We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Street Tavern

Queen Street Tavern
45A Queen Street, Forfar, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 46 Restaurants in Forfar
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant is listed in the Phone Book, Tayside 2009/10. Phone No: 01307 462722.
edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfull !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just had a great meal in the queens tavern.
Staying in the area for the weekend & wanted some good food........ & boy did we get it!!
Portions were huge, gammon steak with ALL the trimmings & more!!
Macaroni cheese massive & very tasty. Inc 2 pints £ 20.00
Was quite quiet when we went in but had been busier when we walked past earlier.
Would certainly return when in the area again
Credit to the management &. Staff

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A nice quiet pub in Forfar that sells delicious meals, my favourite is the steak pie, cant beat it. Staff are friendly and you are made to feel very welcome, the restaurant is clean and prices are good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Discovered this wee place by accident when taking my new date out for a meal. The landlady was so cheery and helpful and the service was great. I had asked for an intimate wee corner and I got it. A romantic date with lovely ambience and the food was absolutely delicious.
Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent home-made food, great value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Visited Saturday tea-time with my partner. We both had rump steaks which were cooked perfectly to our liking, and lovely home-made deserts (clootie dumpling and peach & pineapple crumble). Waitress was very friendly and attentive. Cost very reasonable - only £42 for two courses each (inc steak!), drinks, and coffee (which was topped up for free).
I would thoroughly recommend Queen Street Tavern, and am looking forward to returning.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Another visit to the tavern and once again a lovely steak pie lunch.I have never had a disappointing lunchtime meal here yet! Waitress very good and the landlady is always cheery and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Street Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Queen Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.