We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay unless you really dont care about the room and its price only” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
1-3 Bath St, Aberdeen AB11 6BJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dont stay unless you really dont care about the room and its price only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

OK so its central, the staff are friendly enough but I just cant stay there again. My partner and I have stayed twice. The reason...its cheap. But the last time I actually stood in the middle of the room and tried to find one thing, just one, that was nice....not even a door knob or plug socket got my vote. The beds are hideous, we were facing a nightclub, you feel unclean from start to finish, the whole building is grubby, rundown and antiquated. But it is cheap (for Aberdeen - anywhere else and you'd just walk out) so if its a room only, you sleep like a log, want a central location and dont care about the state of the room go for it. Otherwise just dont. The breakfast was so disgusting that I managed toast only. Even my partner who's ex forces couldnt force the cooked breakfast down and he'll eat anything!

Room Tip: try and get one away from the nightclub - oh and they come round to collect the bottles at 5am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    33
    19
    38
    37
See reviews for
14
31
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I used to stay at this hotel once a month but not by choice. This hotel was booked by my company and they were charged £75 plus breakfast. It is surrounded by nightclubs, snooker halls and strip joints and pole dancing establishments so make sure you keep your windows closed at night. If these places are not enough to keep you awake at night the seagull population will. Rooms are shabby, bathrooms are worse ie, holes left in walls were towel rails used to be, holes in the ceiling, just basically shabby throughout. The bar is ok and the food is bland and unadventurous. The staff however are usually friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

After reading some unfavourable reviews, after we had booked the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised with our weekend in Aberdeen. Yes the hotel is situated in the midst of several bars, clubs and ... a police station, so it does get noisy at weekends. However, by keeping our windows and bathroom door closed we had two good nights sleep.Our room was clean and spacious with a staircase up to an unusual upstairs lounge complete with settee, second tv and a roof top view of the city! We travelled by train to go to a theatre, so the Royal was ideal being 5 mins from the station, 20 mins from the theatre and just up the street from a cafe bar which provided us with an excellent meal.One of the excellent staff told us that this family run hotel were aware of the poor reviews and were endeavouring to gradually upgrade the rooms, floor by floor.

Room Tip: If your room is double glazed like ours, the bathroom might not be so keep it closed,it makes a diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Booked 2 rooms as my collegue and I were working in Aberdeen. I can see why you have to pay up front because if you saw the room first you would leave. Corridors were a mismatch of different threadbare carpets on uneven creaky floors. The rooms we had (204,205) had wallpaper comming off the walls, worn out carpets with sections missing and unclean bathrooms. The parking is a joke with a space for 6 cars doubled up and you have to leave your key at reception. The doors shut at 10.30, i would suspect that this is to keep people in rather than out. Breakfast was terrible, the quality of food was substandard and not even a dinner plate to eat off, but then again you wouldnt take much if you saw it. Nightclub outside til 2am but the majority of the noise came from the adjoining room through the paperthin walls. Not a cheap price for a very cheap hotel. Very bad experience which will not be repeated.

Room Tip: Book a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Great service, lovely breakfast and value for money, close to city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hubby and I spent one night in this hotel. This was one night too much. Even after getting the night porter to deal with noisy occupants in the room next door. The occupants then began ringing our room. Advised reception in the morning who appeared very uninterested. However the staff in the breakfast room were very nice and friendly. We would probably use the restaurant again but under no circumstances stay here ever. Rooms were very unclean and in need of updating.

Room Tip: Okay if you wish a room to get ready in but not to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Fleapit of the the old school; corridors and room had grubby walls, woodchip wallpaper, yellow ceiling(I can't decide which would be worse; that they were dumb enough to paint it yellow, or it became yellow from tobacco smoke and hasn't been repainted since smoking was banned in hotel rooms). The bathroom(and it was a bathroom, with erratic hot water supply) had a comedy avocado suite which appeared very worn and presumably vintage 1970s; the best that could be said is that it was clean as were the towels and linen. The hotel has a slightly eccentric layout with the breakfast room on the 1st floor, but frankly that's the least of their worries being located next door to strip clubs. Breakfast was OK, as were the staff. I shouldn't have been there, but was offloaded there as the Station Hotel had overbooked.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 1-3 Bath St, Aberdeen AB11 6BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.