We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Restaurant Visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel to your Saves list
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 / 22 Guild St, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very Poor Restaurant Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself and two friends visited Soprano's for lunch last week, and we felt it was something out of a sitcom or hidden-camera show. When we entered the restaurant we were told the three of us would have to squeeze onto a two-person table, despite the restaurant having several empty tables at the time. We agreed, and were shown to our table, with no menus. We literally waited around 20 minutes to get a drinks order. We then waited approximately 20 minutes again for these drinks to arrive. One drink was thrown over my friend by the waiter as he wrestled with the drinks tray. We then finally made our food order. 15 minutes later, our food arrived. We were rather disappointed to receive a tiny, burned pizza, and two portions of fish and chips, with 12 chips between the two of us. The fish was delicious, as were the chips, but come on, you can afford to give us more than 6 chips, surely!

After waiting ten minutes after asking for ketchup, we gave up and mastered our towers of chips(!) ketchup-less.

Needless to say, a tip was not provided, and I won't be recommending Soprano's to my friends. The restaurant is lovely and has a classy atmosphere, but just seemed so disorganised and disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    39
    26
    27
See reviews for
8
40
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As there doesn't appear to be a separate listing for the Sopranos Seafood Bistro & Bar on TripAdvisor, I'm adding this review to the general hotel listing.

The Sopranos Restaurant is my absolute favourite in Aberdeen at the moment. The restaurant itself has a lovely cosy atmosphere, is decorated with very classy touches and the food is outstanding.

So many people in the city don't know that Sopranos even exists and I like it so much I'm hesitant to share! The wine and food both offer excellent value for money and taste amazing. Each time I've visited I've had very fresh and tasty seafood - the mussels with cider and chilli cream sauce are my favourite, so so yummy!

A payday must :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Pleasant hotel and good value. The building is quite old hence no lift and a fiar walk upstairs if your on a higher level. Rooms have been recently done up and in a good standard with lovely classis bathrooms. The restaurant/bar downstairs coneected to the hotel is excellent. Location is perfect for weekend shopping trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel looks quite nice on the website, but it really felt like something was missing. It is small hotel but the staff were quite unfriendly ... would not even let me use the desk phone to make a call to England and insisted on taking my credit card, having me go back to my room to make the call, all for a charge of about 25 pence. The room (a twin) was nice. The bathroom was really large but seemed to be unfinished - for instance, there was a lot of empty space but nowhere to put your toiletries (which ended up sitting on the floor). Also there was no in room hair dryer - kind of strange for a hotel these days. But the location was really convenient (close to the bus station and the train station and the harbor).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Fantastic hotel right in the centre of aberdeen (<5 mins walk from union st). We booked in advance through an online travel website and got the fantastic price of £50pn for the room.

Staff very helpful, hotel clean, tea/coffee in room, comfy bed.

Only downside room bit small and not sure if heating was working as bit cold in room.

However would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely decor and tasteful rooms. Shame it took 20 mins to check in ( apparently the one man on duty was mending someones window. Showers are very small in very weak, electric units don't give a decent flowbor consistent heat. It felt like the hotel was second behind the bistro...only getting attention when the bistro didnt need it. Far too many stairs and no lift.definately not for less mobile travellers. Food and service in bistro very good. £10 for wifi per day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very nice clean large modern room staff very helpfull amazing decor throughout Worth every penny I will re book
Comfy bed slept like a baby.
down side can't turn heating off And only enough milk for two coffee's

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Address: 20 / 22 Guild St, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique baronial style hotel in the heart of Aberdeen's city centre. Adjacent to the train station, harbour and airport bus link. At the entrance of the city's Merchant Quarter with it's independent boutiques, bars and brasseries. Two minutes walk from all the key theatres, art galleries and museums. Superb Wine Bar and Mediterranean restaurant with live entertainment at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.