We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice coffee shop with books available” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University of Aberdeen Library

University of Aberdeen Library
Bedford Road, Aberdeen AB24 3AA, Scotland
+44 (0)1224 273330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 89 Attractions in Aberdeen
Type: Libraries, Cultural
Attraction details
aberdeen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice coffee shop with books available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I used to be a regular visitor of the old QML library building but this has more style. From the fancy lifts to the goldfish friendly Information table and the nice Coffee bar staff I feel that the additional focal point that the building and square in front provide help the uni a lot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Being an Aberdonian and living in Aberdeen you can sometimes become blasé about what is around you. Having heard various opinions about the new library I decided to take a look. Well, I love it. I think it is wonderful for Aberdeen and is a huge asset to the university and community. Everything about it is well presented and executed. It is a great space for university students and the public. Take it from me, it's worth a look!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

quite what this is doing in the middle of old Aberdeen in anyone's guess - but it is a mighty site and really is quite breathtaking - lucky students!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“well-designed, attractive building, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Beware - the car park is currently a building site, but there are pay and display bays on the road beside the library, which are free at the weekend. You can see the blue-grey glass cube that is the library from miles away, but when you get close, the walls are more textured than you might imagine. Inside is a very interestingly-shaped asymmetric atrium cutting through the building. We talked our way in with a credit card but photo ID is preferred. You can take the lift to the 7th floor and get good views out to sea, but the librarians seem to have kept the views of central Aberdeen for themselves - one wall is full of their offices. The meetings rooms were all locked but also had enviable views. If I were a student, I'd have been tempted to stare out of the window watching the weather blow across the city, rather than to study. There's a cafe on the ground floor, which we didn't try. The other exhibition spaces were closed - if you want to see the Aberdeen Bestiary, as other reviewers have recommended, you should check it'll be open to visitors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was a little doubtful when the library was first being built as to how well it fitted in with the city and surrounding Old Aberdeen area but now....wow! Architecture is simply stunning outside and in. Worth heading inside to look at the spiral antrium and taking the left (or the pseudo-industrial staircase) to the seventh floor to look out over the city and beyond. Can get very noisy during term-times, but still wonderful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Aberdeen Library also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to University of Aberdeen Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Aberdeen Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.