We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fanastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel to your Saves list
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fanastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

i recently stayed at the links gold hotel in Carnoustie vis Hotel and spa breaks and found it to be one of the best hotels I ever been in. the room was amazing, clean had everything we needed. all the staff were great from waiting staff to the spa girls and the guys at the pool etc. I would love to go back as the stay just wasn't long enough and the views of the golf course and sea were beautiful. it was truly fanastic. nothing was too much trouble!

Room Tip: we asked if we could check out a little later and it was no bother so after breakfast we had a swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review.
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    253
    134
    80
    38
See reviews for
112
304
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I attended a wedding here a couple of weeks ago and can safely say i had an enjoyable night! The food was delightful, the service on the food was quick and hassle free and everything was in tip top condition! The drink was rather over priced but that was expected by reading other reviews! One notable high point, and i wouldn't usually single out a member of staff, was the young bartender who was working, if i can remember his name was calum! He was so helpful and had no problem mixing us up a cocktail even know the hotel itself doesn't have a cocktail menu, his overall friendliness made the night better! Would recommend, on my experience, to anyone looking at somewhere for a wedding reception to consider here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your kind comments.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Returned for a couple of nights stay for a midweek golfing break and had a great time. The hotel staff are so friendly and check in was smooth as usual. Room was clean and spacious with a sea view and plenty of shortbread biscuits to have with coffee, great stuff. Beds were very comfortable. Some of the bedroom furniture could be upgraded but this is really a minor observation, as was some slight dampness on the ceiling above the bath, but we were staying at the end of the season so maybe to be expected. My only other minor quibble would be that the ice machine in the corridor was very noisy(I'm sure there will be quieter ones on the market). Back to the good points, the spa is a great place to relax after a cold days golf, in the sauna, steam room, bubble pool and heated swimming pool, all excellent. The bars are good with reasonable drinks and food available. Breakfast was very good, at last a hotel who know how to make toast, this was the best we've had so far. I like the relaxed atmosphere in this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments which are much appreciated.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the end of October and the first thing I must say is that the staff were excellent. It must be a Carnoustie thing because everybody we seemed to meet on this trip were so welcoming. The facilities at this hotel are good - my kids really enjoyed the swimming pool and I don't need to say anything about the golf- if you play golf then a hotel on the 18th hole of a world championship course seems like heaven. There were a couple of downsides however. We had booked a family room - 2 adults and 2 children and we got a room with two double beds. Our kids, a boy and a girl, are just a bit too old for that arrangement now. The staff added a Z bed which then made space in the room very cramped and hard to navigate. The whole hotel is looking a little tired and in need of a make over and the bar prices must be by far the most expensive in the town. However overall a pleasant enough stay, made memorable by the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and your comments which I note.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Complained twice in an afternoon to reception about the inconsiderate family in the room above running around and sounding like thunder in our room.Asked same receptionist on 2 occasions if she had,as she said she would,ask the family above to be made aware of the impact on us.Afterall we went to this hotel,as we have done on many occasions,for a restful and quiet overnight stay.She said that she was unable to contact them and so an early awakening was a certainty at 06.30.
Unable to sleep due to additional noise caused by apparent drilling,scraping and banging until the very early hours.Rception unable to identify source of noise.
Refunded the cost of a drink each for a complete missed nights sleep as compensation.
Never again and reception were very in insincere in their apology.
Asked to be moved to another room as I knew there were vacant rooms but was refused
Hotel is under yet new management and bar menu limited with even more limited children's menu.

Sorry Carnoustie but never again!

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Disappointed that you did not have a relaxing stay.
I note each of your comments but puzzled by drilling etc as we did not have any work being carried out over this weekend when the hotel was fully booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANARKSHIRE
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked a deal for 2 nights stay at the hotel and were not disappointed. The hotel and room decor is average but what really makes this hotel is the staff. We upgraded to a golf view room and the views were stunning. Although they are all young, they know their role and are obviously well trained. What a pleasure to be served by professional staff. The hotel also has an excellent chef as the food was amazing. All in all, a fantastic stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your positive comments about our staff whcih have been shared with them.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent another very enjoyable weekend at this hotel.
We had a lovely suite, overlooking the golf course. It had a separate sitting area, complete with settee, dinning table, fridge and wet bar. It was a bit too chilly to sit out on the large balcony, but had great views.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, with a special mention for Morag.
We had dinner and breakfast, both of which were very nice and tasty.
I would have no hesitation returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments which are much appreciated and have been shared with the team - including Morag!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Address: The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.