We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of But 'n' Ben

But 'n' Ben
Auchmithie, Arbroath DD11 5SQ, Scotland
01241 877223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Arbroath
Price range: $50 - $198
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
dundee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Small family run restaurant with emphasis on Scottish fayre especially fish and seafood.
The smokie pancake is delicious. The sweet trolley is a sight to behold, not for the weak willed!
I've been here on many occaisions over the years and have always had great food and service

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    33
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broughty Ferry
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Disinterested Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We called today looking for coffee and found the restaurant fairly busy with a private function.
The young lady who met us at the door was very pleasant and when we explained we were not looking for a full meal she said she would have to check to see if they could give us coffee. There were free tables at the opposite end of the restaurant from where the function was taking place. The lady owner came forward and confirmed it would not be possible to accommodate us with coffee due to the private function. This is a place we have frequented regularly over the years and we feel sure that the original Mr & Mrs Horne would not have turned us away in these circumstances. We won't rush back! Headed off in to Arbroath to search out another coffee shop and were made most welcome in Webmors where all staff could not have been more pleasant and where we enjoyed delicious coffee and scones.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yuk!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

How disappointing!!
Maybe one must be a local to appreciate this place. Food was bland and underwhelming and the waitress rude and inefficient. If you are a foodie you should avoid this one.

Our tabel was so close to the next one that we were afraid to talk

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I have, this month has lunch with two separate friends on two occasions. The food was, as always, excellent, with a good choice of freshly prepared, well cooked and extremely tasty food. The staff are lovely, the restaurant cosy with the added benefit of a lovely coal fire. Too many restaurants in and around Dundee are cold; not the But n Ben. The food is extremely good value and so too is the wine. The ambiance is excellent. We just hope this restaurant does not change its winning formula.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We have found a new local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had lunch today at the But and Ben. Fantastic! Enjoyed the quality fresh food and the scrummy Puds ( lemon cheesecake, coffee and walnut cake and banoffi) . Lovely traditional values and expeptionally nice staff. We live in Perthshire but may make this our new local!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed But 'n' Ben also viewed

Arbroath, Angus
Inverkeilor, Arbroath
 

Been to But 'n' Ben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage But 'n' Ben, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.