We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty cakes and lovely staff ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FRANCO'S CAFE

FRANCO'S CAFE
1B HIGH STREET, Carnoustie DD7 6AN, Scotland
01241 854407
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Carnoustie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: LOCAL BISTRO JUST OPENED VERY NICE, GREAT FOOD, REASONABLY PRICED, AND VERY NICE FAMILY RUN BUSINESS, WELL WORTH A VISIT, SMALL NICE SETTING AND THE SWEETS ARE AMAZING, AS IS THE FOOD
Scotland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Tasty cakes and lovely staff ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were visiting Carnoustie today and walked the full length of the main road and got to this lovely, inviting little café. We were seated and given menus and also faced a fridge section full of beautiful cakes and baking. We ordered coffee and tea, and something sweet. Suffice to say everything was delicious. The coffee was delicious filter coffee and hubby says the tea was good too. The cheesecakes are made in store, fresh and absolutely delicious.
The staff were very pleasant and friendly, and looked happy!!! So important in a job like this.
Thank you for making us feel welcome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited Franco's Cafe after reading the reviews on here. We live a 15 minute drive away and always looking for new coffee stops. As soon as we walked into the Cafe our eyes were drawn to the fantastic range of tray bakes, cakes, cheesecakes and scones displayed at the counter. We were quickly served and both had the mini cooked breakfast which was excellent- would have loved a slightly better quality sausage but other than that no complaints. What about the coffee?- We both had americanos - one had no crema at all but the other did. The coffee was good but not outstanding which was a bit disappointing. I am fussy about coffee though. My other half had room for cake and couldn't resist a piece of the amazing looking cheesecakes. After his first mouthful a huge smile appeared on his face and not a crumb was left on the plate!! Service for the most part was excellent, one of the waitresses didn't make any eye contact and a little smile would have been nice but everyone else was friendly. It is great to have somewhere like this open on a Sunday and we saw a table reserved which is always helpful to be able to reserve in a cafe at times. We will definitely be visiting again and would recommend others give it a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, lovely coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I regularly stop off here with my family for a coffee and a cake. Staff are always very friendly, fantastic cup of coffee and the cakes are simply delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Coffee and cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stopped in past for a quick coffee and cake that ended up taking almost two hours; not because teh service was slow, far from it. The servioces was good and teh cakes (cheesecake in particular) were so exceptional we just had to keep going back for another piece. If you are looking for someplace to stop for a coffee or quick meal and you're within an hours drive of carnoustie, wait and go here, it's worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

good food and service we popped in for afternoon tea the place was clean and popular with the locals

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FRANCO'S CAFE also viewed

 

Been to FRANCO'S CAFE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FRANCO'S CAFE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.