We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value for the price ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Central , comfortable & clean
Reasonable breakfast included- we had to pay to park but if you are lucky a few free place at hotel
Pleasant helpful staff
Our second stay here and will return again when visiting family- reasonable price for Aberdeen at weekend

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for your review Gedg9, we really appreciate the feedback.

It's good the see that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    206
    91
    25
    8
See reviews for
61
125
35
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here for one night & it was perfect for our needs. Reception staff were really friendly & we were allocated a clean, spacious room at the back of the hotel as requested despite only booking it that week. Breakfast was fine, plenty cereal, pastries as well as sausage, egg & beans. Parking is hopeless at hotel & unf chapel street (nearest multi story) isn't much better!! Be aware it doesn't accept anything other than coins for payment should you need to use it. Would def stay here again. £48 pn, can't go wrong!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear sarahkScotland

Many thanks for your comments, it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the friendly staff and free buffet breakfast.

Our 13 parking spaces do fill up quickly but as you said, there is a multi-storey just up the road.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Recently stayed for two nights. One knows what to expect from these properties and it fulfilled our needs. I must add that all the staff were very friendly and helpful and treated their guests very professionally.
Rooms standard for the chain.
WiFi worked well.
Public areas large and welcoming.
It is about a 15 minute walk to Union Square but there are many restaurants and shops mere minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review Shakyjowls

I'm glad to see that we fulfilled your expectations of the the Holiday Inn Express brand and that you appreciated the great central location. It's also lovely to read that the staff looked after you so well.

Hope you have the chance to visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is just what you expect from this standard of hotel. It is very clean, the rooms are comfortable and warm, great shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was adequate if a little limited. The reception/bar area is very comfortable. The hotel is situated just off Union street in a quiet street and there were no disturbing noises from outside or from other rooms. There is free wi-fi in all rooms, although I found it a bit hit and miss. All in all great value for money. Would not hesitate to recommend it for an overnight or weekend stay in the granite city.

Room Tip: We were in 231 which is to the rear of the hotel away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks for your comments IanW_31

I'm delighted to see that you had a good stay with us and particularly found the staff to be friendly and helpful. My apologies if you experienced a little trouble with the free Wi-Fi, we are experiencing some minor problems with it at the moment but this will be solved imminently with the installation of a new dedicated fibre-optic line into the building.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed for one night with my other half , the room was clean and comfortable , there is no iron in the rooms , we had to go to an ironing room , which was a cupboard with the smallest ironing board and iron imaginable !!
Out bathroom was nice and clean again with a good showers and large shower unit the only problem I had here was I kept jamming my fingers in the door when I opened it to leave the bathroom because of the way it could close over the toilet making a separate toilet cubicle.
Beware if taking a car with you there are only about 6 parking spaces and we had to pay £1 an hour to park in the council run car park up the road as did many others using the hotel ( I'm not even sure if it was other guests cars or staff cars that were using the hotel spaces)
Breakfast was a big let down , there were some cereals , fruit and yoghurt but sausage , scrambled egg and beans were the only hot options and the sausages weren't that good but hey it's free so you can't really complain. Over all it was worth the 60 odd quid we paid to stay there but think I would have been disappointed if we had paid more especially taking into consideration the amount we paid for parking

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments littlemissy1uk

It's good to read that you found your room to be clean and comfortable although I'm sorry that you found the ironing room to be a little cramped. We do try to do our best with the limited space available.

I'm sorry to hear that you jammed your fingers in the bathroom door. The design of these doors is aimed at making the bathrooms and showers as user-friendly as possible and it is a little unusual. Our best advice for the future is to ensure that you use the door handles as this will negate the possibility of trapping fingers.

Car parking is indeed at a premium in the centre of Aberdeen and as you clearly noticed, our 13 spaces are filled very quickly by customers (staff park in a separate area). The multi-storey facility just up the road is very handy and, compared to many other cities, keenly priced. Please note that it is also free of charge between 10pm and 8am each night.

The breakfast selection is standard across all Holiday Inn Express hotels so regrettably there is nothing we can do to change it in the short term. I will however address the quality issue with the sausages as a matter of urgency.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

There are no surprises at a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are functional enough, although just a bit too basic. Everything worked, and the sleep quality was OK. Breakfast was disappointing.

My room was actually a "disabled" one, with the bathroom designed for wheelchair access. But I am unsure whether the bedroom would have worked - certainly the desk could not have been used from a 'chair.

The principal desig flaw was the combination of a minute basin and the highest flowing water tap I have experienced in a very long time. It was a "mixer" tap that had to be turned full on before you could select a decent water temperature, by which time the basin was overflowing and you had sprayed water all over whatever you happened to be wearing. This is a bathroom best used naked.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Many thanks for your review Aberphobic

Whilst it's good to see that the hotel lived up to your expectations, I am sorry that you experienced some issues with the sink in the bathroom. The taps are designed to be easy to operate by those with mobility problems although it does sound like there is an issue with the water pressure in this instance. I will ensure our maintenance department checks this as a matter of urgency.

Should you be making a reservation in the future, please feel free to get in touch with us in advance and we can ensure that a standard room type is allocated for you.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Enjoyed yet another stay at the Holiday Inn Express, comfortable bedrooms, with free breakfast. Central to all shopping malls and theatre's etc. and lots of little boutique shops in the side streets Staff make you feel welcome and are so very helpful. We enjoyed a visit to " Fittie" a quaint little fishing village at the end of the beach near the harbour, Hope to return soon.... Well done to All Staff !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your comments phyllis w, always great to hear from our regulars.

It's fantastic to see that you had another enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.