We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airds Hotel and Restaurant

Airds Hotel and Restaurant
Port Appin, Appin PA38 4DF, Scotland
01631 730236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 restaurants in Appin
Price range: $45 - $85
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Vegetarian, Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous hotel. Everything was perfect from the location to the rooms to the food. Service was excellent and the staff were so friendly and thoughtful- we basically wanted for nothing. We could not fault this hotel.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    33
    2
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner disaster!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Arrived for drinks and canapes before dinner. Pleasant staff in lounge area but residents were talking very loudly! Dinner was very good food-rather rich and we did not need the Raspberry cream after our dessert and biscuits and cheese.OTT! I went upstairs to the toilet and was asked repeatedly by a gentleman, knocking on the toilet door, to vacate quickly as he had to GO NOW! Very rude and unnecessary-there must have been another toilet in the hotel? Food and drink overpriced but friendly, attentive staff .!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mack0801, Manager at Airds Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dinning experience with us and I am delighted that you found both the food and service to be very good even if your headline suggests otherwise.

The raspberry cream is in fact a small pre-dessert which many fine dining restaurants provide as an additional teaser course prior to dessert. However, as your husband chose cheese as the dessert the pre dessert was served afterwards so as not to leave a sweet taste
prior to cheese. However, I can appreciate that this may not be to everyone’s taste.

We are confident that our dinner menu priced at £53.00 per person for 5 courses plus canapés, coffee and petit fours offers good value for money. Chef uses only the finest seasonal ingredients (your own choices included Foie Gras; Halibut and a selection of handmade artisan cheeses plus the extra complimentary cheese provided at the end as we became aware of your disappointment at missing out on some of your husband’s cheese).

In the bar, our standard spirit pouring measure is 50ml (ie a the equivalent of a double measure in most bars, as indicated on our bar list) which we feel provides a good size drink. In addition all drinks are served with roasted nuts and olives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

We'd heard mixed things about this place, but the owners of the fantastic ecopods we were staying at had made a few spot-on recommendations and this was one of them.

We looked at the menu online and as the evening menu was a bit pricey, we went at lunchtime and had the £23:95 set 3 course menu. We both had the hand-dived scallops to start, followed by the duck. Both dishes were superb and when I asked the waiter to select me a glass of the best wine to enhance the duck he made a superb choice. The champagne by the glass is well worth trying drinks wise too, delicious!

We had two different desserts, a chocolate one and an apple tart tatin, both were scrumptious. We finished the meal with superb coffee and homemade shortbread biscuits by the fire in the drawing room.

The setting and views, food and service were fabulous and my only regret is not trying Airds until our last day.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

only used the restaurant very good food and service

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dinner was divine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The dinner selections were fabulous. The presentation was delightful and the tastes were sumptuous. The wines were excellent. The staff attentive without being suffocating. Benoit (waiter) was amazing. Our dinner was included in our hotel cost so do not know the $$ amount.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airds Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Appin, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Airds Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airds Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.