We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit as wonderful as the 1st” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skene House Holburn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Skene House Holburn to your Saves list
Skene House Holburn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Bishopton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“2nd visit as wonderful as the 1st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed in these apartments, and I wouldn't stay anwhere else now when visiting Aberdeen.
The apartment we had was very spacious with all you need for your stay, right down to milk in the fridge and washing machine tablets. It's lovely to have a seperate lounge to relax in rather than both squeezing in a small bedroom with no room to swing a cat like most hotels.
Breakfast was more than adequate, plenty of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, rolls, boiled eggs, ham, cheese etc. and also tea/coffee and toast. I did not feel the need to order any of the "extras", although I would say that I saw some omelettes and they looked really nice.
There is an honesty bar, which is well stocked, althought I have to admit, we just had our welcome drink there, as there are plenty of bars etc in close proximity to the apartments.
All the staff from check in, to breakfast, to check out were really nice, friendly and happy people, they make you feel welcome, and not like an intrusion like some other places.
I'd definately reccomend to anyone, don't even think about a puny hotel room when you can have so much more here!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMLindsay, Digital Marketing Executive at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you have chosen to stay at Skene House Holburn again and that you have made us your No.1 choice in the future.

We aim to provide our guests with a home from home experience so we are glad to hear that you agree that we offer more space and comfort than the average hotel room. As with a home from home experience, we are pleased that you enjoyed the fresh, healthy and varied breakfast buffet on offer.

I will make sure that the team receives your comments. They take great pride in ensuring guest satisfaction and love to see your comments on Tripadvisor. Until your next visit, you can stay in touch with the team, hotel news and offers via Facebook, Twitter or our hotel blog.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Holburn very soon,

With kind regards,

Rosalind McClure
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    41
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
75
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Staff helpful, took bags and gave advice as to how to get to places. Room clean and well kitted out, some nice touches like complimentary drink and snacks. We had the continental breakfast which was better than in most places, again staff could not be more helpful. In terms of value for money this place is very good value indeed. I would certainly tell my family and friends to stay there if they are planning a visit to the city.

Room Tip: No lift, but staff to helped carry our bags to the third(top) floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMLindsay, Digital Marketing Executive at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank-you very much for your kind review; we really appreciate that you have taken the time to advise other guests and rest assured that your opinion is highly valued.

We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and knowledgeable. Our team take great pride in guest satisfaction and going the extra mile to ensure that guests' needs and preferences are taken care of.

Indeed, many of our guests will agree with you that you get so much more for your money at Skene House HotelSuites. A suite for the price of a standard hotel room provides you with more space, comfort and flexibility.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Holburn,

With kind regards,

Rosalind McClure
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Arrived a bit apprehensive and didn't know what to expect from the outside. Walked into reception and met with a very warm welcome from staff. Check in fast and before I knew it, 2 staff had my bags and took me to my room.

Suite 621 a lovely one bed apartment with excellent facilities. Very clean and spacious for 2 people. Tv, DVD, full kitchen (fully equipped) microwave, cooker, fridge, freezer...

Neat bedroom with double bed, great storage.

Free parking too located to the rear of the hotel.

Staff made this special. Very polite, very efficient and attention to detail was great. We were checking out early so staff brought a tray to the room with cereal, bread, jam, butter, orange juice and coffee.

Loved the wee personal touch with my name on the door.

Will recommend this to friends and will Definately go back

Room Tip: Suite 621. Is very quiet. Bedroom is to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMLindsay, Digital Marketing Executive at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank-you for your kind review; we appreciate the time that you have taken to recommend Skene House Holburn to other guests.

We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. In the meantime, you can keep in touch with us via Facebook, Twitter or our hotel blog.

With kind regards,

Rosalind McClure
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are eight golfers from Norway and we stayed at Skene House Holburn from april 4th to 7th. We can recommend this hotel to everyone. It is very clean and the breakfast was excellent. Service is superb and tanks a lot to Liz who organized all golf and transport for us.

