We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing experience . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Linksview Guest House Carnoustie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Linksview Guest House Carnoustie to your Saves list
Linksview Guest House Carnoustie
16 Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Carnoustie B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A family event in Scotland led to us returning "home" and staying at this venue.

The good points:

It was very clean, and though the breakfast was no more than average, it was sufficient.

The issues:

Driving from England to Scotland, is a long old slog. We could have done without the pestering phone calls, enquiring as to what time we'd be arriving.

Though it was a weekend, breakfast time was written in stone. This was a first for both of us - neither of us having previously stayed at a B & B where the guests are told at what time they are to be in the dining area for breakfast. A little leeway, a bit of a choice - "between this time and that time" - would have made all the difference.

However, my biggest grumble is the rude, irate attitude displayed by the guest house owner on the morning of our departure.

Apparently, our hosts had a family gathering to attend latter that day - and quite clearly, that morning he could have done without the inconvenience of vacating guests being in attendance.

We didn't need reminding me at what time we were to vacate the premises (particularly annoying as immediately prior to being castigated, I had just returned from a visit to the cash point, presuming the owners would appreciate cash payment).

Overall, a disappointing experience that soured an otherwise, super family gathering.

I would not recommend the venue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linksview, Owner at Linksview Guest House Carnoustie, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are surprised at your comments, especially coming 10 months after your stay in July 2012.

To address your points:
Unlike hotels, most B&Bs do not have 24 hour reception, and most appreciate having at least some idea of when guests may arrive so that they can fit in a meal for example. Most guests are happy to give a general indication or say they are unable to.

Since opening in 2011 we have never had a "fixed time" for breakfast. All guests are informed at registration time that breakfast is served between 7.30 and 8.45 and it is their choice as to when to come down within that time frame. Breakfast times are also on our website as well as in the room information foders.

Regarding departure times, this too is indicated, as is normal, both at the time of booking and at the time of stay. Our check-out time is 10:30. I recall reminding you of this at 10:45 after your visit to the cash machine. I also recall that you did not vacate your room until 11:15. New guests are arriving each day and quite rightly expect to find the house and bedrooms prepared to high standards. The check-out time allows us to achieve this.

Our payment methods are on the website and also indicated at registration time. We have no preference for cash and thank all our guests for their payments.

I am sorry if our breakfast times and check-out arrangements did not suit you, and would always recommend travellers to check the policies and other facilities of accommodations at the time of booking to make sure that they meet their needs. If in doubt, they can always contact the owners to get any clarifications or discuss special needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for our golf vacation. The room was clean, the food was great, and the view from our room of the 18th fairway at Carnoustie was spectacular. However, it was Phil and June's hospitality that really made this B&B stand out. Phil coordinated all of our golf on our behalf over six months before our arrival. He also has a room for golf club storage that make it easy to dry everything if/when you play in the rain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linksview, Owner at Linksview Guest House Carnoustie, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Nicholas and Stephen.
Thank you not only for taking the trouble to post a very positive review but also for choosing to take up one of our golf/accommodation packages.
It was a pleasure to have such considerate guests staying with us and we are glad your trip and golf went smoothly. There are always more courses to play you know!

Enjoy your summer back home and best wishes to you both.
Phil and June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at Linksview for three nights at the end of March while on a golf trip to Scotland. First off, let me say that the location is perfect if you want to play Carnoustie Golf Links...right across the street from the 18th fairway. I shared a room with a colleague (two single beds) and it was comfortable with all of the amenities you would expect from a Scottish B&B. Beds were comfortable, room was of a good size (not THAT large though) and the bath was excellent with good water pressure. Breakfast was hearty and well situated, in a room overlooking the golf course. Internet service was excellent and there were plenty of electrical outlets (important in this day of electronics). All in all, an excellent B&B.

But wait, there's more! In setting up my golf trip, I was in constant contact with Phil, the proprietor, who was VERY helpful in booking tee times and finding out about golf. Considering the time difference, it was great to have him make the calls locally and establish the bookings. We paid for our green fees through Phil, so that made it even more simple. Phil was understanding of our needs and was very accessible. When we arrived, it was as if Phil and June (our hosts) were old friends.

Now, a bit about Carnoustie. The town is not exactly brimming with the nightlife of a major metropolis (or even St. Andrews). There are a handful of restaurants and not extensive shopping. The best thing is that the town is an excellent base of operations if you want to do a day trip to Aberdeen (we played Cruden Bay) about two hours north. As mentioned, Carnoustie Championship is across the street, Carnoustie Burnside is down the street and you can find some additional great golf at Montrose Medal (twenty minutes north) and Panmure (five minutes away in Barry) so if you want to plan a few rounds in the area, Linksview is perfect.

