We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing meal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fife Lodge Hotel

Fife Lodge Hotel
Sandyhill Road, Banff AB45 1BE, Scotland
01261 812436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

At a recent stay in Macduff we dined at the Fife Lodge on Sunday evening. The meal was overall disappointing. A very limited menu was offered, no beef meal available on night. The fish (and the obligatory chips) we chose was more batter than fish. The white wine we chose was presented unchilled, and we were told that's how the locals like it, and offered ice cubes. All a bit unprofessional in our experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron T, Owner at Fife Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We do apologise for your bad experience. We were extremely busy and very few people had booked so we were caught slightly on the hop. Being Father's Day, we had a limited Sunday menu alongside the Father's Day menu which had a choice of two meat dishes. The Steak & Ale Pie on the Sunday menu had proved very popular through the day and we had unfortunately run out by the time you came in.
As to the wine, we were not aware until later that somehow the temperature on the wine cooler had been turned up. We are accustomed to Antipodeans asking for ice for their wine whatever the temperature.
We do try our very best and can only apologise once again that your experience was less than perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very characterful!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were here for a family funeral and they treated us well, except we did have to keep going into the kitchen and asking for more tea and coffee. Having said that they opened the bar for us and we all sat round the lovely log fire, so that was great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scouting out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have our Ruby Wedding Anniversary booked at the Fife Lodge in June and we had not heard much about it for a while so we decided to "check it out" with the help of another couple. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and were shown to an area in the bar/lounge where we enjoyed a quiet drink and ordered from the menu. We were taken to our table and enjoyed an excellent meal. One of our party did comment that it would have been better if the plates had been much hotter so as to keep the food warmer longer. I mentioned this to the Chef and she duly noted my comment. It is understood that this chef has newly taken up this post.We also noticed a couple moving seats as they were feeling a bit of a draft.. These two comments of mine are reflected in the above rating. Would we go back? We will be back on the 22nd of June along with quite a few guests so i will report back then.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent experience at the Fife Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Dined at the Fife Lodge on Saturday night while on a short visit from London. The food and service was excellent, much improved on an earlier visit in 2012. I would certainly recommend to others and will difinitely come back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Absolutely no atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Our table of 4 more than doubled the total of people eating on a Saturday night. The food was ok but my child sized portion was not worth what it cost. I won't be hurrying back any time soon. On a positive note the ginger pudding was lovely and by far the highlight of our visit

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fife Lodge Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Fife Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fife Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.