We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably the best hotel in Aberdeen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcliffe at Pitfodels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Marcliffe at Pitfodels to your Saves list
The Marcliffe at Pitfodels
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   North Deeside Rd | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB1 9YA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“probably the best hotel in Aberdeen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall a fantastic stay with very welcoming and helpful local staff. Have stayed there a few times now and looking forward to staying again. probably the best hotel in Aberdeen for location, staff, rooms and excellent food.

Room Tip: Braemar room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    50
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
107
4
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked a Spa day for myself & three members of my family as a Christmas treat. The girls in the Spa were lovely & we all thoroughly enjoyed the treatments.
Totally different story when we went thoroughly to the hotel for lunch. No smiles greeted us. Asked which restaurant we had booked we didn't know because the Spa staff had booked for us. The waiter actually sighed. He grudgingly sat us at a draughty table in front of the bar. Service was offhand & slow. We were made to feel most unwelcome. Particularly disappointing as I had talked the place up to my family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night as my work put on a party.

What a beautiful hotel nestled on the outskirts of the city. We stayed in a junior suite on the 1st floor. Absolute luxury from the start, molten brown toiletries, massive soft bed with fluffy duvet and champagne. Just what the doctor ordered I hear you say.

Beautiful hotel throughout, we had a brilliant evening of dancing, drinking, music and swish food! Retired to the residents bar for cocktails and cigars after the party, bliss. Since I don't often don a bow tie I thought I could google the correct donning technique, tried and failed miserably so reception sent up a man to sort me out, he even instructed my girlfriend how to do it for next time, what a life saver!

Amazing place in a beautiful surrounding, cant wait for the next party although not looking forward to the sore head again.....ouch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Another visit to the restaurant,, flawless service from start to finish as usual, perfectly cooked scallops and steaks and the best peppercorn sauce we have tasted, this place is run with military precision & as usual Mr Spence (proprietor) was keeping a watchful eye on the excellent staff. I'm in a wheelchair and they always make sure I have a certain table so my chair can get under it. Already planning our next visit, yum yum!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have eaten here twice this year, once for lunch and once for dinner. The quality and presentation of the food was very good each time. Beef cooked to perfection. Lovely fudge and chocolates at end of the meal. The setting is also lovely. My only criticism from friends that I dined with is that the dairy free and special diet options are quite limited. I have also stayed in the hotel a couple of times. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast was good. I would describe the service as average to good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were treated by friends for my husband's 60th Birthday. Went for Sunday lunch and it was exceptional. Service second to none, and ofcourse the surroundings are superb. We had a pre lunch drink sitting by a lovely fire, and returned there after our lunch for coffee. A very relaxing special occasion

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a wonderful Sunday lunch meal in this establishment, from the moment I booked to the time I left these premises I found the whole experience a joy. The staff, the service and the quality of food on order were all of the highest order. The staff were friendly, attentive and obviously well trained. The food was brilliant, well cooked, piping hot and of a quality, quantity and presentation of the highest order. I would highly recommend a visit, a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marcliffe at Pitfodels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe at Pitfodels

Address: North Deeside Rd | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB1 9YA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Marcliffe at Pitfodels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart SpenceOwner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your The Marcliffe at Pitfodels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcliffe at Pitfodels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.