We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 3 star or 4 star or 5 star but good...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel to your Saves list
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not 3 star or 4 star or 5 star but good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Trying to write a review of this hotel is difficult- the hotel itself is not inspirational but the view out overlooking the North Sea is! For golf lovers, the location is spot on. This is not a 5 star hotel but the rooms are spacious (no safe though!) and the shower is probably the best anywhere.The restaurant is far from Michelin Starred but the food is good and service friendly. The spa is tired but does the job. Would I stay here again. Yes 100%. Negatives- none. We've possibly become too spoilt reading about luxury hotels and ego golf courses which are rubbish. This is a good hotel with an unbelievably great golf course in a great country 1hr from London.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your very considered review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    253
    134
    80
    38
See reviews for
112
304
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here this week, 22nd April, and considering its a 4 star PGA course hotel, I was bitterly disappointed, the room cleanliness was severely lacking, on a morning I was woke up at 6am by ground staff using a still saw outside. Surely this work could wait till 10am!!!! Also on an evening there was a lot of kids on bikes, shouting and generally using foul language up till 10pm with no staff moving them on. Poor stay, bad experience, avoid

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your response.
Very disappointed to read your comments regarding your bedroom which I note.
Your early morning disturbance was not anything to do with the Carnoustie Golf Hotel, but I suspect greenkeepers on the Carnoustie Championship Links, which is a completely separate business from the Hotel, carrying out their early morning maintenance and grass cutting.
Once again, kids on bikes, off our property, is not a regular problem we encounter and not something we have direct control over, although had you brought it to our attention at the time we would have responded to the best of our ability.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

first class hotel overlooking the links course at Carnoustie. Friendly staff, nice rooms, good quality food, nice leisure facilities. recently taken over by the Bespoke Hotel Group. Good value for money break

Room Tip: ask for a links view if possible away from the car park at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments, much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Thought I would treat myself and my mum to a day using the leisure facilities followed by a few beauty treatments.

The standard of the leisure facilities was shocking! The whole pool area was a disgrace. From broken tiles and dirt in the steam room to a broken door in the sauna, bird excrement on the poolside loungers and mouldy tiled areas throughout.

Actually felt dirty leaving the pool area and therefore did not have the relaxing enjoyable experience I was looking forward to.

Thankfully the girls in the treatment rooms were very nice and good at their jobs which partly saved the day.

Complained to 'the reception manager' who told us he would inform the 'leisure manager' of our concerns, which was little consolation to us!

Take a full body suit if you are feeling brave enough to enter the pool area or at least a jet hose, rubber gloves and a gallon of bleach....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Very disppointed and surprised in your comments regarding our Leisure Club, none of which we recognise and all of which we consier inaccurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights golf trip. Although the stay was pleasant and the staff very friendly and helpful I did not have a four star experience but by the same token did not pay a four star price.
The room did not have a fridge or a room-safe. The food at breakfast was good. Dinner was acceptable but served on cool plates. The time taken to serve dinner was too long and the serving staff were having to take complaints for something that was clearly not their fault.
The spa facilities were good.

Room Tip: State if it is important that you have a golf course view as the alternative is a view of the car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
I note each of your comments and apologise that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occassion.
For future note, we do provide a safe box facility at reception.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just back from a two night stay and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. I have to comment on how nice all the staff were, every single member of staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, not one grumpy person which is really quite an achievement I think.

We ate in the hotel on the first night and apart from my first choice not being available, the food was really tasty and very generous portions. Breakfast both mornings was very tasty too.

If you are looking for a nice chilled out relaxing break then I would definitely recommend a couple of nights here - was just what the doctor ordered in terms of r and r!

Room Tip: I didn't think to request a golf course view room this time, but will definitely request one nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and delighted that you enjoyed a relaxing break with us.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a special family occasion. Very warm, friendly and attentive welcome. Staff throughout our stay were very good. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The food was gorgeous and definitely reflective of 4 star quality.
What let the hotel down was the fact it is in urgent need of refurbishment. The decor is tired throughout the hotel and rooms. I spent some time in the gym and the carpet was particularly stained. Just not what you expect from this standard of hotel, especially when paying 4 star prices.
It's a shame because if it was fixed this would be a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive and constructive comments, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Address: The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.