A couple things to note. The Linksview does not have any kind of common room to hang out in when not in your room. They do have a room to store golf clubs or dry your gear. Parking is easy and accessible (on street or in a lot across the street). As mentioned, Carnoustie is not an epicurean paradise....we dined at the Carnoustie Hotel and that was fine, stopped at the local pizzeria (standard) and had a fine lunch at a place called Franco's.

At any rate, if you are a golfer, you can't go wrong with the Linksview Guest House. On the cost side, the room tariff was extremely fair for the season. One word of warning...the last four holes at Carnoustie are brutally difficult. They don't call it Carnasty without reason!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend in Carnoustie. We looked at several B&B's / hotels but were drawn to Linksview Guest House because of the excellent reviews - we were a bit sceptical about the "Exceptional 10" score but oh - was it so well deserved. Phil and June make you feel so welcome and by the time you leave you fell as though you have known them forever. Everything from location, to decor and Phil's cooking/baking were first class. What a view we had right over Carnoustie Golf Course. The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up but the smell of breakfast was just too enticing to ignore - and tasty it was too with a brilliant choice available. Looking forward to our next visit already.

Room Tip: I don't think there is anything but "good" rooms at this guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linksview, Owner at Linksview Guest House Carnoustie, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello both. Just wanted to let you know that we really appreciate you taking the time to give us a review - and such a positive one too. We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend away.

Having such friendly and considerate guests like you reminds us of what we enjoy about running this place and gives us a boost at the start of another busy "season".

We know that many people are a little unsure of what they will find when staying at a place that is new to them, and we are just the same. However, we find that our guests soon relax and feel quite comfortable here. Cleanliness and helpfullness are two basics that everyone is entitled to.

Have a good summer down Glasgow way and you are very welcome back in Carnoustie anytime.
Phil and June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have just stayed here for my Husbands 40th all I can say is don't book anywhere else book here you wont be disappointed. June and Phil are the perfect hosts very helpful and attentive.

The house is just lovely and the views in my husbands words to die for, overlooking the Carnoustie Championship Course. The breakfast is wonderful and set us up for the day

My husband played golf on the Sunday and I used the spa facilities at the local golf hotel, the treatment was wonderful and spa area is beautiful, unfortunately the pool was not of a 4 star hotel standard and some parts of the hotel could do with a refurbishment.

I will definitely be recommending the Linksview Guest House to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linksview, Owner at Linksview Guest House Carnoustie, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the generous review. It was a pleasure to have you both here for a couple of days. Pity we could not match the view with great weather. We hope to see you again whether for golf or just a weekend away. Phil and June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of October to coincide with the Dunhill Links, and the World Hickory Open. The location is magnificent, overlooking the 18th fairway of the Championship Course. Phil and June were very hospitable. The rooms were clean and up market with comfortable beds, good furniture and contemporary bathrooms, with excellent complimentary toiletries. We stayed in the room at the front upstairs, and the wifi reception in there was very good.

The breakfasts had good variety and the food and service were excellent (recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs).

My wife took advantage of the discount spa offer at the nearby Golf hotel, which was a nice bonus.

All in all, we had an excellent 5 night stay, and would definitely return should we visit the Carnoustie area again. Highly recommended ;o)

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linksview, Owner at Linksview Guest House Carnoustie, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks a lot Geoff
It was a great week at Linksview with being busy for the Dunhill tournament and also the World Hickory championships. We were blessed with good guests and good weather. All the best with your newly married life.
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moenchengladbach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just come back from our trip to Carnoustie, where we stayed for three nights. We highly recommend Linksview Guest House for its 4* rooms and the excellent and delicious breakfast. We really felt at ease there which is due to the warm and friendly atmosphere in the house. June and Phil are great hosts, always helpful in many ways. Thank you to both of you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Linksview Guest House Carnoustie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linksview Guest House Carnoustie

Address: 16 Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect B&B in Carnoustie adjacent to the 18th fairway of Carnoustie championship golf course just 10 metres from the front door. The only Bed and Brealfast adjacent to the golf course.This B&B has just 4 stylish ensuite rooms that can be configured as two single beds (twin) or with one superkingsize double bed. Deluxe quality accommodation with all rooms having modern en-suite facilities.Golf equipment storage facilities. Golf trolley hire. Secure under cover cycle storage.Free WiFi and Parking. 100% cotton towels and linen. Hospitality trays. Hairdryer. Complimentary toiletries. Flat screen TV/Radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Linksview Guest House Carnoustie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linksview Guest House Carnoustie Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linksview Guest House Carnoustie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.