We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and LOVELY food, and very pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swallow Waterside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swallow Waterside Inn to your Saves list
Swallow Waterside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fraserburgh Road, Peterhead AB42 3BN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Peterhead
Glasgow
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Clean room and LOVELY food, and very pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent three pleasant days in the "Lodge"annex whilst touring the area by coach
The room was clean, comfortable with a great shower, clean towels each day along with a freshen-up service from Housekeeping. The TV has a limited amount of channels on Skye.
The Hotel has a Leisure center and pool, and whilst we did not have time to use it(!) it looked great.

We found the food to be of a very high standard, especially dinner, Large portions (if you want it) very well presented and a good choice from the menu. The staff in the dining room were excellent and worked so hard and fast,

My final comment is that either the place has radically changed since some of the other reviews were written or I and many of the others I was with are all easier to please!
Try it and see.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    60
    68
    62
See reviews for
41
69
8
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was very limited of what was a available but this place is not the greatest by any means. My room is cleanish, the bathroom needs a lot of attention. The whole place is very outdated and needs a refurb.

The saving grace for the place is the food and beer is good. I ate in the Muse Bar on an evening which was showing UCL Football on a bog screen. It seem full of a lot of Oil & Gas Contractors which is ok with me but others might not like so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in serious need of modernisation. Rooms are really dated, 4 channels on very old tv. The shower didn't work properly and the furniture was quite shabby. I really would expect more for £85 a night! Glad my company was paying and not me!!
I couldn't fault the staff though, and the food, whilst a bit pricey was quite decent- and the portions were big too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed two nights in mid April and really enjoyed the two days but it was the staff that made it work. Really needs upgrading but it was clean, food was very good and staff very helpful. They were short staffed all the time and worked really hard ...so its really management that needs to sort out the problems.
We booked a meal for 7pm and arrived at 7pm but it was 7.50 before our order was taken. This was because a bus party of 46 had to be served while no service was given to other guests for 35minutes! Our 3 course meal took 2 hrs 15 minutes!!
Having said that the package was £60 per night for dinner bed and breakfast - a real bargain.
Having stayed in hotels all over Europe from 2 star to 5+ star this was very good value for money.
The gaffer tape all over the place used to hold carpets together was ridiculous. If they cannot afford a new carpet then they could take a section of carpet up somewhere - replace it and use the the old carpet to patch the places where they used gaffer tape. I am sure some carpet fitter could do a better job with patches than the gaffer tape does.
I feel sorry for the staff who work really hard despite what they have to work with

Room Tip: I asked for a larger twin room and got a room with a double bed and a single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff are very friendly when they are although they are getting used to new systems and ways then very publicly condemning them. The hotel is very tired and dated I hope the new owners dig deep and invest to improve things quickly. The bar stocks are low and most drinks have ran out! But breakfast was good. I won't be in a hurry to return until I read things have very much improved!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here on a 4 day coach tour of N.East Scotland.It's in a secluded area with the river behind it. The foyer and public areas look good with new carpets and we enjoyed the glowing fire in the grand fireplace. We were in the annex, handy for boarding our coach. We had two rooms. Our room was clean, with basic furniture, a fast shower and bath, but only one bath towel.The staff was friendly and helpful.The Health Centre and swimming pool were well used by guests and we had drinks in the cosy cocktail lounge. Good bar service. Breakfast, self service, had plenty of choice.Dinners are delicious.Starters and desserts were works of art.The manager of the dining room even asked the chef for an extra portion ,for my husband when his food choice ran out. The dining room staff worked hard to quickly serve our large party.I would return to this hotel for the food alone. My grandson travelling with us, said he would too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for three nights in the Waterside and whilst the room was okay, although a freshen-up would help, the old fashioned TV struggled to work.
Breakfast, although fairly adequate, was not the best I have come across. There seemed to be only one waitress on duty most of the time and she struggled to maintain the demands for tea, coffee etc., and, it must be said, she did a sterling job! The hotel was fairly busy and there were some times the buffet did run out and large queues formed which did not help the ambielnce of the restaurant.
Overall a fairly reasonable hotel which could do with a bit of a freshening up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swallow Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Waterside Inn

Address: Fraserburgh Road, Peterhead AB42 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Waterside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swallow Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Waterside Hotel Peterhead
Waterside Inn Peterhead
Swallow Waterside Peterhead
Swallow Waterside Inn Peterhead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallow Waterside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.