Kaare Ingve Monsen

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to post a review regarding your visit.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Skene House Holburn. We are glad you liked our continental breakfast buffet and are delighted about your comment regarding the cleanliness of our suites.

Liz Gordon is a great groups co-ordinator who aims to provide the best possible service. I will ensure she is informed about your pleasurable stay and the nice comment, as I believe she will be thrilled to hear how satisfied you were with her services.

We really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The suite we had was spotless, well decorated and comfy, it was March 2013 when we stayed and the suite was cosy but you can control the temperature to suit yourself. The staff were very helpful and friendly but were unobtrusive to your stay. We had the continental breakfast as part of our room tariff and there were plenty options to choose also a menu with cooked options and at £7.50 for a full cooked breakfast we thought this was cheap as some hotels wanted £15. The option to park at the back of the hotel for free was brilliant. You could come and go as you pleased as you had a card to get in and out of your room and the front door. Checking in and out was easy, fully equipped kitchen you could cook if you wanted.

Room Tip: We has a superior one bedroom suite facing front of street but very little noise beedroom was at bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for affording the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate when feedback is given from our guests, as this is one of our most effective methods in maintaining our high standard of hospitality and guest service.

I am very pleased that you were satisfied in all areas of your stay. Our Housekeeping department will be delighted that you valued the cleanliness of your suite and comfort. They all aim to provide exceptional service in this area.

Our continental breakfast is one of our services that we are very proud of, as we offer a wide selection to cater for all guests’ requirements.

We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013


This accommodation is well located. It has ample parking with security entry and CCTV. The check in was pleasant and straight forward.

The two bedroom flat was clean and spacious and well stocked.

Breakfast was perfectly adequate. The rates were reasonable and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post a review regarding your recent visit to Skene House Holburn and for choosing to stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear about your satisfaction with our security system, as we aim to provide the most efficient and sustainable security methods within our hotel and in our car parking premises. Additionally, it is our objective to make checking in guests a very effective and simple procedure as well as when making reservations on our official website.

We are delighted by your comments concerning the cleanliness of our rooms and the standard of the breakfast cuisine available. Our staff work very hard to maintain the hotels high demands and take pride in their glowing reputation.

We really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My partner and I were going to Aberdeen with my 83 year old mother for a family birthday. But not knowing Aberdeen didn't know where to stay. Checked Trip Advisor and booked into the Skene House. I asked for a low floor as there is no lift. Not a problem for us, but a problem for my old mum. The staff are great. The people on reception, the guy that shows you to your room, the housekeeping and the waiting staff. All really lovely and friendly. We were booked into a suite in a refurbished block. It was really lovely and spotless. There is a complimentary drink on arrival, which was much appreciated after the trip from Newcastle. Breakfast was continental, but not like any that I have had before. Fruit salad, ham, cheese, egg, toast, croissants, pastries, cereals - it was great. I thought that it may be noisy being on the first floor. Didn't hear a thing. The only thing that I was disappointed in was that we were only there for one night. I can hardly wait to go back. It was the most relaxing and friendly place I have stayed in for years, if not ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful review on your recent trip to Skene House Holburn. We always appreciate the feedback that our guests provide and could not be more pleased that you plan to return.

Skene House Holburn caters to all guests special requests and I am happy that we could accommodate your mother with a suite on a lower floor.

The wonderful hospitality that all of our staff provides is a very valued comment and one that many guests comment on. They will be thrilled that you appreciated their efforts in ensuring your stay was as pleasant as possible.

All of us at Skene House Holburn are very grateful for your lovely comments and are one of most efficient tools we have in maintaining our highly reputable service and guest satisfaction.

We are delighted to read that you plan to return and we hope that your next stay will be very soon.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skene House Holburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Holburn

Address: 6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Holburn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Skene House Holburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Holburn
Skene House Holburn Aberdeen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skene House Holburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.