We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Aberdeen Altens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Aberdeen Altens to your Saves list
Thistle Aberdeen Altens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Souterhead Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Have stayed several times. Always a pleasure.clean, comfortable and friendly. Service at resident bar a bit of a let down.breakfast fantastic. Leisure facilities great. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear eross25,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's great to hear your stay at the hotel is "always a pleasure" and you would recommend us. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, including the bar team.

I hope we get to welcome you back the next time you are in Aberdeen

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    166
    70
    25
    16
See reviews for
105
117
25
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at the Thistle Altens in march whilst running a training course there. Attention to detail was brilliant, from a welcome phone call to check the room was okay to the minutiae in the bathroom in the way of top class toiletries. The Otium pool is a decent size for a morning swim. The lounge bar menu extensive and we always found soothing new and different, as well as tasty. The food was superb all a credit to Stephen Gow and his hardworking team.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear RosieO060

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for the great review! I am delighted to hear your stay this time was even better than your last one and thank you very much for your kind comments about the team. They are very hard working indeed and they will appreciate your feedback.

We all hope to see you back in the hotel soon!

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

It's very nice hotel to stay at. The staff are very friendly and really helpful. I have stayed at the hotel quite alot and couldn't fault it at all. Even the events girls are good at there job and helpful. The room are always clean and tidy. We stayed with our little boy And we even got travel cot in room which was big help. Would recommend this hotel if you was looking for somewhere in aberdeen. Good food to especially breakfast!!

Kelly & Allan & Alfie

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Kelly, Allan & Alfie,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is great to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us and "couldn't fault it at all".

The team will really appreciate your kind comments about their service, especially the events girls!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Have stayed in all the thistle hotels in Aberdeen but this is by far the best. Very relaxing with pool, sauna, spa, complimentary gowns and slippers provided (not in other thistles unless paying out of your nose!), nice rooms and nice staff.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to a superior room but if not still great and you have use of all the faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear isobel m,

Thank you so much for the great review! It is very satisfying to hear you think we are the best Thistle hotel in Aberdeen.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon, to Thistle Aberdeen Altens

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

i have stayed here twice and on both occasions we got complimentary upgrades, once with husband and kids and other with friend for spa weekend. Hotel is clean and spacious, only ate for breakfast but was delicious. Staff friendly and welcoming. lovely pool, unfortunately jacuzzi was out of order on 2nd visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear turkeylurky,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel and for choosing to return. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your upgrades!

I will share your kind comments with the team and we all hope you will return for a 3rd stay soon!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The 3 of us have stayed here a few times and love the spacious big rooms and bathrooms. Beds are well comfy and plenty of pillows. My wife and daughter always use the pool and say its nice and clean. We have never eating or drank there as it is far too expensive. Not the hotels fault,but there is always selfish guests making a noise.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Nige R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, I am pleased to read you and your family had "another great stay"! We have recently invested in new beds, new mattress toppers and new pillows so it is encouraging to here you approve!

Sorry to hear you encountered selfish guests making noise, we are quite strict with this and it you notify reception they will resolve the issue. Also if you mention on your booking you prefer a quiet room we'll try our best to keep you away from other guests.

Myself and the team hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was happy to receive an unexpected upgrade on arrival. Swimming pool was a great attraction for us with a 3 year old. Will stay again. Would be difficult to get to without a car though. Once there, this hotel is a friendly and extremely clean place

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Julie L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Aberdeen Altens and for taking the time to share a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay! Our Housekeeping team have very high standards so they will be very happy with your comments!

I hope we get to welcome you and your family back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Aberdeen Altens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Aberdeen Altens

Address: Souterhead Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Aberdeen Altens 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens is one of the Granite City’s premier business venues and the largest hotel in Aberdeen with 216 bedrooms. Close to the centre, we have ample free on-site parking, 12 meeting rooms and our own Otium Health & Leisure Club.Totally Free Superfast Broadband!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Aberdeen Altens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Aberdeen Altens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.