We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special family meal given the 5 star treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

The Carlton Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Carlton Hotel
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
139, High Street, Montrose DD10 8QN , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Special family meal given the 5 star treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Had a special family meal for my Mum.
Treated really well and the meal was excellent
Would thoroughly recommend the restaurant.
Staff very helpful and quality of the food was second to none
Brilliant

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I was due to stay at this hotel in July for a week although i had to cancel the booking. However i today received an email from the hotel manager not having realised i had cancelled my booking. This in itself was not a problem it was the way he wrote to me assuming i was still booked and indeed to others who probably have booked and also received the same email.

He wrote to advise me that the 2 rooms i have booked for July were cancelled as a large oil supply company had block booked the hotel for most of this year. Graeme Lamb the Manager in his email did not apologise but just said in a very matter of fact manner the rooms were cancelled.

It has to be the most disgusting way of treating a potential customer and assume to anyone else booked.

It is clear he has put the big company booking ahead of all others so be warned. If you book you run the risk of being bumped out if Mr Lamb gets a better offer. Entering into a contract is clearly not something the Carlton considers when taking bookings.

I will not stay there and would not advise anyone to book the Carlton regardless of how good the reviews may have been as your booking is not a booking.

I just hope that the big company who has booked cancels as this to me seems divine justice to Mr Lamb if that is how he treats his customers.

Do not book.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glamber24, Management at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
After investigation with the management team, lack of communication proved to be the concluding factor with the party involved. The in-house issue has been resolved.
We are a small family run hotel with a great team, and an excellent reputation, although we are far from perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

The owner of the hotel could not have been more helpful. Hospitality second to none - you are really made to feel at home. Excellent accommodation, location and food - well done to all!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Stayed two nights and found the location ideal for exploring the town, which we thought really nice. The place has been substantially refurbed and the update has not yet ended according to Graham, the "major domo". He and the staff were helpful, unfussy (i.e. sincere) and ticked all the boxes as hosts.

The rooms are lovely albeit the shower/loo arrangements have had to fit the very old building, rather than effect major reconstruction of the entire edifice. The obese may want to give room 5 a miss though, as far as the shower cubicle goes! Also bear in mind that the hotel has no ground floor, nor a lift.

Breakfast was freshly made with quality ingredients and all in all the Carlton, and Montrose, were a delight to visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Had the pleasure of staying at the Carlton Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my visit. Staff are very friendly and efficientt, always willing to go the extra mile. Standards at the Carlton are exemplary. Its easily the best hotel in town.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort levels and its central location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macduff, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Stayed at the Carlton for my wifes 40th, great food & the kids were made welcome by Graham & Natalie.
The rooms were clean & well presented, the food was excellent & the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was a memorable one.
Well worth a visit, whether on a course in Montrose or visiting, the Carlton will be our first choice.
Having stayed in a few of the hotels in Montrose due to attending courses, I would have to put the Carlton at the top of the list.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

The hotel is situated perfectly at the top end of the High Street. All shops, hairdressers, bars, restaurants, jewellers etc are within 2 minutes MAXIMUM walking distance.

Our room was spotless, spacious and comfortable, The food is a credit to the chefs, but sad to say the puddings are absolutely delicious YUM YUM :o)

The management and staff cannot do enough for you and work tirelessly to ensure your stay is PERFECT.

I look forward to the next time I visit this wonderful wee corner of Scotland.

Thank you The Carlton Hotel

  • Liked — The Whole Experience
  • Disliked — Leaving :o(
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 139, High Street, Montrose DD10 8QN , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Montrose
The Carlton Hotel Montrose, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.