We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton House Hotel

Clifton House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Peterhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifton House Hotel
Save Saved
You added Clifton House Hotel to your Saves list
96 Queen Street, Peterhead AB42 1TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Peterhead
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

stayed here for one night as i was playing music close by doesnt look to inviting from the outside but dont let that put you off room was superb nice and clean large and all mod cons breakfast was great will defo recomend and use again if am in the area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
9
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My company used an agency who booked this hotel for me at short notice, on pulling up in the car i was concerned that it was going to be quite dated and very basic...! All i can say was i had a complete change of heart as soon as the owner opened the door for me.
This hotel is kept imaculate by Drew and Carol (the owners) and their team, the rooms are large and very well appointed, the bed i had was very comfortable. The home made evening meal was fantastic.
Drew and Carol where very welcoming and great company at the evening meal.
I would highly recommend this hotel over the others i have stayed in in Peterhead any time.

i am using my fiances tripadvisor account to write this review as i do not have one, however if i had i would have probably written more.

David Ross (Sabre Safety)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Good location close to the centre of town. Parking is a bit hit or miss, there is an enclosed courtyard but can only take three or four cars. Rooms are very good, beds are comfy and warm. Breakfast is cooked to order.
No evening meals are served, but is only a 5 min walk from many restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackpoolEngland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went to Peterhead for the first time to go for a funeral and sort out an estate.Made very welcome from day one.Great downstairs room next to the front door so we didn't disturb anyone when returning at night.Breakfast was great every morning with lots of choice.Everyone was very helpful giving us directions to all the places we had to visit.Car parking at the rear of the hotel,where we could leave the car and walk into town.We would recommend the hotel for any stay business or pleasure

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Fantastic big room. Comfy bed. Free wifi not too bad. Noisy dining room beneath. Didn't like the dog poo on pavement by front gate. Quite a bit of traffic noise. Good breakfast. Not cheap in terms of price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed 4 days at the Clifton House Hotel Peterhead recently and was very pleased with the accommodation. Booked a single room which was en-suite and was very comfortable and a good size. Tea and coffee facilities was available plus a fridge which I thought was very helpful. The cooked breakfast was excellent and there was a good choice of cereal and yogurts. Only a five minute walk into town and parking was available round the back of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone on holiday or on a business trip to Peterhead.

Room Tip: Hotel on 3 floors with a grand staircase so if mobility a problem ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here with family whilst being in Peterhead for a family Christening. The staff we very hospitable with every need we had! Beautiful room, lovely breakfast, good price! Will definitely stay again next time were up visiting the family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House Hotel

Address: 96 Queen Street, Peterhead AB42 1TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Peterhead
Also Known As:
Clifton House Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.