We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel to your Saves list
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spa disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

3 colleagues and I booked a spa day here last week and it was very disappointing. I definitely would not recommend. The changing room was like a school changing room and freezing! Led into a dark room,which might have been pleasant after the treatment but was the only place to sit. Only drinks were tap water,no snacks,fruit or hot drinks and when I asked for coffee I was told I would have to go through the hotel,in my robe,to get it from the bar! I asked at reception and they arranged so I am very puzzled why the spa staff could not have ordered for me. Lunch was at a sticky table in the bar and took 2 hours to serve, and the menu given to us was not the one the chef had and so meals were not what we ordered. Not a relaxing pampering session and not a cheap day despite the cheap experience. As a top golf hotel I think you can do much better Carnoustie.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations.
I am very disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction and do assure you that your experiences are not typical.
If you would like to contact me direct I will be pleased to discuss your comments in more detail.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    222
    111
    69
    35
See reviews for
98
265
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited on a golf package to stay for two nights and play all three golf courses available including the Carnoustie Championship course.The hotel is perfectly positioned so thet once you have parked,you won't have to drive again till you leave,which I found great.Good service on arrival,an earlier than most hotel's check-in started us off well.A traditionally rather than modern decorated hotel with plenty of golf memorabilia to interest players.Rooms were clean and well maintained,though could do with some finishing touch up work to really bring it up to 5* standard.The breakfast in the restaurant was excellent and all staff were very helpful and professional.A nice spa with a good pool,steam room,sauna and hot tub pool,all of which were perfect for tired and cold limbs after golf.Good bar facilities which again needs probably a spruce up of some of the furniture to take it up a notch.But a terrific place to come and stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view,ask for golf course side.There are also suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments from your golfing stay.
Pleased that the Spa & Bar managed to revive you after what would have been challenging golfing conditions.
Hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangemouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights B/B basis through Classic Britain on Monday 4th and Tuesday 5th march. There were 5 of us and all 3 rooms faced the golf course.-lovely. The rooms were lovely and staff, breakfast and food in the bar at n ight were excellent.. Could not fault any of the staff.
We would definately come back again.!!!! great few days away!!!!.
Also there is an Ice Machine on each floor and the rooms supplied ice buckets!!!!¬

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments.
We are delighted you all enjoyed your visit and have shared your comments with the team.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocklington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stopped here at the last minute as Montrose fully booked. Got here just as light fading (dusk) but you could see it was special.
Great welcome on arrival easy booking in with free wi-fi. Rooms clean and fresh but limited sockets for laptop but manageable. Views across the course impressive.
Not a golf player but would consider coming back as a lovely location with all the trappings and I don't mean bunkers!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I do hope we can tempt you south from Montrose the next time you are in the area.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've visited this hotel three times, the weather has never been great. I've had ice, snow and storm force winds. However, I've always managed some great walks along the coastal route and the bracing weather seems to make it even more enjoyable!

The hotel is well equipped, nice pool, restaurant and bar with friendly staff. It all needs a bit of a facelift, but then most hotels do.

Visit in winter and get some great rates for B&B and enjoy a wee walk along the coast, it's guaranteed to lift your spirits!

Room Tip: Ask for one with view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your positive comments not just about our hotel, but about the Angus weather too!
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Upon arrival we found there wasn't exactly a warm welcome, in fact it was rather cool and abrupt, certainly not informative. Unfortunately the room let the hotel down for me, there was black mould in the grouting of the tiles and around the bath and the pine cupboard fronts very tatty. The bed was so soft it didn't make for a good nights sleep! The bedding was rather thin and tired too! On the positive side the receptionist on our departure was friendly and most helpful, perhaps she could teach the young male receptionist how to treat visitors and welcome them. I feel that this hotel rests on it's laurels and in these economic times really cannot afford to do so.

Room Tip: If a view is important then avoid rooms that overlook the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations.
We are disppointed that we didn't meet your expecations on this occassion but do assure you that we want all our guests to enjoy their experience of the Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, and we do try hard to make sure that is the case.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous stay in a lovely hotel with very helpful polite staff. Only negative was the spa being fully booked so might be an idea for the hotel to send brochures in advance to customers and ask them to book. There was a little mould on the bath seal, but otherwise would definitely stay again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and note your comment re helping guests book spa treatments in advance, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Address: The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Hotel has 85 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. With guaranteed daily tee times on the Buddon, Burnside and Championship links, Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.