We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel to your Saves list
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 / 22 Guild St, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
dundee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed at this hotel very recently. it looked and sounded very promising on line so we booked it with no hesitation. the hotel presented as badly needing a face lift through out and was not particularly clean. our room, which was a suite, was dark and dismal. the fixtures and features all were worn and tired and the room could have used a deep clean. the bed linen was ok but either the bed or the pillows smelled pretty bad. we did not sleep well at all. reception staff were helpful.

we would never stay here again! central location ideal for getting around but also a lot of intimidating characters hanging around. also, very noisey area.

we were not inspired to have breakfast so only had toast and coffee which were of a poor quality. there was very little choice of cooked breakfast entrees which so many of others now offer.

over all, very disappointing.

Room Tip: choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    39
    26
    27
See reviews for
8
40
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ate here last Friday and was not impressed with the food at all - however lovely staff and lovely surroundings and gorgeous wine by the glass.

Starters were good and enjoyed them both - mains were a huge let down. My friend's pasta was so overcooked it was inedible, my pizza was tasty but was burnt black at one side. And nearly £14 for a pizza is just too much - Pizza Express pizzas are far superior. Both our desserts were pretty dire - creme brulee which had never seen the underneath of a grill, and resembled no creme brulee I have ever seen, also chocolate mousse that was more like chocolate icing you'd get on a chocolate gateau. We did not have to pay for one of the mains and got one dessert free so they took on board that my friend did not eat any of her meal which was good.

They no longer serve lunch at Sopranos - when I asked i was told they only do Starbucks food through the day - I found that very odd.

Will return but only for a glass of wine, I would avoid the food.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is not a review of the hotel itself as we didn't stay there, but a review of the restaurant/bistro part.

My wife and I have had lunch there on a few occasions when visiting Aberdeen city centre. There are a variety of other 'theme' restaurants just across the way in Union Square, but in those you are just another table. In Sopranos we are always made to feel welcome and our time is valued. There is always a pleasant greeting from the efficient, polite staff.

The food is always cooked fresh, so don't be surprised to wait 20+ minutes for it as it will be worth the wait. Highly recommended is the pizza, which we had heard about from other customers, as it is one of the best I have ever tasted. Very authentic. Another favourite is the fish and chips with very chunky chips. Being just across from the harbour the fish is extremely fresh and delicious.

The lunch menu is also very reasonably priced and there is a good selection of wines available.

The only disappointing thing to comment on is the introduction of Starbucks branded coffee. There is nothing wrong with the coffee itself, but there is huge display fridge which is wheeled in every morning (then wheeled out again before the evening custom) and is positioned just inside the front door but taking up room at one of the best tables. Not only does the fridge face completely the wrong way so the contents are not on display to anyone but people at one table, but it makes sitting at that table, overlooking the street and harbour, not particularly comfortable. It feels like this enormous fridge is bearing down on you! Such a shame that the Starbucks franchising means they have to use this fridge and display but there isn't actually anywhere appropriate for it to go. We were fortunate that the bar was quiet when we went in so we had other tables to choose from, but would have liked to use our favourite table.

All in all though, we are really satisfied with the service and food in Sopranos and would commend everyone to go there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It was a gale force, cold rainy winters day when I arrived at this hotel.
I liked the upbeat colourful design. Unfortunately this level of care didn't reflect in the hotel infrastructure.
My room was freezing. There was a small heater for me to plug in. I had to practically wrap myself around it to warm up. It didn't give out enough heat for the room.
I was rushing to get out that evening and went to have a shower. The water wouldn't warm up. 5 minutes running and it was still literally freezing. I couldn't believe I'd payed for this hotel!
It angered me that the receptionist didn't seem surprised when I complained about the shower. They offered me a new room, which I took them up on when I returned later that night.
So, to end my experience at the soprano, my new shower went from scorching hot to cold. I managed to rinse my hair, but it was a bit of a jumpy experience. Not what you want on a cold winters day in Aberdeen
Hugely disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There are no decent cheap hotels in Aberdeen but this one is pretty good value for money. I did have to pay in advance and the payment is non-refundable - so be aware of tnhis. The room itself was quite small but clean and adequate with tea-making facilities and a television. It is very near the railway station, the bust station and the centre of things in Aberdeen. For an overnight stay, I found it ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here last Saturday in a single room. The hotel is in a great location very close to the train and bus stations in the city centre. The staff were really helpful and let me keep my case there before check-in and after, although I was surprised when the male receptionist told me to go into the wee cupboard and get it myself!

The website gives the impression of a boutique hotel but it's not quite at that standard. The room wasn't perfect (there were missing tiles in the shower room and the usual wear and tear) but I wouldn't expect it to be at the price I paid, it was cheaper than staying in a Travelodge! But it was clean and cosy and had everything I needed and suited me perfectly for my visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is located near the station which makes it great for those arriving by train. The rooms vary is size and having stayed here several times, I make sure I get one that is not too small. The staff are very helpful and the breakfasts excellent. This place has a bit of character and is used as a meeting place for an international group

Room Tip: If you need to work as I did, make sure you get a room where the chair can fit in front of the desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Address: 20 / 22 Guild St, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique baronial style hotel in the heart of Aberdeen's city centre. Adjacent to the train station, harbour and airport bus link. At the entrance of the city's Merchant Quarter with it's independent boutiques, bars and brasseries. Two minutes walk from all the key theatres, art galleries and museums. Superb Wine Bar and Mediterranean restaurant with live entertainment at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.