We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about Fraserburghs Past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraserburgh Heritage Centre

Fraserburgh Heritage Centre
Quarry Road, Fraserburgh AB43 9DT, Scotland
013465 12888
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Lonmay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All about Fraserburghs Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is the place to go to find out about the history and heritage of Fraserburgh. Did you know that John Glover who founded the Mitsubishi Corporation in Japan was born in Fraserburgh? Did you know that Guglielmo Marconi conducted Scotland’s earliest radio experiments here in Fraserburgh? This is a fancinating little museum with lots of suprises

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We made two visits to the Heritage Centre on consecutive days with residents from our Care Home.
They all had a good time with the volunteers of the centre going out of their way to be very helpful to our residents and with their understanding of the exhibits.

This is the second time we have made such visits and would highly recommend it to groups and and individuals alike. We hope to back in the future.

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must see!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A thoroughly interesting and enjoyable look back at the history of Fraserburgh! It's very popular with the residents from my work who always enjoy reminiscing about the old days and also interesting for the younger generation to see how life was back in those days!!
The staff were very informative and pleasant aswell and even opened the centre up early especially for us!!
If you are passing through Fraserburgh then this is a must!!

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a first visit, and I was amazed not only by the quantity and quality of the exhibits, but also the imaginative way they were displayed - someone obviously has a real flair for making the most of everything which larger, better funded (and stuffier!) museums could learn a lot from. Although a lot of the hands-on displays are geared at kids, they were great fun for this adult too! The staff were also exceptionally helpful with a couple of local information queries I had. I am a professional Blue Badge tourist guide and this was a "recce" for a tour with some visitors, so I will be back very soon! You could easily spend a whole day here, although I noticed the kids were in and out quite quickly!

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Lost Way of Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is all about Fraserburgh in the last 150 years.The Centre has a full range of every kind of employment and day to day living under one roof. There are pictures and newspapers covering one hundred and fifty years of town activity, visits and social events are well documented. Anything that happened, has a display, trades of every kind showing how prosperous the town had been in the heyday of the fishing industry.

The building is not large but the information available is vast. Expect to spend a good few hours just to find out what's there. Then return visits to fill in all the interesting bits you missed the first time.

Visited August 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fraserburgh Heritage Centre also viewed

Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Fyvie, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Fraserburgh Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraserburgh Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.