We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Aberdeen Altens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Aberdeen Altens to your Saves list
Thistle Aberdeen Altens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Souterhead Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The 3 of us have stayed here a few times and love the spacious big rooms and bathrooms. Beds are well comfy and plenty of pillows. My wife and daughter always use the pool and say its nice and clean. We have never eating or drank there as it is far too expensive. Not the hotels fault,but there is always selfish guests making a noise.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Nige R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, I am pleased to read you and your family had "another great stay"! We have recently invested in new beds, new mattress toppers and new pillows so it is encouraging to here you approve!

Sorry to hear you encountered selfish guests making noise, we are quite strict with this and it you notify reception they will resolve the issue. Also if you mention on your booking you prefer a quiet room we'll try our best to keep you away from other guests.

Myself and the team hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    153
    67
    24
    15
See reviews for
95
105
22
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Was happy to receive an unexpected upgrade on arrival. Swimming pool was a great attraction for us with a 3 year old. Will stay again. Would be difficult to get to without a car though. Once there, this hotel is a friendly and extremely clean place

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Julie L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Aberdeen Altens and for taking the time to share a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay! Our Housekeeping team have very high standards so they will be very happy with your comments!

I hope we get to welcome you and your family back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Treated myself and two children (age 16 and 9) to a weekend break at the Thistle Altens in Aberdeen. On arriving at the hotel our first impression was "Oh dear", but on entering the hotel we were all completely taken aback. The hotel foyer is stunning, the girl on the reception was new but very pleasant and answered my query regarding children being allowed into the restaurant and bar area. On arrival we were told we had received a complimentary upgrade (I had booked the Delux Double Double) to an Executive Double Double. The room was fantastic, huge to say the least with two big double beds, sitting area, plasma tv on the wall. Dressing area and beautiful bathroom with all toiletries included. The room was lovely and warm and heating could be adjusted to suit our needs. We went to the pool which was lovely, sauna and steam room and jacuzzi were very relaxing. We did not eat in the restaurant as looked at the menu and found it to be a bit pricey (£6 for a bowl of soup!!) and children were not allowed in after 8pm!! Sunday morning breakfast was fantastic, full hot and cold buffet and help yourself as much as you like. Staff were all very pleasant. Only downside I would say is children now allowed in bar after 8pm so if you want a drink after this it would have to be room service (charge of £5). Will most definitely be going back with my boyfriend for a weekend break.

Room Tip: We were in Room 143. Fantastic size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Audrey B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review, I am very pleased to read that you and your children enjoyed your visit to Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens. I will share your kind comments with the team.

Our current Premises License does stipulate children are not allowed in the bar or restaurant after 8pm however, our application to extend this is with the local licensing board and we're hoping to have this changed soon.

Great to hear you will stay with us again, myself and the team hope it is soon!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Altens Thistle Hotels for 3 nights. The hotel is 15 minutes walk to the ASET training centre and ABCOL (Aberdeen College). The Petrofac offshore training centre is also nearby within walking distance. The hotel provides shuttle bus service to and from. The spa facilities are ok and relaxing. in the bar your sure to meet someone from the O&G industry.
Certainly recommended if you have business in Altens Industrial Estate.
Aberdeen town centre is a short taxi ride. Taxi from Aberdeen Airport is approx £25 depending on traffic. Avoid rush hour in Aberdeen unless you have an abundance of patience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear wct275,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, it's great to read the hotel was perfect for your business trip.

The team and I hope we get to welcome you back the next time you are in Aberdeen

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the weekend of the granite rally. We chose this hotel as this was the headquarters for the rally so thought it would be handy .!!! By the time we had done what was needed doing on Friday night in preparation for the rally the next day ,we rushed back to the hotel to get dinner. There were six adults and two children. When we went into the restaurant at 7pm the waitress came to take our order and told us we would have to leave before 8pm, we said we would not have time to order and eat or dinner and be out of the restaurant by then, and she basically told us we would have to be. We had to get up and leave and go and find another place nearby to eat. When we got back at 9pm there were children in the restaraunt still eating and didn't look like they were anywhere near finished their meal. My friend went and spoke the the restaraunt manager and was told they were just leaving, (which was obvious they weren't) and that he could only apologise !!
They should state at the time of booking that children are not welcome. Some folk travelling don't arrive at the hotel till later in the evening and expect to be able to take their children into the restaraunt after travelling a long journey for a meal . You don't want to be sitting with your eye on the clock rushing your meal before they ask you to leave at 8pm ! No scottish staff at all to be found. All foriegn ,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear fiddlestix08,

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to hear the hotel failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Our Premises Licenses stipulates children are not allowed in the bar or restaurant after 8pm, so it's reassuring to hear the staff are enforcing this as we are legally bound to. We have submitted an application to have our license amended and this currently sits with the local licensing board.

