We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strathmore Arms

Strathmore Arms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glamis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathmore Arms
Save Saved
You added Strathmore Arms to your Saves list
1 The Square, Glamis DD8 1RS , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glamis
scotland uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went here for a family meal and it was very enjoyable. We went quite early but the service was good and the food excellent. The atmosphere is quite quiet but still family friendly. There's outside seating for a nice day and plenty parking outside. Nice setting and ideal for a meal after visiting Glamis castle next door. . Weve been here before and we will be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    5
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Food was not as described in the menu. I ordered chicken in a coconut and mango sauce - it came in a tomato sauce - no taste of either coconut or mango. Dessert was raspberry and drambuie trifle - again no sign of raspberry or drambuie - very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife, our daughter (9 months old) and I recently went here for lunch and we can't speak highly enough. Liz, who looked after us, was very friendly and engaging (especially with our daughter). She was very attentive and accomodating to our requests for menu changes and things that weren't even on the menu. The food was really good and brought to us quickly. Overall, we can't complain about anything. Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

30 Forfar cyclists enjoyed their Christmas lunch at the Strathmore Arms on Friday - lovely food, warm welcome, great service and all smoothly managed in spite of it being a very busy day. Portions were "mansize". Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portknockie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were provided with a home from home for the fourth overnight stop on our charity walk. The accommodation is beautiful, the atmosphere is very homely, the room immaculate and the food is awesome. We were very hungry when we sat down at the dining table and pleasantly full when we left it!
We could not have wished for anything more and would highly recommend anyone wishing to stay in the Glamis area.
Fantastic hospitality, thank you very much for a great overnight stop :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having eaten a few times here and enjoyed excellent food and service I was very disappointed to receive very poor service on Sunday 27th. Although the bar, restaurant and lounge were busy they were far from full between 1 and 2pm. Although we sat down before 1, when we had booked for, I had to look for a waiter/waitress before we could order over 30 minutes later. The slow service lasted all meal. Although we were not in a hurry the lack of attention was disappointing.
The food when it eventually arrived was hot and excellent. We were never asked if we were enjoying the food or required anything else. When I paid the bill I was not asked anything about the experience so the payment reflected the lack of service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for a coffee on the way to Glen Clova. It was raining so we decided to go inside. Some tables in the small dining area were full but not them all. The large dining area had one family seated at a table the rest of the area was empty. We were offered seats at the bar, we declined and left. Is it the policy of this Hotel to only allow those who are having a meal to sit at a table? We drove to the Glen Glova Hotel were the staff were excellent and friendly. We shall not stop ever again at the Strathmore Arms. Welcome to Scotland!!

Room Tip: Avoid if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathmore Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmore Arms

Address: 1 The Square, Glamis DD8 1RS , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Glamis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glamis
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Strathmore Arms Glamis, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathmore Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.