We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Glasgow
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Clean comfortable room and bed. Good sized television. Was very noisy with a late night bakers across the road. Limited parking is available but be quick. Location central also and not far from restaurants and bars

Room Tip: Ask for one higher up or facing the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments ScotlandTraveler01

Glad you enjoyed the room and found the location to your liking. The bakery accross the road can indeed be the source of a bit of noise at weekends but hopefully this didn't impact you too much.

Remember, if our car park is full, the multi-storey 100 yards up the road is very reasonably priced, particularly at weekends.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    207
    92
    25
    8
See reviews for
61
125
35
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, NW Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Got a last minute deal, a snip at £46 for 2, bed and breakfast. Can't complain at that. Weekends in Aberdeen, you can always find good deals.

Hotel has parking but you are fast or last as there are only about a dozen spaces. Nice, clean double room with sofa.

Weekends in Aberdeen can be very busy, we found the room to be quite warm (made sure heating was off) and tried sleeping with the window open. This is not a good idea for a Saturday night with a taxi rank at the bottom of the street, 2 clubs at the top of the street and a shop selling fresh pies at 3am directly across the road!

HiEx now supply a cooked breakfast as standard, although this consists of sausages, scrambled eggs and beans. There is also the usual teas, coffees, toast, croissant etc. Its a help yourself in the morning.

All in all, a good stay at a very good price. And Priority Points, of course :)

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the main street, especially if staying a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Many thanks for your review ARealHighlander, it's good to read that you enjoyed your stay and managed to get such a good rate.

Look forward to seeing you next time.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar
Top Contributor
654 reviews 654 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

While we didn't stay at the Holiday Inn Express, we stopped by for assistance. The staff quickly responded to our request for assistance for a place to dine on a busy Saturday night. After dinner we went back to the Inn's lounge to have a drink and enjoy watching their TV with the Ryder Cup playing. It was one of the few hotels with the Ryder Cup on and we were most appreciative of being able to watch it. If we had not already had othe accommodations, this would have been a preferred hotel for our visit. Convenient to downtown for shopping and history with a fantastic staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for your review Travelinkers, glad we could help you out and save you from having to miss that historic European victory in the Ryder Cup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 04th to 6th of October. It was just off the main street which is Union Street. Its about a 10 minute or so walk from the main bus station. There is a taxi rank at the top of the road but when we needed a taxi back to the bus station we just ordered one from reception and they were so helpful. We booked it on their website and a buffet breakfast was free. Loved the breakfast scrambled egg was lovely and orange juice was just great. Wasn't too keen on the sausages but thats because we didn't go down for breakfast until late the first day but the second day we went in early and everything was so nice. The room was a nice size had a double bed and sofa as 3 of us were staying. It was quite a hot room even with window open but that still was ok. We had room 220. Bathroom was lovely the door is on a double hinge so the same door is for the main bathroom and loo. Brilliant as someone could be using the sink and another using the loo. Room was so so clean. Staff were so helpful asked about internet and they told me that we were entitled to 30 minutes a day free wi-fi which I wasn't expecting and its a great bonus. Also there is a coin pay computer in lobby you get 11minutes for 1 pound. There are vending machines plus an ice machine in lobby and as a bonus there is coffee to go for staying guests for free which i have never seen before in a hotel. We had a drink in the bar the night before we left nice and cosy area just before you get to the breakfast area helpful, friendly staff. Would stay in this hotel again for sure as its close to everything with friendly staff and great accommodation.

Room Tip: We were staying in 220 its a non smoking room with a double bed which is so nice and sofa bed. It se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks for your brilliantly comprehensive review ashb83

It was fantastic to read that you had enjoyed your stay and appreciated the helpful staff at reception. Glad you could take advantage of the 30 minutes free wifi during your stay too although we will hopefully be extending the free useage period in the near future making the hotel even better value for money.

I hope you had a good journey back to Galway and are able to visit Aberdeen again soon.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

this hotel is spotless the staff are all friendly and great breakfast and so central for all the shops would recomend this hotel to anybody wee go 5 or 6 times a year maybe more wee have just booked again for another 2 nights in two weeks time could not ask for better .

Room Tip: wee always ask for a room at the back its nice and quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review annalexander242

It's particularly pleasing to read good comments from our valued regular customers and I'm delighted that you enjoy staying so much.

See you in 2 weeks!

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here for work, just right. Friendly staff and sorted out my tv when I couldn't get it to work.

Will return soon when work in the area beckons. Rooms were clean and tidy and a really comfy bed..... Great spot for exploring the city.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments BoringMiller

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just off Union Street, central location. Check-in was quick. Room was big enough, clean and comfortable. My room was on the 4th floor, it was quiet and the temperature wasn't too high like a lot of hotels - I slept very well. Tea making facilities in the room and a large flat screen TV. Bar and restaurant, neither of which I used (plenty of choice for places to eat within a few minutes walk). Breakfast was OK, self service. Only fault I can find with this place is the fact they allow people to smoke in the rooms at all. The hotel was full and they could only offer me a 'smoking room'. The receptionist did say the rooms get freshened up each day but to a non-smoker's nose it is still very obvious. Reasonably priced and the rate included breakfast.

Room Tip: Specify a no smoking room when making your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review MarkandJill

It's good to read that you enjoyed your stay and I'm sorry we were unable to offer you a non-smoking room. You will however be happy to hear that we plan to convert all of our smoking rooms over the next few months so that the hotel will soon be 100% non-smoking.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.