We have a fantastic team working for us and the majority of previous reviewers have commented on their friendly service. We recruit based on their ability to provide excellent customer service not their nationality.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A clean, neat hotel but with very poor service standards and I didn't meet one British member of staff in the whole place. What a welcome to Scotland!

I stayed here last week within a group of 7 people, two of which were children of 12 years old. At 6.30pm we decided to head down to the restaurant for dinner and we were warned that children were not allowed in the restaurant areas after 8pm. We went in anyway (the prices are shocking for a roadside hotel) and again, the waitress told us children were not allowed in after 8pm. At this point it was getting to 7pm and decided we didn't want to rush our evening so we would go elsewhere. We found an alternative restaurant and returned to the hotel at 9pm to find several children still in the restaurant (and more worryingly, in the bar also) I spoke to the usher and told him how keen we were to enjoy our evening within the hotel but were made so unwelcome what with having children that we went elsewhere, only to find other people flouting the rules. He seemed unaware of any other children in his restaurant. I pointed them out. "Oh they arrived at 6.30 and are just leaving" (funny, because they had only just started their main course)
We decided to sit in the foyer (two couches, the only place to sit within the hotel if you have children) and at 9.45, there were still several other children still within the restaurant.

We went for the Granite City Rally weekend and after hours of running around the countryside, had hoped that our hotel would've been a good place to relax (celebrate?!) but no, the whole weekend was marred by the fact that this hotels service is very cold, unhelpful and, to be honest, quite a dated package.

We will most certainly not be returning (and having spoken to many other of the 'rally families that were also having difficulty with the staff and their double standards to people being allowed to stay within the eating areas) I would definately not recommend this hotel to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear j60dnl,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read you found the hotel clean and neat but naturally disappointed to hear you left the hotel feeling less than satisfied.

Our Premises License stipulates that children are not allowed in the bar or restaurant after 20.00 and I am pleased to hear that the team enforced this, as we are legally bound to. We have submitted a request to the licensing board to get the hours extended but until approved we have to abide by our current license.

As Oil Capital of Europe, Aberdeen is a very multi-cultural city and our team reflects this. They should be judged on their great customer service not their nationality.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here with my partner in February. We got a very good deal on this room with lastminute.com (approx £45 for one night room only). My partner has bad arthritis in his knees so I emailed the hotel to find out about a disabled room. They booked us into one of these room. The rooms itself was brilliant, it was massive with two double beds. The bathroom was perfect, it had a shower on the floor and was a great size with handles everywhere. We got free wifi included in our rate which was great for me as I always check this with hotels.
After being in the room for 1 hour we got a phone call from reception to check everyway with the room was ok which was nice.
The hotel has lots of leisure facilities but we never got the chance to use them but we know we will definitely be returning to this hotel to make the most of everything it has to offer.
It is quite a bit out of town but we just drove and it was quick enough to get to. On the night of our stay they had a wedding on which made me worry about noise but it was totally fine. Around 1pm there were some children running up and down the corridor shouting and parents too which was a bit annoying but nothing bad enough to complain to reception.
We never ate at the restaurant so cannot comment.
Overall we loved our stay and will be going back in the near future and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel if you want a nice relaxing stay and dont mind travelling into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear 19megs89,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens, and for writing such a fantastic review! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Aberdeen Altens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Aberdeen Altens

Address: Souterhead Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#12 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle Aberdeen Altens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens is one of the Granite City’s premier business venues and the largest hotel in Aberdeen with 216 bedrooms. Close to the centre, we have ample free on-site parking, 12 meeting rooms and our own Otium Health & Leisure Club.Totally Free Superfast Broadband!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Thistle Aberdeen Altens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Aberdeen Altens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.