We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 4th Visit This Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appin Holiday Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Appin Holiday Homes
Save
You added Appin Holiday Homes to your Saves list
Appin, Appin PA38 4BQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our 4th Visit This Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Why go anywhere else, it's a treasure hidden away. Yes the lodges are in the process of being updated and when completed will only add to the enjoyment. Jim & Julie are a delightful couple who cannot do enough for you. Now the local pub has reopened you could not ask for anything more. Celebrating New Year here was tremendous. Looking forward to returning April/May. Thanks Jim & Julie for a truly relaxing break

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
33
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

We have just returned from a week break in these lovely cabins and we loved it,in fact we loved it so much we are going back in may (hopefully the weather will be better) the owners are so nice and friendly and helpful with thing to do and see, the view overlooking the loch are beautiful especially in the morning, on our arrival mr weir had the place nice and cozy for us getting there late at night I know that doesn't take much but it's little things like that,that makes you feel welcome and at home

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our lodges and we are glad you enjoyed the views. We do try our best to make people feel at home and switch on lights and heating when required so everything is ready when you arrive. So pleased you are returning we have a lot of return visitors so hope that we are doing something right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The lodge we stayed in had an awful bed very small and uncomfortable.Needs new windows as they are mouldy which isnt very nice. However think they are in the process of updating the lodges and some of them had new windows. Living area was ok. Good view of loch but across an A road. Very good cycling around here lots of cycle paths. The laundry room was very poor, cold and dirty didnt feel I could do my washing there so came home with loads! The games room and children facilities need updating. But all in all was ok considering the price.

Room Tip: All lodges are above an A road and the loch is across this road so if you want just a loch view with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied when here. The double beds are all a standard size 4ft 6" so don't understand your comment about the bed being small? We have however replaced the mattresses in the upper level lodges with new memory foam replacements which are proving popular. The lodge double glazing has now been fitted to all units you will be pleased to hear we were sorry it was not completed by the time of your arrival. We were very busy until the end of September so could not start work until October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Appin hoilday homes are a little scottish treasure,and they are a credit to represent our tourist industry,They are a true and rare beauty.Discovering this idyllic place, we find ourselves filled with a yearning to linger here, where time stands still and beauty over whelms you,we have been going now for 7 years and we have a lot of the most wonderful family memeriors here in our photo albums, no price can be put on that, nor can you put a price on the warmth and kindness and wonderful welcome we ge tfrom juile and jim,Its the most picturesque beautiful place where you can just lose your self and relax,Its clean tidy and cosy with stunning views and a unique charm of its own.It is a Place that just gets better and better its enchanting where you see natures colours brighter the air softer and the mornings more fragrant its cleans the mind and soul a true hoilday in a beautiful place ! 10 out 0f 10

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Have returned here for years and have seen improvement upon improvement although it was always perfect for us. This is primarily down to friendliness cleanliness and the personal care displayed by Jim and Julie. They have always gone that extra mile to ensure that all needs are met. This time my husband was recovering from a heart attack and they ensured that I was met, assisted with loading to the caravan, given all medical contact numbers including their own (with 24/7 contact). This made me feel secure in the knowledge that they care about their individual holidaymakers (which I have witnessed with others) but are not intrusive. I suggest that if you visit here you will return because as well as being attractive to all ages and groups it gives individual attention something I have found lacking even in parks graded 5*.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Many thanks for your review it really means a lot to Jim and I. See you when your hubby is better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Recently updated accommodation was spacious and cosy with great character and everthing you need - felt right at home immediately and the owners were so friendly and helpful and seemed to appear whenever you needed them - nice crab beach for kids for pottering, nice rocky fishing spot for sea trout under the bridge at the foot of the road (saw seals up close too!) - nice level and tarmac path all the way to port appin - great onsite games room for kids and rope swings (bit scary) - seal ife centre and tralee beach nearby - oban boat trip to staffa and tresnish isles to see puffins a must - great veranda for after dinner wine and chit chat when monsters went to bed - take the candles to confuse the midges - great holiday and memories - cheers

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Hi there & many thanks for your lovely review! We are always grateful for comments regarding our guests stay. Weather has been fabulous for a few days so have been making the most of it and the good news is that the Creagan Inn has been bought so you will have somewhere nice to eat should you visit us again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broseley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My wife and I,have just returned home from Appin,we found it nice and peaceful.The caravan was very clean and the park is well kept,we found the people running things most pleasant and helpful.If you want a holiday that is peaceful and has amazing scenery,then this is the one.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appin Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appin Holiday Homes

Address: Appin, Appin PA38 4BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Appin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering Lodges & cottages on the West Coast of Scotland overlooking stunning sea loch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appin Holiday Homes Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appin Holiday Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.