We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dull and in need of modernisation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel to your Saves list
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
Wirral
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A bit dull and in need of modernisation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a one night stay at this hotel. My room was good sized but pretty old fashioned, with old furniture. The room needed a lick of paint and the bathroom needed re-sealed. However, the room was clean and comfortable.
We decided not to have room service one night as there wasn't much choice. The breakfast was tasty and I loved the haggis.
The swimming pool and sauna were lovely but we struggled to get in as there's were lots of lane swimmers. We waited for a whole but have up!
In conclusion, a pleasant stay but could've been much better. This hotel is in the most beautiful location and I feel it wasn't grand enough for this.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and for your comments & observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    253
    134
    80
    38
See reviews for
112
304
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall happy enough with my stay BUT this hotel is not up to a 4 star hotel .First issue was that we could not eat in the restaurant as it was fully booked , we were not advised that this was the case until we arrived - would have been very disappointing if you were on a romantic break .Secondly , ate in the bar BUT there were no tables there either so had to wait .Staff were nice enough but nothing they could do to help .Breakfast was ok but we were put at a table that had previously been used , crumbs everywhere , fingerprint in the butter , plates missing , left waiting for tea and coffee whilst others were served ahead of us - eating at dirty table is not good .Finally , when we woke up in the morning I saw the room in daylight - there was dust everywhere - not just one days dust but weeks old I would have said .It could have been so nice but the attention to detail was so poor - if you are staying in Carnoustie this is probably the place to stay - BUT do not expect anything special , they are not up to it - I have stayed at Travelodges that were much better and a third of the price

Room Tip: The "park" rooms are actually a view of the carpark - OMG what a funny way to describe it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Note each of your comments and observations.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am not sure what hotel some of these guests stayed in but we found the food first class. Cooked Scottish breakfast has the finest ingredients and dinner was very good indeed. Perhaps the fruit at breakfast could have been better in range and freshness.

Most of the staff were very good and the young lady in the bar worked her heart out. We were very impressed by her.

Swimming pool was good and the gym quire well equipped if a little cramped.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.
PLeased that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were lucky to have 2 days at this hotel. The room overlooked the 1st tee and 18th fairway.
The room was superb and the facilities excellent. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food and service was excellent, The 2nd night was in the bar and again the food and service was great. We upgraded to the front room for a reasonable price and it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Pay the additional to upgrade to a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review.
PLeased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Worth reading on if you want honest information about the hotel. Booked a 2 night pamper relaxation weekend through 'easybreaks.com'. Driving towards the hotel with the scenic view was the best part of our whole trip, the location is impressive! However upon parking the car and walking into the hotel, disappointment had set straight in. We have travelled the country and have slept in 3 star & 4 star hotels and I can assure you this is not worthy of a 4 star hotel, it's 3 star, and I will back this up! They must get an extra star for location or something or having a golf course because no way the facilities are 4 star! Looks like the place has not been renovated since the golf championship in 1999. I am not a person who moans however my expectations were set high with the price I paid and the history of the hotel. Now for my facts - the hotel had a bit of an old smell going on, our room was clean however tired and outdated, not 4 star! The pool area had a good view onto the golf course however badly needing renovated, 19 canteen springs to mind and again not 4 star material. Had pub food a the bar on our first night, bar area again tired and outdated with seats all worn with holes etc, just not good enough for 4 star status! Our room faced the car park where the function room is and there was a wedding on. Music rocked until 12am with smokers ranting outside, not a relaxing atmosphere! After 12am for about an hour we listened to furniture down below us being dragged along the tiles and stacked, we then called reception and complained and it basically stopped. Room doors slamming closed as well, like staying in a travel inn! To top off the first night, we got a wake up call when not requested. Our treatment the following day was very good, no complaints there! 2nd night another wedding, another session of furniture being dragged around, another call to reception oh and another wake up call when not requested. So our relaxation expectations were crushed, we thought the location would have set the standard but the hotel let us down, faulty towers is what it should be called. We paid out good money for this trip and it was 4 star rates however we got 3 star service all round! How the hotel gets away with calling itself 4 star beats me, totally false! Yeah so the 1999 open was there, it's certainly not living up to that status now! Totally disappointed as we got no relaxation and our 4 star expectations we paid for, so basically we feel we have been ripped off. It was a wee treat so if I wanted to save money I would have booked a 3 star!

Room Tip: Stay away from function room area when weddings are on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations on this occassion, but note each of your comments & observations.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent two nights here whilst attending a friends wedding. Being a four star hotel we were expecting something pretty nice.... However, most of the premier inns I have stayed in were nicer, at a fraction of the cost. To start with, the corridors and doors etc all have chips and scuffs. The carpet in the room had thread bare patches. There was mold on the grout, ceiling and lights in the bathroom, tons of dust on all fittings. Corners and fixtures in the bathroom were dirty. Nothing about the room screamed luxury. We had requested a cot for our 8 month old- we were provided with a travel cot missing the mattress with just the hard base and despite asking were never given one. Lucky for us we are used to sleeping with our little one in the bed with us.
Even the tea tray was a pretty rubbish and cheap selection. The breakfast was also not 5 star. The first day, they rushed us to place our cooked order, then brought it and plonked it down as were were still eating cereals, the second day we waited over half an hour for a cooked breakfast. Wasn't worth the wait either- egg was undercooked, 1 sausage (seemed to be budget range- couldn't eat it), 1 bacon- you would get better in a roadside cafe.

The one complement I have to give though, is that the wedding itself was great- the venue part of the hotel was really good, the wedding ran really smoothly, from the ceremony out on the veranda to the reception in the hall. Can't fault the hotel on any off that part- was an excellent wedding venue.

However, as a hotel- avoid! Am sure it is surviving solely on it's golfing status!

Room Tip: Ask for one without mold that has been cleaned properly.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

DAY 5, 6 & 7 OF MY SCOTTISH TOUR

Contrary to what many have written about this hotel we thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay in Carnoustie.

We arrived early evening following a night of Glamping in the Highlands and took in Elgin, Keith, Aberdeen, Montrose and Arbroath on our way down to Carnoustie for our 'luxury' stop on this Scottish tour.

The welcome on arrival was friendly and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The bed was great, plenty of storage space available and the wide-screen TV offered freeview. The bathroom was large with a bath/shower available and complimentary toiletries to use.

Our deal was booked through Avios/Superbreaks and include a three-course meal on the first night which was completely divine. It was served in the same dining room as breakfast which offers a buffet for cereal, yoghurts, fruit, cheese and cold meats, while a menu is provided for you to order a cooked breakfast and hot drinks.

The morning after arriving we drove the short distance to St Andrew's - a MUST visit if you're staying in Carnoustie - and on the way back we stopped in Dundee which wasn't as nice but convenient to have a city just 15 minutes from the hotel.

If you love your sport then having the chance to walk around the world famous Carnoustie course - home to the Open Championship as recently has 2007 - is fantastic. You are also able to make use of the gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna on site so make sure you don't forget your gear!

A stunning base for exploring the east side of Scotland if you can get a good deal and a hotel we would definitely like to stay at again.

If you have any questions about this hotel please don't hesitate to send me a message or Tweet me @ows87

Room Tip: Ask if possible to have a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review.
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Address: The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.