We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great just what you need! & central :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great just what you need! & central :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

amazing room, nice size, VERY clean have stayed here many times would advise anyone to stay! quote cheap ££ also :) center of town which is what most people would need for a hotel just off one of the side streets. 5mins from bars, shops, cafes, bakers etc :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks very much for your wonderful comments Alanna-Stephen

Delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    215
    99
    25
    8
See reviews for
68
129
36
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My company booked me here, presumably because it was the cheapest available. The room was fine, modern, clean etc. There's no restaurant but there is a sort of canteen where you can get a breakfast, that said there's loads of restaurants within about 2 minutes. I did ask for an ironing board and iron and was told there are ironing rooms on every floor, which there are, but they're configured in such a way you can only iron with your left hand. Oh and internet is something like 10gbp for 24hours, so add that to the room price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for your review Greg

Apologies that you found the ironing facilities difficult, this was a configuration error when the hotel was build and we intend to rectify it shortly during our forthcoming refurbishment.

The internet cost is also something that we are actively looking at changing and it will hopefully become a completely free service in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For me I choose this hotel due to its close proximity to a course I was attending for 5 days, slightly disappointed that this hotel does not cater for smokers any more though not an issue.
I was already aware that this hotel does not offer meals only a breakfast of which I found rather adequate.
It costs around £18.00 in a taxi from the airport, check in was a breeze the room was perfect nice and clean with all that one could wish for in a hotel room. As I said prior although the only food on offer was breakfast you are in the centre of Aberdeen so there are plenty of choices in regards to food outside of the hotel.
I would have no hesitation in stopping here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks for your comments stevelittler

Delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologies that we are no longer able to accommodate you in a smoking bedroom. Up until very recently, we actually did have smoking bedrooms but have just converted them all to non-smoking.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Aberdeen.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had a one night stay here on route back home. While the reception I got was good and the hotel was a little tired, but still okay, the food facilities were not up to scratch.
I was told that the food was to be done at another restaraunt in Aberdeen, to get there in time for food I was told I would have to rush across to this place. I don't think Usain Bolt could have made it. I arrived at the restaraunt as quickly as I could but I was too late for anything to eat. This was a big disappointment as I had been travelling all day, with no time to eat, and I was looking forward to something. In the morning I never had time to have a breakfast so I can't comment on the facilities as far as that goes however.
I got a room at the back of the hotel so the sleep I got was good and there was no traffic noise.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your review sinclairpirie

With Holiday Inn Express being a limited service brand of hotels, we don't have a restaurant on site and therefore recommend a local partner restaurant. Sorry to hear that you didn't manage to make it over to them in time for meal service. If you're staying again in the future, feel free to contact us in advance and we can let you have the restaurant opening hours to prevent a similar dissappointment.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions as it is a decent price and ideally located for a quick visit to Aberdeen. Although it's not that old the rooms could do with a freshen up and it is time to replace the bed, or mattress at least.
All in all value for money. Will probably return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your review Dratsi, glad you found the hotel to be of good value.

We've just celebrated 10 years since the hotel first opened and I happy to tell you that a refurbishment will be happening pretty soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a great 2 night weekend stay here between Christmas and New Year, we only paid £20.12 per night for the room in the priority member promotion....bargain! A warm welcome as a priority member awaited us on arrival which was nice. I requested a room at the rear as I had read other tripadvisors tips for getting a quiet room and I was happy with our room. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was great. Breakfast was spot on, great choice of both hot and cold food Great location in the city centre, the only let down was parking. Only a few spaces available at the hotel which were always full so it was parking in the multi-storey at the end of the road. I would stay again here for sure when I was up in Aberdeen again

Room Tip: For a quiet room, request a room to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Many thanks for your comments scotsman2011

Glad to see you were able to take up our fantastic Priority Club member offer and got such a good rate! It's equally good to read that you also enjoyed your stay so much and we hope you manage to visit again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I use this hotel often for business when I need to be in Aberdeen city centre.
It's clean, efficient and does what it says on the tin.
Staff are very courteous and helpful, easy walk out to restaurants and bars of Aberdeen, being just minutes walk from Union Street. Has its own car park though that fills up quickly.
Breakfast is simple but effective and usually included in rate. ( as a regular business traveller I don't want full English every day. They do have eggs and sausage as well as good selection of cereals and fruit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Many thanks for your comments Robert, glad you like the hotel and continue to use us regularly.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.