We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howies Aberdeen

Howies Aberdeen
50 Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SN, Scotland
+44 (0)1224 639500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Howies Aberdeen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 490 restaurants in Aberdeen
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Great fresh Scottish food prepared to order. Set prices & a la carte. Central Aberdeen. Informal, great value, well established. Excellent wine list. Back in the hands of the original Howies as of January 2012. 2 private dining rooms as well as large main room. Whether a small intimate dinner for two, business lunch for 12 or a wedding party Howies is the perfect venue.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hadn't been here for ages then used a Groupon deal and was very impressed. Really nice meal and will definitely be going back, even at full price!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowiesRestaurants, Owner at Howies Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. It is much appreciated. We did a Living Social Deal in a bid to tell the world we are back in the hands of the original owner, showcase our seasonal Scottish food and to re-establish our reputation so to read you not only enjoyed it but will be back again is a joy.
We always do a set price lunch/dinner - and at the moment if you order a 2 course lunch and you are not in and out in 45 minutes you get your money back.
Thanks for your support!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    91
    94
    39
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
“Great food for business entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Took my work colleagues to Howies recently for dinner, not having been in a couple of years. Firstly, the decor is much warmer than I remember and the paintings on the wall were pleasing to the eye, especially the pics of Aberdeen. We found the service top notch and the waitress who served us very friendly and helpful. The menu was excellent and unlike many restaurant I would have glady eaten any of the dishes. I had haggis starter which was superb followed by the panfriend sirloin steak, on special. The steak was tender and fully of flavour and drew comments from my American colleages from Houston. I can't recommend Howies enough its really come on since my last visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowiesRestaurants, Owner at Howies Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. Having just bought Howies back we have been working tirelessly to re-establish ourselves as being a great local restaurant serving seasonal, Scottish food and reviews such as yours are a delight to read. I have passed your comments on to the team who are very happy.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back soon.

FYI The Artist is Kelly Stewart a woman with a deep love of Scotland and it's historical landscape. She will be delighted when I tell her you singled her work out for praise.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great steak, and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Well recommended for all.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowiesRestaurants, Owner at Howies Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Short and sweet - the perfect review. Thanks! We now get our steak from Buccleuch Estates and ensure they are well hung and just right before cooking 'em to your specification. Thanks for your support and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Enjoyed a great dinner in a nice friendly atmosphere

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowiesRestaurants, Owner at Howies Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your meal at Howies. We're delighted you enjoyed it and hope to serve you again soon.
Cheers from the Howies Team !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Top notch steak sat night and could see some lovely fish being devoured at the next table,some newfaces on the floor and I would imagine a new chef since I ate here in march, food perfectly seasoned this time compared to last . Are you still part of the Edinburgh group and I see a howies bistro advertised in Dundee ???? When we first travelled to Aberdeen years ago they called it gerrad or something..... Change it back lol. Anyway splendid visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowiesRestaurants, Owner at Howies Aberdeen, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thanks for your great review. It means a lot to us. Really. You are right new chef, new staff so your observations are bang on. David (Howie Scott )bought Howies back a few months ago, having sold it 5 years ago (we started it in 1990) as it had lost its way. Since then we have been working very hard to reintroduce it to the Aberdeen market. To read your review makes us believe we are getting there. So thank you.
To answer your question we have two Howies in Edinburgh - Waterloo just off Princes St at the foot of Calton Hill and Howies Victoria St just round from Edinburgh Castle. But that's it. There is a Howies bistro in Dunkeld which has nothing to do with us.
Oh and you're right it was Gerards in Aberdeen where I, Davids wife, worked briefly as a 16 year old! The circle of life!
Scottish. Seasonal. From the land. And thanks to you happy. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howies Aberdeen also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire

Been to Howies Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howies Aberdeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.