We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to find but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lastbus Works Canteen

Lastbus Works Canteen
The Quarry | New Pitsligo, Fraserburgh, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Fraserburgh
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“hard to find but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great unusual place with fantastic scenery very friendly helpful cant complain about the vegan food and us being committed carnivores. We have heard some very good live music there as well. Well worth visiting been at least 10 times

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I found this place via the trip adviser website and was excited to find it was vegan. I emailed them to see if they could possibly, at short notice ( a week), make me a large vegan chocolate cake for my wedding. Mike and Jessica were so very helpful, quick to reply and I have to say the cake was SO delicious it put our non-vegan shop bought cake to shame. Everyone preferred the vegan cake. Great surroundings and very friendly staff. A huge thanks - you guys really made our day special for our vegan guests from Norfolk.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Although we are not vegetarians, we thoroughly enjoyed our sweet potato wraps with sauté potatoes and salad. Delicious! Fantastically quirky, very friendly owners, great music. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“More than the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This unique establishment demonstrates the owner's free creativity in the design and construction - and no less in the decoration with something of interest everywhere one looks. The location, in an open grassy patch with wonderful open views, is unique and I wonder if it may be necessary to get a visit in before the trees grow some more and hide the view. No doubt there's a plan to deal with that. Having coped with the initiative test to find the restaurant (our first visit) we had time to talk with the slightly alternatively dressed lady who welcomed us very warmly and explained the choices open to us. As more diners arrived it was good to see how the kitchen (in full view) continued to prepare all orders afresh and coped admirably with the pressure. We found all the food delightful, although we are not vegetarian, and the fruit salad and ice cream topped the lunch off perfectly. The fruit salad, all fresh and largely local, was very generous and the ice cream excellent. Finally the coffee too was first class. It was a unique and uniquely enjoyable, visit in all its aspects - food, environment, warm and efficient staff, - what more need one say!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pancake & Panacea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place serves beautiful food & an atmosphere that heals the soul, the very fact that it exists is the perfect antidote to the Starbucks/Costa/Pret generation of 'cafe'. Creativity oozes from every nut and bolt, and is just the beginning of and experience that will linger within your brain for longer than you could believe a hot chocolate and a pancake could. It defies explanation, is a Wonderland created from an unfathomable brain... All you can do, is fill your belly, marvel at the ingenuity, individuality & invention of it's creators & mark it on the map of your mind - to ensure you find your way there again sometime soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lastbus Works Canteen also viewed

Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
 
Gardenstown, Aberdeenshire
Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Lastbus Works Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lastbus Works Canteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.