have been indeed very lucky this year with lots and lots of sunshine to make those views even better! Glad you enjoyed a wee walk to the pub for a nice cool drink Best wishes Jim & Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appin Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appin Holiday Homes

Address: Appin, Appin PA38 4BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Appin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering Lodges & cottages on the West Coast of Scotland overlooking stunning sea loch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appin Holiday Homes Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appin Holiday Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.