We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good journey break-point, with good value food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finavon Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finavon Hotel
Save
You added Finavon Hotel to your Saves list
On A90, Forfar DD8 3QE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Forfar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good journey break-point, with good value food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped off for lunch at the Finavon Hotel as a break on our journey from Edinburgh to Aberdeen, as we had been once previously and received good service then. While we headed for the relativly quiet restaurant (only 4 tables in use), there is also a cafe/coffee shop, which had several full tables.
The menu is small, but with a good range of choice (plus specials) and good value at £8 for 1 course, £11 for 2 courses, or £14 for 3 courses. We plumped for the 2 course option, with scampi and beef pie for mains and both having Sticky Toffee pudding for dessert, the order being taken by a cheery waitress. The food was promptly served and was very good.
We would happily use this restaurant again, as it is well placed on the A90, 45 miles south of Aberdeen and is a good option if you do not wish to use a national chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    0
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a young guide dog in training, initially no problems with pleasant young waiting staff. Boss then turned up and rudely told us no dogs were not allowed, despite us explaining the situation. I felt his manner was unpleasant, and he made a condescending comment about dog owners in general. Food was decidedly average, wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have stopped at this road-side, whitewashed, small hotel on several occasions, latest was on 31.8.13 to break a round trip journey from Aberdeen to Glasgow. Always used the coffee shop part and have never been disappointed. Today, had a very generously filled smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwich, leek and tattie soup, daughter had ham, cheese and pickle panini - all delicious, quickly served, soup piping hot and brought to our comfy sofa by the pleasant staff. In the past have had freshly cooked bacon rolls, home baking etc. Coffee lovely, I always take it black, and many well-known coffee houses offer you bitter tasting stuff - not at Finavon.
Do pull into this little gem when needing a break you won't be disappointed and don't get it confused with the larger premises a few yards further away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hubby has now had two meals in the restaurant of this hotel - both very good. one meal when the place was really busy the other when the place was very quiet. One for business the other meeting up with friends. Good choice on the menu and nice friendly atmosphere with attentive staff. Not sure what the rooms are like but would stay if needed to based on their customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family love this place and we have been many times before. I visited with my daugher as we were returning from the highland show in edinburgh on route to aberdeen. The location is perfect and it breaks the long journey. The staff are just lovely and very welcoming. The restaurant was very busy yet we got a nice corner table (and we had not booked). Food was fantastic as always. I had pork belly - lovely. My daugher had a venison burger and it had the best chips I have ever tasted!

Will, as always, be back when I am heading south.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The wife and I popped in past there on our way 2 Dundee, place was dead took the wee man out to the so called play park was mingin(dirty). Ordered 2 sirloins very average, usually u can't go wrong with a steak,16.50 which is quite cheap to be honest but very basic and disappointing.staff were pleasant, tables were greasy tho, overall opinion run down and average at best!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed her overnight on business and I really can't fault it. Lovely room, staff friendly and welcoming - exactly what you want after a day at work. Breakfast service was quick. Happy to make whatever you would like and served with a smile. A great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finavon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finavon Hotel

Address: On A90, Forfar DD8 3QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Finavon Hotel Forfar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finavon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.