We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dunhill Championship weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Carnoustie
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dunhill Championship weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel many times in the past, but this was our first visit since March 2012 (and since the hotel has become part of the "bespoke" chain). We came specifically for the Dunhill Links Championship and thoroughly enjoyed being so close to such a high profile event.

We had dinner in the hotel on both evenings and found the selection to be varied and imaginative, and very well presented. The staff in the bar & restaurant were all friendly and attentive and we never felt neglected despite the busyness of the restaurant.

The room we had was spacious and comfortable, with commanding views across the golf course - it was a wonderful bonus to be able to watch the golf from the comfort of our room!!

While we agree with a few of the comments from previous contributors about the overall "tired" appearance of some parts of the hotel, we understand that plans are being considered for upgrading, and we commend the management & staff for their forbearance.

Our thanks to Gordon MacKintosh (General Manager) for making our stay so enjoyable and we look forward to returning again sometime over the next few months.

Room Tip: Worth paying the upgrade for a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, much appreciated and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    198
    100
    64
    33
See reviews for
92
234
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

First time my family and I have stayed here. It was a 1 night stay before watching the Dunhill Links Golf the following day. Warm welcome from reception to begin. We booked a family room for 2ad 2ch it was huge! 2 king size beds and a comfy sitting area at the window with balcony looking into the practice putting green. Used the pool that night which was immaculate then had drinks in the lounge bar afterwards. Very friendly staff. Breakfast the following morning was amazing. Everything you need was hot and tasty and again a warm welcome when you entered the dining room. Even check out was pleasant. Very nice staff. Will definitely be back here with the family and highly recommended. Decor in the hotel was suited to the location and being on the first tee of the golf course. Great!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Carnoustie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Here for a family occasion not residential....I know it's a fancy hotel at a top Golf course but for the life of me I can't see why the prices are so high it's not that fancy...A nice enough entrance to the hotel but the bar is no different from other hotels...To charge £2.45 for a small bottle of Coke, £4.35 for a pint, I'm sorry absolutely no need, the meal was nice but again £10 for a plate of Chilli and Rice...no.... why do they do this, no plans to return.....shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Disappointed to read your comments, but believe our pricing structure is in line with our markets.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I could not agree more with mrralston. Ii have just returned from this apparent 4 star golf and spa hotel that I went to with my wife. On arrival we found that the spa bath was not operational and the pool was 21 degrees. Having only booked the break the evening before going I phoned my booking agents who knew nothing about any spa problems. The agent in return contacted the hotel to confirm what I had said and was offered an upgraded room. Having seen the upgraded room I would not like to have seen a standard room. The furnishings were appaling with torn seat marked walls and filthy skirting boards. we asked at reception regarding a residents lounge to be told there was not one and we had to use the Calders Bar. This place was shoddy at the best and certainly not fitting of a 4 star hotel. The seats were stained and ripped. The kick boards of the seats were badly damaged and one of the columns was obviously water damaged. I do have photographs of the aforementioned and will be sending them to the hotel owners, Scottish Tourist Board and also the Scottish PGA given that a prestigeous golf tournament is about to take place. This hotel is riding on the back of the golf course and does not put Scotland in a good light to foreign visitors. to be fair the evening meals was of a reasonable standard but poor ambience and to be charged for a coffee in our final bill was shocking given that my wife asked for a coffee in lieu of her sweet.I have already mentioned these poor standards to professional golfers who will in turn relay the message across the network. Like MrRalston I will not return to this establishment and perhaps OXFORD INNS should take cognisement of the poor reviews and act accordingly.

Room Tip: Just Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review.
As communicated direct, I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here through a hotel deal had a great room the staff in the bar are really friendly and helpful, reception didn't give us any info had to ask. Hotel needs a bit of work but staff make up for that. Food is great breakfast is also very good. They have an excellent park two minutes from the hotel that the kids loved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and your positive mention for our staff which we much appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Tacky. In total need of a complete refurbishment. Hard to believe a hotel based at a golf course costing £180 a round could be so poor. No fridge in the rooms. Half the lights in the room did not work. The full Scottish breakfast was enough for a 5 year old. Every part of it was in miniature or half the normal size. The fried egg was the only item not downsized but I guess you can’t make a ½ fried egg. Wont return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.
We are very disappointed to read your comments and apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occassion.
We have noted your points and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our receptionist failed to explain anything about the hotel except for breakfast times, we were allocated a room at the rear of the hotel which looked over the practice putting area and the 18th Hole, our room was right at the far end of the corridor you had to negotiate some very heavy fire doors, which could have done with some fire alarm release mechanism on them and have them open, the room was dated but quite pleasant.
We did not have an evening meal here, but we did have breakfast, this is one of the few breakfasts I have not eaten, the reason was it was not cooked properly.
I would stay here again, but would probably look at other places in the area unless the price was acceptable.
It is graded as a four star hotel, The only thing I can say about that, is that the Scottish tourist board must have a different rating to any other country, this was no more than two star quality.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear do have golf course views which are very nice, the rooms at the front overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post on your recent stay.
We where very disappointed to read your comments but we have taken these on board and have discussed with our kitchen team.
I hope we can welcome you back to Carnoustie in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Address: The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Hotel has 85 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. With guaranteed daily tee times on the Buddon, Burnside and Championship links, Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.